Find a nursing home

Home / Missouri / Perryville

Independence Care Center of Perry County

800 South Kingshighway, Perryville, MO 63775 · Perry County · (573) 547-6546

133 certified beds, about 75 residents a day · Non profit - Other · Medicare and Medicaid since 2009

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 265829 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 9, 2026, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the Missouri average is 11.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 16 health citations since May 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 2.66 hours per resident per day, against 3.43 across Missouri and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.42 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 16 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
15D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
January 9, 2026Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to electronically transmit Minimum Data Set assessments (MDS, a federally mandated assessment completed by the facility) in a timely manner and in accordance with guidelines for five residents (Resident #1, #2, #3, #33, and #36) of 18 sampled residents and one resident (Resident #8) outside the sample. The facility census was 76. [...]
  2. D
    Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
    F638 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to complete a quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS-a federally mandated assessment tool completed by the facility) within the required timeframes for two residents (Resident #3 and #33) out of 18 sampled residents. The facility's census was 76. [...]
  3. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to document an accurate Minimum Data Set (MDS-a federally mandated assessment completed by the facility staff) for eight residents (Resident #1, #2, #4, #5, #6, #33, #36, and #52) out of 18 sampled residents and one resident (Resident #25) outside the sample. The facility's census was 76. Review of the facility's policy, MDS Assessments, revised March 2024, showed: - The facility will ensure accurate, timely, and compliant completion and electronic transmission of MDS in accordance with Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) regulations, supporting resident care planning, quality outcomes, and reimbursement accuracy; - MDS assessments are scheduled according to the CMS-required timeframes, including admission, quarterly, annual, and significant change; [...]
  4. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, facility staff failed to serve food in a manner to reduce the risk of cross contamination and food borne illness by touching the residents' items and food with bare hands. The facility census was 76. Review of the policy, Infection Control with Meals, undated, showed:- The facility maintains strict infection control practices during all aspects of meal service to protect residents, staff, and visitors. Proper hand hygiene, personal protective equipment (PPE), food handling techniques, and environmental sanitation shall be followed in accordance with Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) regulations;- Hand hygiene must be performed before handling food or meal trays; before and after assisting a resident with eating; after contact with bodily fluids or contaminated surfaces; [...]
  5. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain infection control practices to prevent the development and transmission of infection during medication administration for four residents (Resident #2, #4, #15 and #16) out of nine sampled residents. The facility's census was 76. Review of the facility's policy, Glove-Technique-non-sterile, undated, showed:- The facility will use glove technique to prevent the transmission of infectious organisms, provide personal protection and adhere to Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) regulations dictating staff safety. Review of the facility's policy, Handwashing, revised 03/29/23, showed:- Soap and water are required for hand hygiene when: hands are visibly soiled, and/or after caring for a resident with diarrheal infection such as (C. [...]
  6. D
    Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame.
    F909 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, facility staff failed to conduct regular inspections of all bed frames, mattresses, side rails, and enabler bars as part of a regular maintenance program for three residents (Residents #2, #4, and #5) out of 7 sampled residents. The facility's census was 76. [...]
August 22, 2024Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. D
    Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
    F604 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to assess and document for the use of a position change alarm (a device intended to monitor a resident's movement) to determine it if was a restraint (a device that limits a person's movement) and failed to obtain a physician's order for the device for five residents (Residents #59, #68, #84, #86, and #242) out of six sampled residents. The facility census was 91. Review of the facility's policy titled, Restraint Protocol, not dated, showed: - Contraindications for restraint use to include, at the very least, clinical contraindications, convenience of staff, or discipline of the resident; - Practices for informing the resident and obtaining consent when clinically feasible, and documenting the consent in the resident's record; [...]
  2. D
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to notify the resident and/or the resident's representative in writing of a facility-initiated transfer when six residents (Resident #7, #47, #68, #71, #79, and #81) out of seven sampled residents transferred to the hospital. The facility's census was 91. Review of the facility's policy titled, Transfer/Discharge Notice, dated 05/2017, showed: - Before the facility transfers or discharges a resident, the facility will send a written notice to the resident in a language and manner reasonable calculated to be understood by the resident for planned and emergency discharges; - The notice will also be sent to any resident representative. 1. Review of Resident #7's medical record showed: - The resident transferred to the hospital for medical evaluation on 07/07/24, and readmitted to the facility on [DATE]; [...]
  3. D
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    F625 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record view, the facility failed to inform the resident and family or legal representative of their bed hold policy at the time of transfer to the hospital for seven residents (Resident #7, #17, #47, #68, #71, #79, and #81) out of seven sample residents. The facility's census was 91. Review of the facility's policy titled, Bed Hold and Return to Facility, revised 12/07/20, showed: - It is the policy of of the facility that residents who are transferred to the hospital or go on a therapeutic leave are provided with written information about the State's bed hold duration and payment amount before the transfer; - The facility will provide the resident and resident representative a written notice which specifies the duration of the bed-hold policy at the time of transfer for hospitalization or therapeutic leave; [...]
  4. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure one resident (Resident #6) out of six sampled residents was transferred with safe transfer techniques. The facility census was 91. Review of the facility's policy titled, Two Person Transfer Using Gait Belt, not dated, showed: - Adjust bed height if needed to ensure bed is in locked position; - Position chair/geri-chair/wheelchair at side of the bed, facing head of the bed; - Lock chair wheels; - Apply gait belt; - Stand with one staff on each side of the resident; - Place your hands underneath the belt with one hand in the back and one hand in the front. Inform the resident that you will assist to stand/transfer; - Pivot your body and the resident's body toward the bed; [...]
  5. D
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to assess residents for the risk of entrapment and review possible risks and benefits of bed rails prior to installation or use. The facility also failed to obtain informed consent from the resident or if applicable, the resident representative for six residents (Resident #1, #14, #19, #40, #55, and #68) out of 19 sampled residents. The facility census was 91. The facility did not provide a bed rail policy. Review of the Federal Drug Administration (FDA) documents entitled, Hospital Bed System Dimensional and Assessment Guidance to Reduce Entrapment, dated [DATE], showed 413 people died as a result of entrapment events in the United States. [...]
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain proper infection control practices during wound care for two residents (Residents #14 and #71) out of three sampled residents, catheter (a tube that inserted into the bladder to drain urine) care for one resident (Resident #14) out of two sampled residents, and while passing trays during meal time. The facility's census was 91. Review of the facility's policy titled Infection Control, dated 08/12/19, showed: - Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) refer to an infection control intervention designed to reduce transmission of multidrug resistant organisms (MDRO's) that employ targeted gown and glove use during high contact resident care activities; [...]
  7. D
    Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame.
    F909 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility staff failed to conduct regular inspections of all bed frames, mattresses and side rails as part of a regular maintenance program for six residents (Residents #1, #14, #19, #40, #55, and #68) out of 19 sampled residents. The facility's census was 91. The facility did not provide side rail maintenance policies. Review of the Federal Drug Administration (FDA) documents entitled, Hospital Bed System Dimensional and Assessment Guidance to Reduce Entrapment, dated [DATE], showed 413 people died as a result of entrapment events in the United States. Further review revealed those among the most vulnerable for these entrapment type events are elderly patients and residents, especially those who are frail, confused, restless, or who have uncontrolled body movement. [...]
May 19, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 27, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to implement care plans with specific interventions to meet individual needs for two residents (Resident #53 and #80) out of 18 sampled residents. The facility's census was 89. Record review of the facility's care plan titled, Care Plans, revised 12/7/20, showed: - To ensure uniformity of concern and approach by nursing home team members and to help residents and their families be part of a team approach to answering resident's needs and assisting with problems; - Nursing home staff, with a representative from each discipline, the resident, the resident's family, and other concerned and involved individuals will meet within twenty-one (21) days of the resident's admission to the facility to determine problems, needs, goals, and approaches for meeting needs and solving problems; [...]
  2. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 26, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to update and revise care plans with specific interventions to meet individual needs for one resident (Resident #26) out of 18 sampled residents. The facility's census was 89. Record review of the Alzheimer's Special Care Services Disclosure, completed by the facility and given to the resident representative/guardian upon admission, showed: - All staff are made aware of the interdisciplinary plan of care; - The special care unit staff readily communicate resident changes to appropriate personnel, i.e. the charge nurse and the unit coordinator. The plan of care, therefore, changes consistently in response to changes in resident needs and condition. 1. Review of Resident #26's medical record showed: - Discharge to the hospital on [DATE] related to a fall and readmission to the facility on [DATE]; [...]
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain infection control practices to prevent the development and transmission of infection when staff did not wash or sanitize hands and wear gloves during medication administration for three residents (Resident #9, #22 and #57) out of 18 sampled residents and five residents (Resident #8, #16, #55, #82, and #86) outside the sample. The facility's census was 89. Record review of the facility's undated policy titled, Infection Prevention and Control, showed: - Good handwashing using soap and water or waterless antiseptic before and after each resident contact; - Gloves should be worn during resident-care procedures including injections; - Wearing gloves and changing them between resident contacts does not replace the need for handwashing. [...]

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 3 on January 9, 2026, 1 on August 22, 2024, 1 on May 19, 2023.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · January 9, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · January 9, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Have restrictions on the use of portable space heaters.
    K 781 · January 9, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · August 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Install a fire alarm system that can be heard throughout the facility.
    K 341 · May 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMissouriUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)2.663.433.86
Registered nurses0.420.460.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.303.013.42
Nurse aides1.76
Licensed practical nurses0.47
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported56.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported47.8%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.08 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 2.80 on weekdays and 2.30 on weekends, 18% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 2.67 in April to June 2025 to 2.66 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20262.660.422.802.30 0.0%1 of 9075
Oct to Dec 20251.460.251.800.60 0.0%12 of 9279
Jul to Sep 20252.640.412.762.33 0.0%0 of 9281
Apr to Jun 20252.670.362.792.35 0.0%0 of 9185
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Missouri, Jan to Mar 20263.340.403.502.933.9%1.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMissouriUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
23.218.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.61.10.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.62.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.74.13.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.417.414.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.64.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.923.515.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.72.11.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.32.31.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: INDEPENDENCE HEALTH SYSTEM INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ernst, JudithCorporate officerIndividual02/20/2012
Korando, DanaCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2019
Pfister, RhondaCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2019
Independence Health System IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2012
Korando, DanaOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2019
Southard, AndreaOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2012
Korando, DanaAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2019
Pfister, RhondaAdp of the SNFIndividual03/18/2018
Southard, AndreaAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2012

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on January 9, 2026: "Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on January 9, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. Can we see a resident room, a shower room and the dining room on this visit?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 9, 2026: "Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 22, 2024: "Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.30 hours per resident per day, below the Missouri average of 3.01.
  6. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Missouri contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Missouri. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Independence Care Center of Perry County's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Independence Care Center of Perry County 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Independence Care Center of Perry County get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 9, 2026. The Missouri average is 11.4.
Has Independence Care Center of Perry County been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Independence Care Center of Perry County accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Independence Care Center of Perry County?
CMS lists 9 owners and managers. Legal business name: INDEPENDENCE HEALTH SYSTEM INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection