Find a nursing home

Home / Texas / Groves

Oak Grove Nursing Home

6230 Warren St., Groves, TX 77619 · Jefferson County · (409) 963-1266

120 certified beds, about 79 residents a day · Government - Hospital district · Medicare and Medicaid since 2006

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 676122 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on September 10, 2025, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Texas average is 9.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 13 health citations since July 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.73 hours per resident per day, against 3.39 across Texas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.16 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 13 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
10D
2E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
1B
0C
September 10, 2025Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews the facility failed to establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 3 (Resident #4, Resident #74, and Resident #71) of 20 residents reviewed for infection control. 1. The facility failed to ensure LVN A sanitized the bottle of wound cleanser after using it in Resident #4 room and before it was placed in the medication cart. 2. The facility failed to ensure CNA C sanitized her hands and changed gloves before performing incontinent and catheter care for Resident #74. 3. The facility failed to ensure MA A sanitized her hands before placing Resident #71 pills into medication cup without using any hand hygiene. 4. [...]
  2. D
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to develop and implement a baseline care plan for each resident that includes the instructions needed to provide effective and person-centered care of the resident that meet professional standards of quality of care for 1 of 20 residents reviewed for new admissions. (Resident #51)The facility failed to develop and accurately complete a baseline care plan within 48 hours of admission for Resident #51. This failure could lead to residents not receiving necessary care and decreased quality of life.
  3. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide pharmaceutical services, including procedures that assure the accurate administering of all drugs and biologicals to meet the needs of each resident for 2 of 5 residents (Residents #71 and #77) reviewed for Pharmacy Services. MA A failed to shake the bottle of Flonase [Fluticasone Propionate Suspension] Nasal Suspension 50 MCG/ACT (Fluticasone Propionate (Nasal)) before administering it to Resident #71. MA B failed to shake the bottle of Flonase [Fluticasone Propionate Suspension] Nasal Suspension 50 MCG/ACT (Fluticasone Propionate (Nasal)) before administering it to Resident #77. This failure could cause residents to experience cough, congestion, sneezing or shortness of breath. Findings Include: [...]
  4. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure that the medication error rate was not five percent or greater. The facility had a medication error rate of 7.41%, based on two errors out of 27 opportunities, which involved 2 of 5 residents (Resident #71, and #77) and 2 of 3 staff (MA A, and MA B) reviewed for medication error, in that: MA A failed to shake the bottle of Flonase [Fluticasone Propionate Suspension] Nasal Suspension 50 MCG/ACT before administering it to Resident #71. MA B failed to shake the bottle of Flonase [Fluticasone Propionate Suspension] Nasal Suspension 50 MCG/ACT before administering it to Resident #77. This failure could affect the Residents health, safety and quality of life. Findings Include: [...]
  5. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to ensure all drugs and biologicals were stored in locked compartments and permit only authorized personnel to have access to the keys for 1 of 4 residents (Resident #71) reviewed for storage of medications. -Resident #71 had 13 liquid plastic single vials of Systane Ultra PF 0.7 ml (Artificial tears- eyedrops) with an expiration date of [DATE] inside her bed side drawer unsupervised. This failure could cause harm to Resident #71 eyes by causing infection, increasing her eye pressure, thus leading to blindness.
August 21, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the services provided or arranged by the facility, as outlined by the comprehensive care plan, meet professional standards of quality for 1 of 18 residents reviewed for following physician orders. (Resident #11) The facility did not change the dressings to Resident #11's drains every day as ordered. This failure could place the residents at risk of infection and the drain sites not healing.
July 11, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure that all alleged violations involving abuse of residents are reported immediately, but not later than 2 hours after the allegation is made, if the events that cause the allegation involve abuse or result in serious bodily injury to HHSC for 1 of 9 residents (Resident #1) reviewed for abuse. The facility failed to report an allegation of sexual abuse within 2 hours to the State Agency when Resident #1 alleged that she had been touched inappropriately. This failure could place residents at risk of abuse, physical harm, mental anguish, and emotional distress.
January 4, 2024Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    F585 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 9, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure prompt efforts were made to resolve resident grievances for 1 of 8 residents (Resident #3) reviewed for grievances. There was no grievance available or evidence of resolution when a family member advised the administrator that CNA C went into Resident #3's room and covered up the video camera on 11/18/2023 or that the family member did not want CNA C to provide care to Resident #3. This failure could place all residents at risk of unresolved grievances and decreased quality of life.
  2. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    F607 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to implement their written policies and procedures to prohibit and prevent abuse, neglect, and exploitation of residents and misappropriation of resident property for 2 of 8 residents (Resident #s 1 and 2) reviewed for abuse. The facility failed to ensure the abuse coordinator and/or designee implemented the facility policy to report immediately to HHSC within two hours of an allegation or incident of alleged abuse after Resident #2 threatened to choke Resident #1 and punched Resident #1 in the left eye on 12/08/23. This failure could place residents at risk of abuse, physical harm, mental anguish, and emotional distress.
  3. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure that all alleged violations involving abuse, neglect, exploitation or mistreatment, including injuries of unknown source and misappropriation of resident property, were reported immediately, but not later than 2 hours after the allegation was made, if the events that caused the allegation involved abuse or resulted in serious bodily injury, to the administrator of the facility and to other officials (which included to the State Survey Agency and adult protective services where state law provides for jurisdiction in long-term care facilities) in accordance with State law through established procedures for 2 of 8 residents (Resident #s 1 and 2) reviewed for abuse. [...]
July 11, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.
    F805 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to provide food in a form designed to meet individual needs for 1 of 2 meals reviewed for food form. The facility failed to ensure the residents who required a pureed textured diet, received the appropriate food form to meet their needs on 07/10/23 for the noon meal. The pureed food had lumps of food, not fully pureed and was thick and dry in consistency. This failure could affect the 9 residents, who received a pureed diet, at risk of aspiration and choking.
  2. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure that drugs and biologicals used in the facility were secured properly for 1 of 2 medication rooms (Hall G) reviewed for drug storage. The facility failed to ensure Hall G medication room was secured when not in use or unattended. This failure could place residents who reside in the facility at risk of possible drug diversion.
  3. B
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 26, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to follow guidelines for mandatory submission of staffing information based on payroll data in a uniform format. The facility failed to submit direct care staffing information on the schedule specified by CMS (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services), but no less frequently than quarterly for 4 of 5 quarters reviewed for payroll data information. *The facility failed to submit staffing information to CMS for the 3rd and 4th quarter of the fiscal year 2022. *The facility failed to submit staffing information to CMS for the 1st and 2nd quarter of the fiscal year 2023. This failure could place residents at risk for personal needs not being identified and met, decreased quality of care, decline in health status, and decreased feelings of well-being within their living environment.

Fire safety inspections

1 fire safety citation on file: 1 on September 10, 2025.

Every fire safety citation1 citation
  1. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · September 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTexasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.733.393.86
Registered nurses0.160.430.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.292.983.42
Nurse aides2.22
Licensed practical nurses1.35
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.3%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported54.6%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.72 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.91 on weekdays and 3.29 on weekends, 16% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.86 in April to June 2025 to 3.73 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.730.163.913.29 0.0%1 of 9079
Oct to Dec 20253.580.183.733.22 0.0%0 of 9282
Jul to Sep 20253.770.173.953.30 0.0%0 of 9279
Apr to Jun 20253.860.194.083.31 0.0%0 of 9172
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Texas, Jan to Mar 20263.330.403.502.932.2%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTexasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
23.715.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.40.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.13.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.71.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.314.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.73.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.89.615.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
28.025.723.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
13.412.312.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.52.21.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.92.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: WINNIE-STOWELL HOSPITAL DISTRICT.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Og Realty, LLC5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization12/30/2024
Rs Golden Triangle LLC5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization12/30/2024
Smith, Richard5% or greater mortgage interestIndividual12/30/2024
Murrell, EdwardManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/30/2024
Murrell, EdwardCorporate directorIndividual12/30/2024
Duplechin, DainelOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/30/2024
Latuso, NicholasOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/30/2024
Smith, RichardOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/30/2024
Og Realty, LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization12/10/2024
Rs Golden Triangle LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization12/10/2024
Winnie-Stowell Hospital DistrictAdp of the SNFOrganization12/10/2024
Duplechin, DainelAdp of the SNFIndividual12/30/2024
Latuso, NicholasAdp of the SNFIndividual12/30/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on September 10, 2025: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  2. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on July 11, 2024: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on September 10, 2025: "Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted"
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 10, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

Texas contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Texas. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Oak Grove Nursing Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Oak Grove Nursing Home 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Oak Grove Nursing Home get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on September 10, 2025. The Texas average is 9.4.
Has Oak Grove Nursing Home been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Oak Grove Nursing Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Oak Grove Nursing Home?
CMS lists 13 owners and managers. Legal business name: WINNIE-STOWELL HOSPITAL DISTRICT.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection