Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Silver Bay

Mn Veterans Home Silver Bay

56 Outer Drive, Silver Bay, MN 55614 · Lake County · (218) 353-8700

54 certified beds, about 51 residents a day · Government - Federal · Medicare and Medicaid since 2015

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245628 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 16, 2026, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

Of 6 health citations since April 2024, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.97 hours per resident per day, against 4.19 across Minnesota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.63 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 6 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 16, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review the facility failed to ensure medications weren't left at a resident bedside when the resident was assessed to be unable to self-administer medications. This affected 1 of 1 resident (R41) reviewed for self-administration of medications.
  2. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to report an allegation of staff on resident physical abuse within two hours to the State Agency (SA) for 1 of 4 residents (R54) reviewed for abuse.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review the facility failed to follow provider orders and administer medications as ordered for 1 of 2 residents (R41) reviewed for quality of care.
  4. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review the facility failed to implement and follow interventions in place for a resident who needed assistance with meals. This had the potential to affect 1 of 1 resident (R1) reviewed who required assistance with feeding.
  5. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to complete appropriate hand hygiene during cares for 1 of 1 resident (R1) reviewed for infection control.
March 20, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
January 15, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. G
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure medications were administered to the correct resident for 1 of 3 residents (R1) reviewed for medication errors. This failure resulted in actual harm for R1 when she developed bradycardia (abnormally slow heart rate) and became hypotensive (abnormally low blood pressure) which required ongoing monitoring in the emergency department (ED). The facility had implemented appropriate corrective action prior to the onsite investigation, so the deficiency is being cited at past non-compliance.
April 11, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

14 fire safety citations on file: 4 on April 16, 2026, 5 on March 20, 2025, 5 on April 11, 2024.

Every fire safety citation14 citations
  1. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Have stairways and smokeproof enclosures used as exits that meet safety requirements.
    K 225 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Ensure that building systems meet requirements determined by risk assessment procedures performed by qualified personnel.
    K 901 · April 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. E
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · April 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · April 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    Follow proper procedures when the automatic sprinkler systems was out of service for more than 10 hours.
    K 354 · April 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.974.193.86
Registered nurses1.631.060.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.143.713.42
Nurse aides2.69
Licensed practical nurses0.65
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.6%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.06 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.30 on weekdays and 4.14 on weekends, 22% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.24 in April to June 2025 to 4.97 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.971.635.304.14 0.0%0 of 9051
Oct to Dec 20254.731.625.093.82 0.0%0 of 9252
Jul to Sep 20254.881.695.283.87 0.0%0 of 9250
Apr to Jun 20255.241.795.694.11 0.0%0 of 9146
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Jan to Mar 20264.191.054.383.735.2%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.218.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.51.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.02.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.14.03.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.320.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.35.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
26.117.115.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.91.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.71.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: STATE OF MINNESOTA-MINNESOTA MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Curtis, NancyW-2 managing employeeIndividual12/24/2018
Gilbertson, CarolW-2 managing employeeIndividual07/28/2008
Hughes, DouglasW-2 managing employeeIndividual07/05/2016
State of Minnesota-Minnesota Management and BudgetOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/28/2008
Gilbertson, CarolOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/1991
Hughes, DouglasOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/05/2016
Ward, GeorgeOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/1991

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 16, 2026: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 16, 2026: "Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 16, 2026: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 16, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Mn Veterans Home Silver Bay's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Mn Veterans Home Silver Bay 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Mn Veterans Home Silver Bay get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 16, 2026. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has Mn Veterans Home Silver Bay been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Mn Veterans Home Silver Bay accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Mn Veterans Home Silver Bay?
CMS lists 7 owners and managers. Legal business name: STATE OF MINNESOTA-MINNESOTA MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection