Find a nursing home

Home / Wyoming / Afton

Star Valley Care Center

130 Hospital Lane, Afton, WY 83110 · Lincoln County · (307) 885-5900

24 certified beds, about 21 residents a day · Government - Hospital district · Medicare and Medicaid since 2025

CMS high performing icon Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 535059 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on February 12, 2026, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Wyoming average is 7.8, the national average 9.2).

None of its 4 health citations since July 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 6.08 hours per resident per day, against 3.87 across Wyoming and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.79 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 4 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
3D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
February 12, 2026Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 26, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, manufacturer's instructions and policy and procedure review the facility failed to ensure residents had access to unexpired medications in 2 of 2 medication storage areas (medication cart, medication room).
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 3, 2026
    Inspectors wroteThis requirement was not met as evidenced by:Based on observation, staff interview and review of the manufacturer instructions, the facility failed to ensure resident safety for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for mechanical hoyer lift transfers (#8).
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 3, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, medical record review, staff interview, and policy and procedure review, the facility failed to ensure infection prevention practices were implemented for 1 of 12 sampled residents (#8) reviewed.
July 11, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 24, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, staff interview, and review of facility protocols and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) immunization recommendations, the facility failed to ensure residents were offered pneumococcal immunizations based on CDC recommendations for 1 of 5 sample residents (#21) reviewed for immunizations.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 1 on February 12, 2026, 4 on July 11, 2024.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Create arrangements with other facilities to receive patients.
    E 25 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Meet requirements for the installation and maintenance of electrical systems.
    K 911 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeWyomingUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)6.083.873.86
Registered nurses1.790.940.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.913.373.42
Nurse aides3.89
Licensed practical nurses0.40
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported51.8%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported44.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.31 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 6.55 on weekdays and 4.91 on weekends, 25% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.16 in April to June 2025 to 6.08 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20266.081.796.554.91 0.0%0 of 9021
Oct to Dec 20255.701.796.084.75 0.0%0 of 9221
Jul to Sep 20255.301.705.664.39 0.0%0 of 9223
Apr to Jun 20255.161.635.494.32 0.0%0 of 9124
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Wyoming, Jan to Mar 20263.610.863.803.157.5%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeWyomingUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
23.816.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.41.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.33.01.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.04.73.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.315.314.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.44.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.521.815.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.71.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.52.31.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: NORTH LINCOLN COUNTY HOSPITAL DISTRICT.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
North Lincoln County Hospital District5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%10/13/2006
Ordyna, DanielManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2021
Graham, ScottCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Ordyna, DanielCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2021
Ordyna, DanielOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2021

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 12, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 12, 2026: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 12, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."

Wyoming contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Wyoming. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Star Valley Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Star Valley Care Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 5 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Star Valley Care Center get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on February 12, 2026. The Wyoming average is 7.8.
Has Star Valley Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Star Valley Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Star Valley Care Center?
CMS lists 5 owners and managers. Legal business name: NORTH LINCOLN COUNTY HOSPITAL DISTRICT.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection