Find a nursing home

Home / Wisconsin / Rice Lake

Dove Healthcare - Rice Lake

910 Bear Paw Ave, Rice Lake, WI 54868 · Barron County · (715) 234-2604

50 certified beds, about 44 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2014

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 525715 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 2, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the Wisconsin average is 9.5, the national average 9.2).

Of 5 health citations since June 2024, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.48 hours per resident per day, against 4.21 across Wisconsin and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.85 of those hours.

CMS links it to Dove Healthcare, an affiliated group of 11 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 5 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 2, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 2 citations · risk-based survey (a shorter visit CMS gives only to higher performing homes)
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure the resident environment remains as free of accident hazards as possible and each resident receives adequate supervision and assistive devices to prevent accidents for 1 of 1 resident (R) reviewed (R36). R36 was a 1 person assist with a 2 wheeled walker (WW) for transfers. Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) transferred R36 without use of a gait belt and two wheeled walker, and R36 fell resulting in a displaced intertrochanteric fracture of right femur. R36 was transferred to another hospital requiring surgical repair of the fracture. This is evidenced by:Facility's policy titled Fall Prevention Program with a revised date of 01/2026 documented: [...]
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure a resident received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice for 1 out of 4 sampled residents (R10). -The facility did not comprehensively assess R10's non-pressure wounds weekly. -An intervention to prevent R10 from scratching their skin was discontinued, the facility did not implement a new intervention, and R10 continued to scratch at their skin. -Staff did not place elbow and heel protectors on R10 when R10 was up in their broda chair. -Staff did not place device in R10's hand to provide palm protection and prevent further contracture. -R10's treatment was discontinued and staff continued to provide treatment for 27 days after order was discontinued. -The facility did not implement a plan to ensure clear communication with hospice services.
January 5, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility did not complete a thorough investigation of the alleged violation for 1 of 3 residents (R) reviewed. (R1)The facility failed to interview staff and other residents as part of the investigation. According to statute S483.12(c)(2) and S483.12(c)(3), the facility must have evidence that all alleged violations are thoroughly investigated to prevent further potential misappropriation while the investigation was in progress. R1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with a diagnosis of mild cognitive impairment. Surveyor reviewed the facility's investigative file that revealed on 11/24/25, R1 reported missing identification documents and an unauthorized $10,000 transfer and $5,000 withdrawal from his bank account that was later returned. [...]
August 13, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Ensure the transfer/discharge meets the resident's needs/preferences and that the resident is prepared for a safe transfer/discharge.
    F627 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility did not ensure proper documentation and communication for discharge for 1 of 2 residents reviewed (R42).-Facility did not provide documented reasoning in the medical record for what needs could not be met for R42.-The facility did not provide and document sufficient preparation and orientation to R42 to ensure safe and orderly transfer or discharge from the facility. -Facility did not communicate with hospital staff after transfer to ensure R42 no longer needed skilled services.
  2. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility did not notify the resident (R) or the resident's representative(s) of the transfer/discharge reason, the duration of the bed-hold policy, and the reserve bed payment in writing. This has the potential to affect all 37 residents. R34 was transferred to the hospital on [DATE] and did not receive written notice of transfer or bed hold reserve payment notice. R42 was transferred to the hospital on 5/13/25, and R42 nor Family Member (FM) D received any written notice of transfer or bed hold reserve payment notice. R8 was transferred to the hospital on 7/24/25 and did not receive written notice of transfer or bed hold reserve payment notice This is evidenced by: Facility policy titled, “Transfer and Discharge Requirement,” with a reviewed date of 01/2020, states in part: “Notice Before Transfer: [...]
June 13, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

7 fire safety citations on file: 1 on July 2, 2026, 6 on August 13, 2025.

Every fire safety citation7 citations
  1. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · July 2, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Meet requirements for the use of electrical equipment.
    K 919 · August 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · August 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · August 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · August 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · August 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeWisconsinUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.484.213.86
Registered nurses0.850.990.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.983.773.42
Nurse aides3.05
Licensed practical nurses0.58
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported46.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.7%42.9%
Administrators who left2

CMS expects 3.71 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.68 on weekdays and 3.98 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 7.07 in April to June 2025 to 4.48 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.480.854.683.98 0.0%0 of 9044
Oct to Dec 20254.820.845.044.24 0.0%1 of 9242
Jul to Sep 20255.370.825.604.78 0.0%0 of 9237
Apr to Jun 20257.071.187.486.03 0.0%0 of 4226
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Wisconsin, Jan to Mar 20264.190.954.363.748.8%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeWisconsinUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
30.016.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.10.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.33.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.118.414.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.75.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.915.815.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
13.923.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
27.915.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.01.71.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.12.31.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: RICE LAKE REHABILITATION AND NURSING CENTER LLC. CMS links this home to Dove Healthcare, a group of 11 nursing homes averaging 3.2 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Dove 8 Opco Holdco LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%01/01/2024
Divine Hc Holdco LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2024
Goldstar Capital Partners LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2024
Goldstar Wisconsin Associates, LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2024
Goldstar-Divine Holdings Dove 8 LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2024
Markovits, Isaak5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2024
Richland, Ilan5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2024
Sampson, RichardContracted managing employeeIndividual01/01/2024
Overlien, HannahW-2 managing employeeIndividual01/01/2024
Goldner, DavidCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2024
Kiley, JeremyCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2024
Markovits, IsaakCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 2, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 13, 2025: "Ensure the transfer/discharge meets the resident's needs/preferences and that the resident is prepared for a safe transfer/discharge."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 5, 2026: "Respond appropriately to all alleged violations."
  4. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 2 administrators who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Wisconsin contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Wisconsin. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Dove Healthcare - Rice Lake's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Dove Healthcare - Rice Lake 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Dove Healthcare - Rice Lake get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on July 2, 2026. The Wisconsin average is 9.5.
Has Dove Healthcare - Rice Lake been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Dove Healthcare - Rice Lake accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Dove Healthcare - Rice Lake?
CMS lists 12 owners and managers, and links the home to Dove Healthcare. Legal business name: RICE LAKE REHABILITATION AND NURSING CENTER LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection