Find a nursing home

Home / North Dakota / Watford City

McKenzie County Healthcare Systems Long Term Care

709 4th Avenue Ne, Watford City, ND 58854 · McKenzie County · (701) 444-2331

42 certified beds, about 38 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1978

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 355072 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 24, 2025, inspectors cited 4 health deficiencies (the North Dakota average is 5.6, the national average 9.2).

None of its 11 health citations since July 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.27 hours per resident per day, against 4.42 across North Dakota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.17 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
5E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 24, 2025Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control and prevention for 4 of 5 sampled residents (Resident #1, #7, #15, and #28) observed during cares. Failure to practice infection control standards related to hand hygiene and enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility.
  2. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to assess a resident for self-administration of medications for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #5) observed with medications at the bedside. Failure to evaluate the ability for residents to safely self-administer medications may result in medication errors and/or harm to the resident.
  3. D
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    F605 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure residents remained free from unnecessary psychotropic medications for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #22) who received an as needed (PRN) psychotropic. Failure to limit PRN psychotropic use to 14 days unless reevaluated by a practitioner placed the resident at risk of receiving unnecessary medications, experiencing adverse drug effects, and possible chemical restraint.
  4. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide respiratory care consistent with professional standards of practice for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #15) receiving oxygen by nasal cannula. Failure to obtain a physician's order to administer oxygen may result in complications and compromise the residents' respiratory status.
June 20, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to provide the resident or the resident's representative a written notice of transfer for 5 of 5 sampled residents (Resident #3, #5, #10, #23, and #28) transferred to the hospital. Failure to provide a written copy of the transfer notice does not allow the resident and/or their representative to make an informed decision regarding their rights.
  2. E
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    F625 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide a bed hold notice upon transfer to the hospital for 5 of 5 sampled residents (Resident #3, #5, #10, #23, and #28) transferred to the hospital. Failure to provide a bed hold notice does not allow residents or their legal representatives to make informed choices regarding their readmission rights.
  3. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to review and revise the care plan for 1 of 12 sampled residents (Resident #3). Failure to review and revise the care plan limited staff's ability to communicate needs, ensure continuity of care, and may negatively impact the care provided to the resident.
July 19, 2023Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. F
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    F801 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 1 dietary manager (#1) obtained the proper qualifications to serve as the director of food and nutrition services. Failure to ensure staff have the qualifications to carry out the functions of food and nutrition services has the potential to result in foodborne illness to residents, staff, and visitors.
  2. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, review of facility policy, review of a professional reference, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide adequate supervision and assistive devices necessary to prevent accidents for 2 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #12 and #18) and 2 supplemental residents (#4 and #21) observed during a gait belt transfer. Failure to properly use a gait belt during transfers placed the resident at risk of accidents and injury.
  3. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control for 3 of 3 sampled residents (Resident #12, #13 and #32) and 1 supplemental resident (#30) with orders for enhanced barrier precautions (EBP), and 2 of 12 sampled residents (Residents #1 and #15) observed during cares. Failure to practice infection control standards related to use of personal protective equipment (PPE) and hand hygiene has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility.
  4. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to review and revise comprehensive care plans to reflect the current status for 1 of 12 sampled residents (Resident #32). Failure to review and revise the care plan limited staffs' ability to communicate needs and ensure continuity of care.

Fire safety inspections

2 fire safety citations on file: 1 on July 24, 2025, 1 on July 19, 2023.

Every fire safety citation2 citations
  1. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · July 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · July 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth DakotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.274.423.86
Registered nurses1.170.930.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.823.803.42
Nurse aides2.69
Licensed practical nurses0.41
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.8%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported40.3%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.20 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.45 on weekdays and 3.82 on weekends, 14% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 3.4% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.87 in April to June 2025 to 4.27 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.271.174.453.82 3.4%0 of 9038
Jul to Sep 20254.691.025.013.86 15.3%0 of 9236
Apr to Jun 20254.871.165.184.08 10.2%0 of 9135
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Dakota, Jan to Mar 20264.570.924.813.9611.7%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth DakotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.819.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.81.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.52.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.25.13.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.117.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.04.94.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
30.522.715.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.31.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.61.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: MCKENZIE COUNTY HEALTHCARE SYSTEMS INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
McKenzie County Healthcare Systems Inc5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%07/01/2004
Brown, GaryCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2020
Bulzomi, MontyCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2020
Ceynar, VirginiaCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2020
Dodge, JanCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2020
Faulkner, CherylCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2004
Heen, KristaCorporate directorIndividual01/30/2024
Merkle, WilliamCorporate directorIndividual08/01/2023
Quale, RandyCorporate directorIndividual04/27/2021
Voll, JustinCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2020
Wisness, ChaseCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2022
Edis, PeterCorporate officerIndividual12/31/2021
Loughman, AmandaCorporate officerIndividual06/09/2025
Merkle, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual08/01/2023
Edis, PeterOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/31/2021
Edis, PeterAdp of the SNFIndividual04/23/2025
Faulkner, CherylAdp of the SNFIndividual04/23/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on July 24, 2025: "Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 24, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 24, 2025: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 20, 2024: "Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals."

North Dakota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Dakota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is McKenzie County Healthcare Systems Long Term Care's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates McKenzie County Healthcare Systems Long Term Care 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did McKenzie County Healthcare Systems Long Term Care get at its last inspection?
4 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 24, 2025. The North Dakota average is 5.6.
Has McKenzie County Healthcare Systems Long Term Care been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does McKenzie County Healthcare Systems Long Term Care accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns McKenzie County Healthcare Systems Long Term Care?
CMS lists 17 owners and managers. Legal business name: MCKENZIE COUNTY HEALTHCARE SYSTEMS INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection