Find a nursing home

Home / Texas / Groveton

Groveton Nursing Home

1020 W 1st St., Groveton, TX 75845 · Trinity County · (936) 642-1221

47 certified beds, about 31 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2008

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 676172 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on September 9, 2025, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Texas average is 9.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 6 health citations since May 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $56,378 in the last three years; the largest was $56,378, and the latest is dated June 3, 2025.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.25 hours per resident per day, against 3.39 across Texas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.40 of those hours.

CMS links it to Creative Solutions in Healthcare, an affiliated group of 149 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 6 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
September 9, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility were stored in accordance with currently accepted professional principles, and included the appropriate accessory and cautionary instructions, and the expiration date when applicable for 1 of 1 medication storage rooms reviewed for labeling and storage.1. The facility failed to label and remove a vial of expired Tuberculin (TB) testing solution on 9/8/2025 from the refrigerator in the medication room.2. The facility failed to remove expired insulin for Resident #16 from the refrigerator in the medication room on 9/8/2025. These failures could place residents at risk for improper glucose monitoring and could result in residents not receiving the intended therapeutic effects of their medications causing a health decline.
  2. D
    Inform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse.
    F847 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 17, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews the facility failed to ensure the arbitration agreement contained all the required elements for 1 of 1 facility reviewed for Arbitration Agreements. The facility did not ensure the arbitration agreement granted the resident or his/her representative the right to rescind the agreement within 30 calendar days of signing. This failure could place the residents or the residents' responsible parties in binding agreements not fully understood, have a loss of their legal rights, and cause negative psychological issues.
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews the facility failed to establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 1 of 4 residents (Resident's #14) and 2 of 4 staff (CNA A and NA B) reviewed for infection control. The facility failed to ensure CNA A and NA B performed hand hygiene and observed EBP by not following the instructions on the posted signage on Resident #14's door requiring the use of gown and gloves when providing care to Resident #14 on 9/08/25 and did not clarify with nursing staff when there was no PPE bin. This failure could place residents at risk of exposure to infectious diseases due to improper infection control practices.
June 3, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. J
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure the resident environment remains as free of accident hazards as is possible and each resident receives adequate supervision and assistance devices to prevent accidents for 1 of 2 (Resident #1) residents at risk for elopement reviewed for supervision. The facility failed to ensure the front lobby door alarm was functioning properly. On 4/8/2025 Resident #1 eloped from the facility and was found lying outside of the facility on the sidewalk where she had fallen and sustained a right hip fracture. An IJ was identified on 6/2/25. The IJ began on 4/8/2025 and was removed on 4/16/2025. The facility took action to remove the IJ before the survey began. [...]
August 7, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for infection control. (Resident #5) The facility failed to ensure CNA A did not leave a trash bag containing a used brief on the floor of Resident #5's room on 8/5/24. The facility failed to implement enhanced barrier precautions for Resident #5 on 8/6/24. These failures could put residents at risk of infections and decreased quality of life.
May 24, 2023Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 31, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to promote care for residents in a manner and in an environment that maintained or enhanced each resident's dignity for 1 of 4 (Resident #34) residents reviewed for dignity in that: The facility failed to ensure Resident #34's urinary drainage bag had a dignity/privacy cover while out of his room. This deficient practice could place residents in the facility at risk for a diminished quality of life, loss of dignity and self-worth.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 1 on September 9, 2025, 3 on August 7, 2024, 1 on May 24, 2023.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · September 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 7, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · August 7, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · August 7, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. C
    Meet Health Care Facilities Code mechanical requirements.
    K 900 · May 24, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
June 3, 2025Fine $56,378

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTexasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.253.393.86
Registered nurses0.400.430.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.732.983.42
Nurse aides1.86
Licensed practical nurses0.98
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.3%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported54.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.84 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.46 on weekdays and 2.73 on weekends, 21% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 2.8% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.65 in April to June 2025 to 3.25 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.250.403.462.73 2.8%0 of 9031
Oct to Dec 20253.510.613.693.06 7.3%0 of 9231
Jul to Sep 20254.342.834.493.97 7.9%0 of 9228
Apr to Jun 20253.650.763.962.87 11.5%0 of 9129
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Texas, Jan to Mar 20263.330.403.502.932.2%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Texas

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Texas, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.03$16.97 to $20.7188,680
LPNs and LVNs$29.92$27.46 to $32.8957,560
Registered nurses$46.14$38.06 to $50.53271,380
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTexasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.015.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.00.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.43.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.71.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.314.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.63.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.49.615.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
48.525.723.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
13.812.312.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.82.21.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.62.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: TRINITY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL DISTRICT. CMS links this home to Creative Solutions in Healthcare, a group of 149 nursing homes averaging 2.1 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Trinity Memorial Hospital District5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%12/01/2024
Frye, SunnieManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2024
Hancock, LeonardManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2024
Karnes, CharlesManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2024
Medlock, MichelleManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2024
Pulvino, MarjoryManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2024
Rogers, PatriciaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2024
Shelly, DeanaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2024
Spearman, CherylManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2024
Vanecek, LauraManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2024
Pulvino, MarjoryCorporate officerIndividual12/01/2024
Willig, ZacharyCorporate officerIndividual12/01/2024
Ghc Groveton Operations, LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization12/01/2024
Anderson, JenniferOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2024
Evans, LeonOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2024
Ghc Groveton Operations, LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization12/01/2024
Ghc Operations Holdco, LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization07/01/2025
Anderson, JenniferAdp of the SNFIndividual12/01/2024
Evans, LeonAdp of the SNFIndividual12/01/2024
Hekimian, KhorenAdp of the SNFIndividual12/01/2024
Hill, AndreaAdp of the SNFIndividual12/01/2024
Willig, ZacharyAdp of the SNFIndividual12/01/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on September 9, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 9, 2025: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  3. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 9, 2025: "Inform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 3, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.73 hours per resident per day, below the Texas average of 2.98.

Other nursing homes nearby

Texas contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Texas. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Groveton Nursing Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Groveton Nursing Home 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Groveton Nursing Home get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on September 9, 2025. The Texas average is 9.4.
Has Groveton Nursing Home been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $56,378 in the last three years.
Does Groveton Nursing Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Groveton Nursing Home?
CMS lists 22 owners and managers, and links the home to Creative Solutions in Healthcare. Legal business name: TRINITY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL DISTRICT.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection