Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Cook

Cook Hospital & Care Center

10 Southeast Fifth Street, Cook, MN 55723 · St. Louis County · (218) 666-5945

28 certified beds, about 22 residents a day · Government - Hospital district · Medicare and Medicaid since 1986

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245392 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on May 29, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

Of 11 health citations since April 2024, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.46 hours per resident per day, against 4.19 across Minnesota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.65 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
2G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
7D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
May 29, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure care planned fall interventions were implemented for 1 of 4 residents (R29) reviewed for falls. This resulted in actual harm for R29 who fell and sustained a laceration to the forehead, requiring sutures. The facility implemented corrective action prior to the start of survey, and this is issued in past noncompliance.
  2. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · no revisit needed June 17, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure the nurse staff posting was posted daily and was updated to reflect the current staffing. This had the potential to affect all 24 residents residing in the facility.
April 10, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to develop a baseline care plan to ensure immediate resident needs were identified and addressed for 1 of 5 residents (224) reviewed for comprehensive care planning and new admissions.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to comprehensively assess each fall to ensure interventions were followed; and failed to ensure fall interventions were care planned timely and implemented to prevent falls for 1 of 1 resident (R5) reviewed for falls.
  3. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to provide appropriate side effect monitoring with antipsychotic medication consumption related to residents who did not have an Abnormal Involuntary Movement Scale (AIMS) for 1 of 5 residents (R14) reviewed for unnecessary medication use.
January 29, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to follow care planned interventions for transfers for 1 of 3 residents (R1) reviewed. This resulted in actual harm when R1 fell when transferred with a mechanical standing lift and sustained a right clavicle (a break in the thin bone that connects the shoulder blade to the breastbone) fracture. This deficient practice was corrected prior to the start of the survey, therefore, was issued at past non-compliance.
May 2, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 14, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to perform appropriate hand hygiene when doing a finger stick for blood sugar. This had the potential to affect all residents that needed finger sticks to check blood sugars.
  2. D
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    F636 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 14, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to complete a comprehensive assessment for 1 of 1 resident (R12) reviewed for wandering.
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 14, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure eye drops were dated as to when opened and when they were to expire. This had the potential to affect all residents who utilized medicated eye drops.
April 12, 2024Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure an injury of unknown origin was reported immediately (within two hours) to the State Agency (SA) for 1 of 3 residents (R1) reviewed for injury of unknown origin.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure care-planned interventions for safety checks were consistently implemented for 1 of 3 residents (R1) reviewed for injury of unknown origin.

Fire safety inspections

11 fire safety citations on file: 6 on May 29, 2026, 1 on April 10, 2025, 4 on May 2, 2024.

Every fire safety citation11 citations
  1. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · May 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Ensure that building systems meet requirements determined by risk assessment procedures performed by qualified personnel.
    K 901 · May 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · May 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · May 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · May 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · May 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · May 2, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · May 2, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · May 2, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · May 2, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.464.193.86
Registered nurses1.651.060.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.833.713.42
Nurse aides2.81
Licensed practical nurses0.00
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.6%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.23 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.72 on weekdays and 3.83 on weekends, 19% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.21 in April to June 2025 to 4.46 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.461.654.723.83 0.0%0 of 9022
Oct to Dec 20255.011.655.314.22 0.0%0 of 9222
Jul to Sep 20255.491.945.854.57 4.2%0 of 9224
Apr to Jun 20255.211.445.594.28 1.6%0 of 9123
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Jan to Mar 20264.191.054.383.735.2%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.018.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.91.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.42.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.94.03.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.920.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.65.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.617.115.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: COOK HOSPITAL.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Antikainen, KarisCorporate directorIndividual01/02/2025
Brandon, HeatherCorporate directorIndividual09/23/2025
Dahl, ElizabethCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2014
Driggs, JodellCorporate directorIndividual01/02/2025
Enzmann, MichaelCorporate directorIndividual08/01/2009
Hyppa, MargieCorporate directorIndividual03/01/2008
Long, WendyCorporate directorIndividual05/01/2008
Martinson, TheresaCorporate directorIndividual02/01/2023
Parson, DeniseCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2021
Pearson, JudithCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2007
Pederson, EricCorporate directorIndividual10/01/2012
Potter, DonaldCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2002
Stegmeir, JohnCorporate directorIndividual05/01/2015
Tosel, LisaCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2026
Weiand, KathyCorporate directorIndividual02/01/2012
Debevec, TeresaCorporate officerIndividual10/07/2007
Cook HospitalOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2024
Ahlgren, MichelleOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Bradford, BrittanyOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2026
Brett, LoriOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Debevec, TeresaOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/07/2007
Downes, CodyOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Gable, JosephineOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2025
Green, AndreaOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2025
Henshaw, TheresaOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Hoard, KayleeOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Johansen, LoriOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2025
Lesemann, JulieOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2024
Maki, StephanieOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Myre, MariaOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2025
Nelson, StephanieOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2024
Novak, ChristineOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Salo, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/01/2025
Schimka, DanielOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2025
Spence, ElizabethOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Tillotson, MichaelOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Vail-Jackson, MollyOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/26/2025
Will, StacyOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Ziegler, RichardOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Cook HospitalAdp of the SNFOrganization02/20/2026
Bradford, BrittanyAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2026
Brett, LoriAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Debevec, TeresaAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2007
Downes, CodyAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Green, AndreaAdp of the SNFIndividual12/01/2025
Henshaw, TheresaAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Hoard, KayleeAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Johansen, LoriAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2025
Lesemann, JulieAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2024
Maki, StephanieAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
McCarthy, BrianAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Nelson, StephanieAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2024
Novak, ChristineAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Salo, DavidAdp of the SNFIndividual08/01/2025
Schimka, DanielAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2025
Spence, ElizabethAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Tillotson, MichaelAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Vail-Jackson, MollyAdp of the SNFIndividual12/26/2025
Will, StacyAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025
Ziegler, RichardAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on May 29, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 10, 2025: "Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted"
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 10, 2025: "Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited."
  4. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 29, 2026: "Post nurse staffing information every day."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Cook Hospital & Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Cook Hospital & Care Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Cook Hospital & Care Center get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on May 29, 2026. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has Cook Hospital & Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Cook Hospital & Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Cook Hospital & Care Center?
CMS lists 60 owners and managers. Legal business name: COOK HOSPITAL.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection