Find a nursing home

Home / Alaska / Cordova

Cordova Community Med LTC

602 Chase Ave, Cordova, AK 99574 · Chugach County · (907) 424-8000

10 certified beds, about 8 residents a day · Government - City/county · Medicare and Medicaid since 1994

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 025028 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 16, 2026, inspectors cited 7 health deficiencies (the Alaska average is 9, the national average 9.2).

None of its 15 health citations since December 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 15 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
0E
7F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
3C
March 16, 2026Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. F
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    F607 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to implement an abuse, neglect, and exploitation screening policy accordingly. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure individuals who had direct contact with residents, their medical or financial records, or control over or impact on the financial well-being of residents had a valid criminal history check conducted under 7 Alaska Administrative Code (AAC) 10.900-10.990. This resulted in 6 employees working at the facility without valid clearance from the Alaska Background Check program. This failed practice placed all residents (based on a census of 8) at risk for abuse and neglect.
  2. F
    Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
    F726 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure nursing staff had the appropriate competencies, skill sets, and techniques to care for resident's needs. Specifically, nursing staff did not receive Trauma-Informed Care specific training. This failed practice had the potential to 1) exacerbate past trauma for 1 resident (#3), out of 8 residents, and affect the resident's ability to attain the highest practicable mental and psychosocial well-being; and 2) affect all residents (based on a census of 8) with any newly identified trauma during the course of their residency in the facility.
  3. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure that food was stored, prepared, and served in accordance with professional standards for food safety. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure: 1) food was stored under proper sanitation practices in the main kitchen; and 2) expired food items were discarded timely. These failed practices had the potential of causing or spreading foodborne illness to 6 out of 8 residents who receive food from the kitchen.
  4. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, interview and observation, the facility failed to ensure the MDS (Minimum Data Set- a federally required nursing assessment) assessment accurately represented the residents' status for 2 residents (#'s 1 and 3), out of 8 sampled residents. This failed practice placed the residents at risk for inadequate care planning and goals which could affect their overall health and wellbeing.
  5. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to develop a comprehensive person-centered care plan for 1 resident (#3), out of 8 sampled residents. Specifically, the resident's identified trauma history was not care planned for to ensure trauma-informed care interventions were implemented. This failed practice had the potential to exacerbate past trauma and affect the resident's ability to attain the highest practicable mental and psychosocial well-being.
  6. C
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to inform residents, in writing, before or at the time of admission, of the services available in the facility and the charges for those services, including services not covered under Medicaid or by the facility's per diem rate, for 7 of 8 Medicaid-eligible residents reviewed. This failed practice resulted in residents not receiving required information necessary to understand the cost of care and services, placing them at risk for unexpected financial liability.
  7. C
    Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
    F838 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to address or include the staff competencies and skill sets that are necessary to provide the level and types of care needed for their resident population in their facility assessment. Specifically, trauma-informed care (TIC) training was not included in their annual facility-wide assessment. This failed practice: 1) placed 1 resident (#3), out of 8 resident's reviewed, at risk of having their past trauma exacerbated which had the potential to affect the resident's ability to attain the highest practicable mental and psychosocial well-being; and 2) placed all residents (based on a census of 8) at risk of not having newly identified trauma care planned for to mitigate retraumatization.
January 31, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Verify that a nurse aide has been trained; and if they haven't worked as a nurse aide for 2 years, receive retraining.
    F729 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide proof that the Alaska Nurse Aide Abuse Registry was checked before hiring Certified Nurse Aides (CNAs). This failed practice placed all residents, based on a census of eight, at potential risk of abuse by individuals who may have had a documented history of misconduct.
  2. D
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    F625 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide written notice of the bed hold policy and provide the facility's bed hold form (policy of reserving a resident's bed for a specified period when the resident is temporarily transferred to a hospital or another healthcare setting) for two residents (#'s eight and nine), out of nine residents reviewed, who were transferred to the emergency department (ED) and/or hospital, for medical treatment. This failed practice had the potential for the residents and/or their resident representatives to not be informed of the facility's bed hold policy, placing these residents at risk for losing their beds at the facility due to an extended stay at another healthcare facility.
December 15, 2023Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to: 1) ensure expired medical products were removed from the medical supply storage room; and 2) ensure the medication cart drawers were locked when unsupervised. These failed practices placed all residents (based on a census of 9) at risk for: 1) adverse effects or complications from use of expired products; and/or 2) potential loss, diversion, or accidental exposure to medications.
  2. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to 1) store food under proper sanitary conditions; and 2) regularly maintain the ice machine based on manufacturer's instructions. This failed practice placed 6 residents (#s 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, and 8) out 6 residents who received meals from the kitchen, at risk for foodborne illnesses and communicable disease.
  3. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure infection prevention and control protocols were performed during food preparation, medication administration, and enteral feeding (receiving nutrition through a gastrostomy tube [a tube inserted through the stomach]). These failed practices had the potential to affect all residents (based on census of 9) for the development and/or transmission of communicable diseases and infections.
  4. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure pneumococcal and influenza immunizations documentation (administered or declined) were completed for 1 resident (#5), of 5 residents sampled for pneumococcal and influenza immunizations. This failed practice denied the resident or resident representative the opportunity to receive education on the benefits and potential side effects, and to accept or decline the immunizations.
  5. D
    Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
    F887 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure COVID-19 vaccination documentation (administered or declined) was completed for 1 resident (#5), of 5 residents sampled for COVID-19 vaccinations. This failed practice denied the resident or resident representative the opportunity to receive education on the benefits and potential side effects, and to accept or decline the immunizations.
  6. C
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure accurate staffing data for the 3rd quarter of 2023 (April - June 2023) was reported to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) Payroll Based Journal (PBJ). This failed practice potentially denied residents and/or representatives (based on census of 9), and the public, accurate staffing data when accessing the Nursing Home Compare website.

Fire safety inspections

20 fire safety citations on file: 9 on March 16, 2026, 6 on January 31, 2025, 5 on December 15, 2023.

Every fire safety citation20 citations
  1. F
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · March 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have an enclosure around a vertical opening shaft.
    K 311 · March 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · March 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · March 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have elevators that firefighters can control in the event of a fire.
    K 531 · March 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Have a properly installed and maintained dumbwaiter or escalator.
    K 532 · March 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Meet requirements for the use of electrical equipment.
    K 919 · March 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · March 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · March 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Have an enclosure around a vertical opening shaft.
    K 311 · January 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · January 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · January 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · January 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · January 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. E
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · January 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. F
    Address patient/client population and determine types of services needed.
    E 7 · December 15, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. F
    List the names and contact information of those in the facility.
    E 30 · December 15, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. F
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · December 15, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. F
    Have an enclosure around a vertical opening shaft.
    K 311 · December 15, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. F
    Have restrictions on the use of flammable curtains.
    K 751 · December 15, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeAlaskaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported6.883.86
Registered nursesnot reported2.120.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported6.093.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported50.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported48.4%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility submitted data that did not meet the criteria required to calculate a staffing measure.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In October to December 2025, nursing staff hours per resident were 9.94 on weekdays and 8.06 on weekends, 19% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 7.93 in April to June 2025 to 9.41 in October to December 2025.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Oct to Dec 20259.414.019.948.06 0.0%0 of 928
Jul to Sep 20258.673.628.967.96 13.4%0 of 929
Apr to Jun 20257.933.738.366.83 0.0%0 of 919
United States, Oct to Dec 20253.760.623.933.345.3%0.5% of days
Alaska, Oct to Dec 20255.801.766.085.0914.5%0% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Alaska

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Alaska, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$22.29$21.69 to $25.122,060
LPNs and LVNs$38.85$33.89 to $42.01290
Registered nurses$52.64$46.97 to $62.077,510
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeAlaskaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
25.016.713.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.51.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.92.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.93.23.2
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.77.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.118.815.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on December 15, 2023: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 16, 2026: "Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 16, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 16, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."

Alaska contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Alaska. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Cordova Community Med LTC's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Cordova Community Med LTC 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, no for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Cordova Community Med LTC get at its last inspection?
7 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 16, 2026. The Alaska average is 9.
Has Cordova Community Med LTC been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Cordova Community Med LTC accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Cordova Community Med LTC?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection