Find a nursing home

Home / Texas / Stephenville

Stephenville Nursing and Rehabilitation

2311 West Washington Street, Stephenville, TX 76401 · Erath County · (254) 968-3313

46 certified beds, about 38 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2000

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 675866 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on December 9, 2025, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Texas average is 9.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 9 health citations since May 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 2.77 hours per resident per day, against 3.39 across Texas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.20 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 9 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
2D
6E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
December 9, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to properly store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety for 1 of 1 kitchen reviewed. The facility failed to ensure food items out of original containers were dated and labeled. The facility failed to ensure the Vegetable Freezer and the Meat Freezer's temperatures were taken and recorded on 09/20/2025, 09/21/2025, 09/22/2025 and 09/23/2025. These failures could place residents at risk for food borne illnesses.
  2. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections reviewed for 2 of 2 residents (Resident #13 and Resident #25) and 2 of 2 staff (CNA A and CNA B) reviewed for infection control. The facility failed to ensure proper infection prevention techniques were used by CNA A when providing peri-care by not performing hand hygiene before and after peri-care for Resident #13. The facility failed to ensure proper infection prevention techniques were used by CNA A when providing peri-care by utilizing the same soiled wipe several times to clean the peri area for Resident #13. [...]
  3. C
    Allow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies.
    F577 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to post in a place readily accessible to residents, and family members and legal representative of residents, the results of the most recent survey of the facility including any plans of correction without identifying information about complainants or residents reviewed for resident rights affecting 40 residents. The facility failed to ensure the three preceding years of any surveys, certifications, and complaint investigations with plans of correction were posted for residents, family members, and visitors to review without identifying information about complainants or residents. This failure could place residents at risk for not reviewing the findings from State surveys and investigations conducted in the facility without asking to review the reports.
July 31, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 30, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety in 1 of 1 kitchen reviewed. 1. The floors were soiled with food particles and grease beneath the appliances and stainless-steel shelf units throughout the kitchen. This failure could place residents that received meals prepared in the facility kitchen at risk for foodborne illness and a decline in health status.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 30, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to develop a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident that includes measurable objectives and timeframes to meet a resident's medical, nursing, and mental and psychosocial needs that are identified in the comprehensive assessment for 1 of 3 residents (ID #20) reviewed for comprehensive care plans. 1. Resident #20 had an indwelling urinary catheter in place when he was admitted to the facility and the indication for use, care, and monitoring of input and output were not included in the comprehensive care plan. 2. Resident #20 had an admission order for the antidepressant medication of Cymbalta 60 mg by mouth daily, and it was not included in the comprehensive care plan. 3. [...]
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 30, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and record reviews, the facility failed to establish and maintain an infection control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development of communicable diseases and infections for 1(Resident #21) of 8 residents reviewed for infection control, in that: LVN A and LVN B failed to follow EBP (enhanced barrier precautions) signage instructions for Resident #21 by not donning a gown when providing incontinent care, and while performing wound care to Resident #21. This failure could affect residents and place them at risk for cross contamination and infections.
May 17, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 15, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to develop a comprehensive person-centered care plan based on assessed needs to attain or maintain the resident's highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being for 3 (Resident #11, Resident #30, and Resident #2) of 13 residents reviewed for comprehensive person-centered care plans. 1. The facility failed to develop a comprehensive person-centered care plan based on assessed needs to address the use of a bolster (long padded cushion with sides) on the bed for safety and positioning for Resident #11. 2. The facility failed to develop a comprehensive person-centered care plan based on assessed needs to address the use of a bed alarm in the bed and the use of a geri-chair for safety and positioning for Resident #30. 3. [...]
  2. E
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 15, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure the use of the services of a registered nurse for at least 8 consecutive hours a day, seven days a week for 4 of 5 months reviewed. The facility failed to provide evidence that a Registered Nurse (RN) worked 8 consecutive hours a day, seven days a week for 5 (11/27/2022, 12/11/2022, 01/07/2023, 03/11/2023 and 03/19/2023) of 151 days. This failure placed the residents at risk for not having decisions made that would have required an RN to make in the management of the residents' healthcare needs and in managing and monitoring of the direct care staff.
  3. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 15, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety for 1 of 1 kitchen reviewed, in that: The facility failed to ensure kitchen staff followed proper hand hygiene during meal preparations. The facility failed to ensure open items in the freezer, refrigerator, and dry food storage were dated and labeled. These failures could place residents at risk for food borne illness and cross-contamination.

Fire safety inspections

6 fire safety citations on file: 3 on December 9, 2025, 2 on July 31, 2024, 1 on May 17, 2023.

Every fire safety citation6 citations
  1. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · December 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · December 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. C
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · December 9, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · July 31, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. C
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · July 31, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. C
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · May 17, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTexasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)2.773.393.86
Registered nurses0.200.430.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.642.983.42
Nurse aides1.54
Licensed practical nurses1.03
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.3%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported54.6%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.48 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 2.83 on weekdays and 2.64 on weekends, 7% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 1.9% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.61 in April to June 2025 to 2.77 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20262.770.202.832.64 1.9%3 of 9038
Oct to Dec 20253.270.373.422.89 6.5%0 of 9237
Jul to Sep 20253.792.144.053.14 5.5%0 of 9238
Apr to Jun 20253.610.823.872.95 13.0%0 of 9137
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Texas, Jan to Mar 20263.330.403.502.932.2%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTexasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.315.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.60.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.70.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.73.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.214.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.23.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.29.615.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
21.625.723.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.812.312.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.92.21.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.22.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: TICKNOR ENTERPRISES STEPHENVILLE, LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ticknor, Gregory5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual100%09/01/2012
Ticknor, GregoryOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/01/2012

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on December 9, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on December 9, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 31, 2024: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on December 9, 2025: "Allow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.64 hours per resident per day, below the Texas average of 2.98.

Other nursing homes nearby

Texas contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Texas. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Stephenville Nursing and Rehabilitation's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Stephenville Nursing and Rehabilitation 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Stephenville Nursing and Rehabilitation get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on December 9, 2025. The Texas average is 9.4.
Has Stephenville Nursing and Rehabilitation been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Stephenville Nursing and Rehabilitation accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Stephenville Nursing and Rehabilitation?
CMS lists 2 owners and managers. Legal business name: TICKNOR ENTERPRISES STEPHENVILLE, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection