Find a nursing home

Home / North Dakota / Napoleon

Wentz Living Center

555 Lake Ave E, Napoleon, ND 58561 · Logan County · (701) 754-2381

36 certified beds, about 34 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1991

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 355102 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 25, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the North Dakota average is 5.6, the national average 9.2).

Of 5 health citations since January 2024, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $13,627 in the last three years; the largest was $13,627, and the latest is dated May 30, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.95 hours per resident per day, against 4.42 across North Dakota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.14 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 5 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
3D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 25, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 29, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control and prevention for 2 of 4 sampled residents (Resident #2 and #5) observed during toileting cares and one supplemental resident (Resident #16) observed during medication preparation. Failure to practice infection control standards related to hand hygiene and glove use has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility.
January 23, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
May 30, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. J
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 21, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of the facility reported incident (FRI) report, facility policy review, and staff interviews, the facility failed to prevent accidents for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #1) who sustained a fall with fractures. Failure to use the appropriate sling sized during a full body mechanical lift transfer resulted in an avoidable fall and fractures for Resident #1 and places all residents at risk for falls and/or injuries. During the investigation survey, the team consulted the State Survey Agency (SSA) and determined an Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) situation existed on 05/29/24 at 3:00 p.m. The IJ resulted from a failure by the facility to assess residents for the proper sized sling for use during a full body mechanical lift transfer. This failure resulted in a resident sustaining a fall and fractures. *05/29/24 at 4:00 p.m. [...]
January 4, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to prepare, store, and serve food in a sanitary manner in 1 of 1 kitchen. Failure to monitor the quaternary (quat) sanitizer concentration may result in unsafe food storage/preparation and foodborne illness.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, review of facility policy, record review and staff interview, the facility failed to use an assistive device necessary to prevent accidents for 1 of 5 sampled resident (Resident #185) observed during gait belt transfers. Failure to use a gait belt during a transfer resulted in pain to Resident #185 and may result in falls and/or injuries.
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, facility policy review, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure staff followed standard infection control practices for 2 of 3 sampled residents (Resident #13 and #15) observed during personal cares. Failure to follow infection control practices related to hand hygiene and glove use has the potential to spread infection within the facility.

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
May 30, 2024Fine $13,627

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth DakotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.954.423.86
Registered nurses1.140.930.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.993.803.42
Nurse aides3.64
Licensed practical nurses0.17
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.8%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported40.3%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.14 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.34 on weekdays and 3.99 on weekends, 25% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 46.9% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.23 in April to June 2025 to 4.95 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.951.145.343.99 46.9%0 of 9034
Oct to Dec 20254.540.984.863.71 44.9%0 of 9236
Jul to Sep 20254.691.055.053.76 41.6%0 of 9235
Apr to Jun 20255.231.365.714.03 43.7%0 of 9132
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Dakota, Jan to Mar 20264.570.924.813.9611.7%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth DakotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.119.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.01.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.22.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.45.13.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.217.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.04.94.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.322.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.019.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
15.911.412.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.01.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.11.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: NAPOLEON CARE CENTER.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Napoleon Care Center5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%01/01/1966
Brendel, ElleneManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/18/2022
Leier, DerrickManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/18/2022
Pfeifle, TeresaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/18/2022
Piatz, DeranManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/17/2023
Wald, AlisonManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/19/2021
Wigen, JenniferManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/15/2024
Wolf, KevinManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/17/2023
Brendel, ElleneCorporate directorIndividual10/18/2022
Leier, DerrickCorporate directorIndividual10/18/2022
Wigen, JenniferCorporate directorIndividual10/15/2024
Wolf, KevinCorporate directorIndividual10/17/2023
Pfeifle, TeresaCorporate officerIndividual10/18/2022
Piatz, DeranCorporate officerIndividual10/17/2023
Regner, RichardCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2010
Wald, AlisonCorporate officerIndividual10/19/2021
Napoleon Care CenterOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/1966
Sanford BismarckOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2007
Becker, JulieOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2000
Glatt, MelissaOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/01/2000
Kosiak, DonaldOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2019
Regner, RichardOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2010
Napoleon Care CenterAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/1966
Sanford BismarckAdp of the SNFOrganization07/11/2025
Becker, JulieAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/1993
Glatt, MelissaAdp of the SNFIndividual09/01/2000
Kosiak, DonaldAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2019
Regner, RichardAdp of the SNFIndividual07/01/2010

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 30, 2024: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 4, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

North Dakota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Dakota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Wentz Living Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Wentz Living Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Wentz Living Center get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on March 25, 2026. The North Dakota average is 5.6.
Has Wentz Living Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $13,627 in the last three years.
Does Wentz Living Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Wentz Living Center?
CMS lists 28 owners and managers. Legal business name: NAPOLEON CARE CENTER.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection