Find a nursing home

Home / North Carolina / Bermuda Run

Bermuda Village Retirement Center

142 Bermuda Village Drive, Bermuda Run, NC 27006 · Davie County · (336) 998-6112

36 certified beds, about 33 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1992

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 345416 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 11, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the North Carolina average is 4.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 17 health citations since December 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $7,976 in the last three years; the largest was $7,976, and the latest is dated January 22, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.06 hours per resident per day, against 3.85 across North Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.49 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 17 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
11D
1E
3F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
1B
1C
June 11, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interviews, the facility failed to develop individualized person-centered comprehensive care plans for the use of psychotropic medications (medications that alter brain functions, affecting mood, perception, thoughts or behavior) for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for comprehensive care plans (Resident #2).
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews and staff interviews, the facility failed to implement their Infection Control policies and procedures for Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) when Nurse #1 failed to wear a gown while providing urinary catheter care (flushing the catheter) for Resident #8. In addition, Nurse #1 failed to change gloves and sanitize her hands during wound care for Resident #8. This deficient practice occurred for 1 of 6 staff members observed for infection control practices (Nurse #1).
March 20, 2025Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to develop and implement Enhanced Barrier Precautions policy and procedures that included the use of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) during high-contact care activities for residents with indwelling medical devices and wounds. In addition, nursing staff did not don a gown while providing wound care to a chronic wound for 1 of 1 nursing staff observed for infection control practices (Nurse #2). This deficient practice had the potential to affect all residents.
  2. E
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review and staff interviews the facility failed to develop individualized person-centered comprehensive care plans in the areas of high-risk medication use (anticoagulants, diuretics, opioids, and anti-depressant medications) and oxygen therapy for 5 of 5 residents reviewed for comprehensive care plans (Resident #4, Resident #7, Resident #8, Resident #14 and Resident #24).
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure the code status information was accurate throughout the medical record for 1 of 15 residents (Resident #11) reviewed for advanced directives.
  4. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and staff interviews, the facility failed to provide a CMS-10055 (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services) Skilled Nursing Facility Advanced Beneficiary Notice (SNF ABN) prior to discharge from Medicare Part A skilled services for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for beneficiary notification (Resident #6).
  5. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews and staff interviews, the facility failed to develop a comprehensive care plan in the area of high-risk medications (insulin) for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for comprehensive care plans (Resident #11).
  6. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews and staff interviews, the facility failed to date an open vial of Tuberculin Purified Protein Derivative (PPD) solution stored in 1 of 1 medication refrigerator and failed to secure medications that were stored at bedside for 1 of 1 resident (Resident #14) reviewed for medication storage.
December 15, 2023Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 9 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to remove expired nutritional supplements from 1 of 1 satellite kitchen that were available for use and did not date or monitor the use of frozen bread prior to meal service. The practices had the potential to affect food served to residents.
  2. F
    Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.
    F867 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews, and staff interviews, the facility's Quality Assessment and Assurance (QAA) committee failed to maintain implemented procedures and monitor interventions the committee put into place following the recertification and complaint survey conducted on 06/09/22. This failure was for 3 deficiency's that were originally cited in the area of Resident Rights (F550), Nursing Services (732), and Dietary Services (F812) that were subsequently recited on the current recertification and complaint investigation survey of 12/15/23. The repeat deficiencies during two federal surveys of record showed a pattern of the facility's inability to sustain an effective QA program.
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, family, and staff interviews the facility failed to treat a resident in a dignified manner by not removing a clothing protector after the lunch meal and before rolling the resident down the hallway to her room (Resident #17) and failed to ensure a catheter bag had a privacy cover (Resident #7) for 2 of 2 residents reviewed for dignity (Resident #17 and Resident #7). The reasonable person concept was applied as a reasonable person would not want to be rolled down the hallway with a clothing protector on and would not want a catheter bag visible to other residents and visitors.
  4. D
    Honor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.
    F561 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, resident, and staff interviews the facility failed to honor a resident's wish to get out of bed and get her hair done for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for choices (Resident #5).
  5. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, resident, staff, and Medical Director interviews the facility failed to maintain urinary catheter tubing to allow for gravity flow of the urine for 2 of 2 residents reviewed with catheters (Resident #7 and Resident #18).
  6. D
    Ensure each resident must receive and the facility must provide necessary behavioral health care and services.
    F740 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review and resident, staff, Consultant Pharmacist, and Medical Director interviews the facility failed to provide the necessary behavioral health care and services to attain or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being for 1 of 6 (Resident #2) residents reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  7. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, family, staff, and Medical Director interviews the facility failed to prevent the wrong pain medication from being given to the wrong resident (Resident #41) for 1 of 6 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  8. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · deficient, provider has January 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews the facility failed to post nursing staffing hours on the weekends. The facility posted staffing hours Monday through Friday but not on the weekends for 3 of 3 months reviewed.
  9. B
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · deficient, provider has January 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff and resident interviews, the facility failed to maintain an accurate medical record when they recorded weights for 2 of 3 residents reviewed for nutrition. (Resident #33 and Resident #19).

Fire safety inspections

11 fire safety citations on file: 6 on June 11, 2026, 2 on March 20, 2025, 3 on December 15, 2023.

Every fire safety citation11 citations
  1. D
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · June 11, 2026 · deficient, provider has
  2. D
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 200 · June 11, 2026 · deficient, provider has
  3. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · June 11, 2026 · deficient, provider has
  4. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · June 11, 2026 · deficient, provider has
  5. D
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · June 11, 2026 · deficient, provider has
  6. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · June 11, 2026 · deficient, provider has
  7. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · December 15, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Meet requirements for the installation and maintenance of electrical systems.
    K 911 · December 15, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · December 15, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
January 22, 2024Fine $7,976

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.063.853.86
Registered nurses0.490.620.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.783.423.42
Nurse aides3.15
Licensed practical nurses1.42
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported49.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported45.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.61 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.18 on weekdays and 4.78 on weekends, 8% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 16.9% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 0.03 in April to June 2025 to 5.06 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.060.495.184.78 16.9%1 of 9033
Oct to Dec 20255.150.405.155.15 4.9%2 of 9233
Jul to Sep 20254.610.264.654.52 0.6%10 of 9235
Apr to Jun 20250.030.000.010.08 100.0%89 of 9134
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.650.533.823.258.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.315.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.40.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.12.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.13.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.45.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.914.015.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
20.022.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
5.212.912.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ML BERMUDA VILLAGE LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Montage Living5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%07/01/2019
Angell, DonW-2 managing employeeIndividual07/01/2019
Haynes, LarryW-2 managing employeeIndividual07/01/2019
Paugh, EmmaW-2 managing employeeIndividual07/02/2019
Lambert, RyanCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2019
Little, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2019

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on June 11, 2026: "Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on March 20, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 11, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 20, 2025: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."

Other nursing homes nearby

North Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Bermuda Village Retirement Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Bermuda Village Retirement Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Bermuda Village Retirement Center get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 11, 2026. The North Carolina average is 4.7.
Has Bermuda Village Retirement Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $7,976 in the last three years.
Does Bermuda Village Retirement Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Bermuda Village Retirement Center?
CMS lists 6 owners and managers. Legal business name: ML BERMUDA VILLAGE LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection