Find a nursing home

Home / Wisconsin / Cedarburg

Lasata Care Center

W76 N677 Wauwatosa Rd, Cedarburg, WI 53012 · Ozaukee County · (262) 377-5060

106 certified beds, about 73 residents a day · Government - County · Medicare and Medicaid since 1994

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 525537 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 7, 2026, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Wisconsin average is 9.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 10 health citations since June 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.73 hours per resident per day, against 4.21 across Wisconsin and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.90 of those hours.

40.8% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Wisconsin average 46.9%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 10 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
8D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
January 7, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 7, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, and record review, the facility did not maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to prevent the development and transmission of communicable disease and infection. This practice had the potential to affect more than 4 of the 73 residents residing in the facility. Staff did not wear masks during an influenza outbreak on unit 1 East (1E). Findings Include:The facility's Nursing Respiratory Disease Outbreak Plan and Pandemic Outbreak, updated 11/2024, indicates: .It is the policy of this facility that outbreak measures will be instituted whenever there is an incident of infections above the standard set by the Division of Public Health as it relates to respiratory disease outbreaks. [...]
  2. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 7, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure an allegation of abuse was reported to law enforcement for 2 residents (R) (R12 and R23) of 22 sampled residents. On 10/7/25, R23 called R12 ugly and slapped R12 on the arm. Law enforcement was not notified of the alleged abuse.
  3. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 7, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff and resident interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure the accurate and safe administration of medication for 1 resident (R) (R7) of 22 sampled residents. On 1/5/26, medications were observed on top of a refrigerator near the entrance to R7's room. The medications included Aquaphor, medicated menthol powder, and two tubes of DermaPhor hydrophil petrolatum topical ointment. One tube of the DermaPhor contained a pharmacy label for R7. One tube contained a pharmacy label for someone else. None of the medications had an active physician order and one had been discontinued. In addition, R7 did not have a self-administration of medication assessment or orders to self-administer medication and store medication at the bedside.
September 11, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. C
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 18, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure the accurate submission of mandatory staffing information based on payroll data in a uniformed electronic format to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). This had the potential to affect all 77 residents residing in the facility. Staffing data for fiscal Quarter 3 (date range: 4/1/24-6/31/24) of the Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) was not submitted accurately to CMS.
April 8, 2024Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure all allegations of abuse and neglect were reported to the Nursing Home Administrator (NHA) or the State Agency (SA) for 3 residents (R) (R8, R9, and R10) of 11 sampled residents. In addition, the facility's Abuse/Mistreatment policy contained conflicting information related to reporting allegations of abuse/mistreatment. R8 reported to staff that a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) was short with R8 and would not allow R8 to have R8's face cream. The allegation of abuse was not reported to NHA-A or the SA. R9 reported to staff that it took 45 minutes for a CNA to respond to R9's toileting request and the CNA was rude, abrupt and unwilling to do (the CNA's) job. R9 also indicated the CNA would not give R9 a bath. The allegations of abuse and neglect were not reported to NHA-A or the SA. [...]
  2. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure allegations of abuse and neglect were thoroughly investigated for 3 residents (R) (R8, R9, and R10) of 11 residents. R8 reported to staff that a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) was short with R8 and would not allow R8 to have R8's face cream. The allegation of abuse was not thoroughly investigated. R9 reported to staff that it took 45 minutes for a CNA to respond to R9's toileting request and that the CNA was rude, abrupt and unwilling to do (the CNA's) job. R9 also stated the CNA would not give R9 a bath. The allegations of abuse and neglect were not thoroughly investigated. R10's daughter reported to staff that R10 was crying in R10's room and stated staff were mean and hurt R10. The allegation of abuse was not thoroughly investigated.
  3. D
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure 1 resident (R) (R1) of 1 resident reviewed for hospitalization received a transfer notice that included the date of the transfer, the reason for the transfer, the location of the transfer, and appeal rights. R1 was transferred to the hospital on 3/27/24. R1 and/or R1's representative were not provided with a written transfer notice.
June 21, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure allegations of abuse and misappropriation were reported to the State Agency (SA) for 2 residents (R) (R17 and R10) of 2 sampled residents. R17 reported an allegation of physical abuse. The facility did not report the allegation of abuse to the SA. The facility did not submit a 24-hour report to the SA regarding an allegation of misappropriation involving R10.
  2. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility did not ensure allegations of abuse and misappropriation were thoroughly investigated for 2 Residents (R) (R17 and R10) of 2 sampled residents. R17 reported an allegation of abuse on 4/5/23. The facility did not thoroughly investigate the allegation of abuse or remove the accused staff member from resident care during the investigation. Staff reported a potential allegation of misappropriation involving R10 on 2/28/23. The facility did not thoroughly investigate the allegation of misappropriation.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility did not provide care consistent with professional standards of practice to prevent pressure injuries from developing for 1 Resident (R) (R41) of 4 sampled residents. R41's plan of care contained an intervention to offload R41's heels while in bed. R41 was observed in bed on multiple occasions with R41's heels in direct contact with the mattress.

Fire safety inspections

27 fire safety citations on file: 5 on January 7, 2026, 12 on September 11, 2024, 10 on June 21, 2023.

Every fire safety citation27 citations
  1. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · January 7, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · January 7, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · January 7, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · January 7, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · January 7, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Follow proper procedures when the automatic sprinkler systems was out of service for more than 10 hours.
    K 354 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Have exits that are accessible at all times.
    K 271 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Install a fire alarm system that can be heard throughout the facility.
    K 341 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    Have restrictions on the use of highly flammable decorations.
    K 753 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. D
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. C
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. F
    Follow proper procedures when the fire alarm was out of service for more than 4 hours.
    K 346 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. F
    Follow proper procedures when the automatic sprinkler systems was out of service for more than 10 hours.
    K 354 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. F
    Meet requirements for the installation and maintenance of electrical systems.
    K 911 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  22. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  23. F
    Meet requirements for the use of electrical equipment.
    K 919 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  24. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  25. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  26. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  27. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeWisconsinUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.734.213.86
Registered nurses0.900.990.69
All nursing staff on weekends5.323.773.42
Nurse aides3.66
Licensed practical nurses1.17
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)40.8%46.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover6.7%39.7%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 4.16 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.89 on weekdays and 5.32 on weekends, 10% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 7.8% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.36 in April to June 2025 to 5.73 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.730.905.895.32 7.8%0 of 9073
Oct to Dec 20255.600.945.775.16 10.0%0 of 9278
Jul to Sep 20255.430.845.575.08 10.9%0 of 9280
Apr to Jun 20255.360.915.534.92 6.6%0 of 9180
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Wisconsin, Jan to Mar 20264.190.954.363.748.8%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeWisconsinUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.216.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.52.10.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.12.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.53.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.11.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.618.414.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.45.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.115.815.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
26.123.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
9.915.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.41.71.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.82.31.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: COUNTY OF OZAUKEE.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
County of Ozaukee5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%06/01/1966
Dzwinel, JasonOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/08/2023
Gatewood, LaurieOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/08/2023
Patel, SurendraOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/31/2023
Smith, BartonOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/08/2023
County of OzaukeeAdp of the SNFOrganization06/01/1966
Dzwinel, JasonAdp of the SNFIndividual05/08/2023
Gatewood, LaurieAdp of the SNFIndividual06/08/2023
Patel, SurendraAdp of the SNFIndividual10/31/2023
Smith, BartonAdp of the SNFIndividual05/08/2023

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on January 7, 2026: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 7, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 7, 2026: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  4. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 11, 2024: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."

Other nursing homes nearby

Wisconsin contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Wisconsin. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Lasata Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Lasata Care Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 5 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Lasata Care Center get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 7, 2026. The Wisconsin average is 9.5.
Has Lasata Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Lasata Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Lasata Care Center?
CMS lists 10 owners and managers. Legal business name: COUNTY OF OZAUKEE.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection