Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Redlake

Jourdain Perpich Ext Care Fac

24856 Hospital Drive, Redlake, MN 56671 · Beltrami County · (218) 679-3400

47 certified beds, about 22 residents a day · Non profit - Other · Medicare and Medicaid since 1991

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: This facility did not submit staffing data.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245535 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 8, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 2 health citations since January 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 2 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
0D
1E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
January 8, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
    F887 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 4, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, and document review, the facility failed to provide evidence staff were educated on COVID-19 vaccination and ensure records were maintained for 5 of 5 facility staff members (LPN-A, LPN-B, NA-A, NA-B, LA-A) reviewed for COVID-19 vaccination requirements.
December 18, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations
January 24, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure refrigerator temperatures were maintained for 1 of 1 unit kitchenette refrigerator(s); and failed to ensure hairnets were worn effectively when preparing resident meals. This had the potential to affect 23 out of 23 residents who receive meals and snacks from the kitchen and refrigerator

Fire safety inspections

24 fire safety citations on file: 8 on January 8, 2026, 9 on December 18, 2024, 7 on January 24, 2024.

Every fire safety citation24 citations
  1. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Install proper backup exit lighting.
    K 281 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · January 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · December 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · December 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · December 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · December 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · December 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · December 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. D
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · December 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. D
    Have power receptacles that are properly grounded.
    K 912 · December 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. D
    Ensure electrical receptacles or cover plates have distinctive color or marking.
    K 917 · December 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. F
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · January 24, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. F
    Follow proper procedures when the fire alarm was out of service for more than 4 hours.
    K 346 · January 24, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. F
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · January 24, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · January 24, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  22. D
    Install proper backup exit lighting.
    K 281 · January 24, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  23. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · January 24, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  24. C
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · January 24, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported4.193.86
Registered nursesnot reported1.060.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.713.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility did not submit staffing data.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In October to December 2025, nursing staff hours per resident were 6.55 on weekdays and 4.18 on weekends, 36% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.74 in April to June 2025 to 5.88 in October to December 2025.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Oct to Dec 20255.881.506.554.18 0.0%0 of 9224
Jul to Sep 20255.521.496.034.24 0.0%0 of 9224
Apr to Jun 20255.741.716.324.28 0.0%0 of 9123
United States, Oct to Dec 20253.760.623.933.345.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Oct to Dec 20254.171.054.353.715.3%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.418.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.52.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.34.03.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.120.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.45.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.817.115.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.21.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.51.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: JOURDAIN PERPICH EXTENDED CARE CENTER INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Cook, NickiW-2 managing employeeIndividual02/22/2021
Barrett, JaneCorporate directorIndividual12/02/2008
Berg, NicolaiCorporate directorIndividual12/01/2019
Cook, LorenaCorporate directorIndividual12/02/2008
Sumner, DonnaCorporate directorIndividual12/02/2008
Red Lake Comprehensive Helth ServicesOperational/managerial controlOrganization04/01/2011

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 8, 2026: "Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 24, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Jourdain Perpich Ext Care Fac's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Jourdain Perpich Ext Care Fac 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Jourdain Perpich Ext Care Fac get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on January 8, 2026. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has Jourdain Perpich Ext Care Fac been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Jourdain Perpich Ext Care Fac accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Jourdain Perpich Ext Care Fac?
CMS lists 6 owners and managers. Legal business name: JOURDAIN PERPICH EXTENDED CARE CENTER INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection