Find a nursing home

Home / Utah / Nephi

Mission at Nephi Nursing and Rehabilitation

1100 North 400 East, Nephi, UT 84648 · Juab County · (435) 623-1721

80 certified beds, about 37 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1986

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 465107 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on May 29, 2025, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Utah average is 8.8, the national average 9.2).

None of its 8 health citations since September 2021 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.27 hours per resident per day, against 4.09 across Utah and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.88 of those hours.

CMS links it to Mission Health Services, an affiliated group of 7 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 8 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
May 29, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 29, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and medical record review, it was determined, for 1 of 27 sampled residents, that the facility did not revise the comprehensive care plan. Specifically, the resident sustained two falls with no new interventions implemented on the care plan. Resident identifier: 17.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 29, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined for 1 of 27 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that the resident environment remained as free of accident hazards as is possible; and that each resident received adequate supervision and assistance devices to prevent accidents. Specifically, the resident sustained two falls with no new interventions implemented and did not have a non-alarming pressure pad on their bed and wheelchair as indicated on the care plan. Resident identifier: 17.
June 5, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview it was determined that the facility did not store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Specifically, a staff member was observed to prepare a residents meal and did not change gloves or use hand hygiene after touching multiple kitchen appliances.
  2. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview it was determined, the facility did not establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Specifically, for 2 out of 19 sampled residents, a staff member was observed to touch a resident medications with bare hands with each medication administration. Also medications were dropped on and in the medication cart and then administered to the residents. Resident identifiers: 15 and 79.
  3. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure that each resident's drug regimen was free from unnecessary drugs. An unnecessary drug is any drug when used in excessive dose; or for excessive duration; or without adequate monitoring; or without adequate indications for its use; or in the presence of adverse consequences which indicate the dose should be reduced or discontinued; or any combinations of the reasons above. Specifically, for 2 out of 19 sampled residents, a resident's hypotensive medication used to treat low blood pressure was not monitored according to the physician's ordered parameters. Resident identifier: 17 and 23.
September 2, 2021Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 17, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview it was determined, for 5 of 22 sampled residents that the facility did not maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections, including SARS-CoV-2. Specifically, soiled Person Protective Equipment (PPE) was observed to be stored on top of a cart containing clean PPE, signage was not on resident doors that required PPE, staff were observed to touch food with bare hands and food was transported through the halls uncovered. Resident identifiers: 18, 19, 21, 81 and 181.
  2. D
    Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
    F638 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 17, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 5 of 22 sampled residents, that the facility did not assess each resident using the quarterly review instrument specified by the State and approved by Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services not less frequently than once every three months. Specifically, quarterly Minimum Date Set (MDS) assessments were not completed no later than 14 days after the assessment reference date (ARD). In addition, quarterly MDS assessments were not completed and submitted in a timely manner. Resident identifiers: 1, 5, 6, 8 and 9.
  3. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 17, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 1 of 22 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that a resident who needed respiratory care was provided such care, consistent with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plan, and the resident's goals and preferences. Specifically, a resident who utilized a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) machine did not have orders for maintenance of their CPAP equipment, and there was no resident monitoring for the use of the devices in place. Resident identifier:

Fire safety inspections

1 fire safety citation on file: 1 on May 29, 2025.

Every fire safety citation1 citation
  1. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · May 29, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeUtahUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.274.093.86
Registered nurses0.881.250.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.923.583.42
Nurse aides1.80
Licensed practical nurses0.59
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported50.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported40.6%42.9%
Administrators who left2

CMS expects 3.61 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.42 on weekdays and 2.92 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.83 in April to June 2025 to 3.27 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.270.883.422.92 0.0%0 of 9037
Oct to Dec 20253.421.043.592.99 3.7%0 of 9237
Jul to Sep 20253.911.094.113.39 11.7%0 of 9234
Apr to Jun 20253.831.113.983.44 18.8%0 of 9136
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Utah, Jan to Mar 20263.911.114.103.442.8%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeUtahUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.411.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.70.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.61.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.32.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.515.114.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.83.94.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.014.215.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
17.616.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
13.111.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.81.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.31.41.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: GUNNISON VALLEY HOSPITAL. CMS links this home to Mission Health Services, a group of 7 nursing homes averaging 3.4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Gunnison Valley HospitalDirect ownership interestOrganization07/01/2018
Keele, EddieCorporate officerIndividual06/11/2025
Murray, BrianCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2018
Zimbelman, MichelleCorporate officerIndividual06/11/2025
Gunnison Valley HospitalOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/01/2018
Mission Health ServicesOperational/managerial controlOrganization06/11/2025
Bartholomew, ChaseOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/07/2025
Brooks, ShallenOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/07/2025
Hadley, HazeOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/11/2025
Keele, EddieOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/11/2025
Murray, BrianOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2018
Zimbelman, MichelleOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/11/2025
Gunnison Valley HospitalAdp of the SNFOrganization09/08/2025
Mission Health ServicesAdp of the SNFOrganization09/03/2025
Bartholomew, ChaseAdp of the SNFIndividual02/07/2025
Brooks, ShallenAdp of the SNFIndividual02/07/2025
Hadley, HazeAdp of the SNFIndividual06/11/2025
Keele, EddieAdp of the SNFIndividual06/11/2025
Murray, BrianAdp of the SNFIndividual07/01/2018
Zimbelman, MichelleAdp of the SNFIndividual06/11/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 29, 2025: "Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 29, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 5, 2023: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 5, 2023: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.92 hours per resident per day, below the Utah average of 3.58.
  6. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 2 administrators who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Utah contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Utah. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Mission at Nephi Nursing and Rehabilitation's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Mission at Nephi Nursing and Rehabilitation 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Mission at Nephi Nursing and Rehabilitation get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on May 29, 2025. The Utah average is 8.8.
Has Mission at Nephi Nursing and Rehabilitation been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Mission at Nephi Nursing and Rehabilitation accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Mission at Nephi Nursing and Rehabilitation?
CMS lists 20 owners and managers, and links the home to Mission Health Services. Legal business name: GUNNISON VALLEY HOSPITAL.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection