Find a nursing home

Home / Kansas / Saint Paul

Prairie Mission Retirement Village

242 Carroll Street, Saint Paul, KS 66771 · Neosho County · (620) 449-2400

61 certified beds, about 29 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2003

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 175468 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 13, 2025, inspectors cited 9 health deficiencies (the Kansas average is 9.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 16 health citations since January 2022 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.04 hours per resident per day, against 4.07 across Kansas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.02 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 16 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
12D
1E
3F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 13, 2025Standard inspection · 9 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 26 residents with 12 residents sampled, including nine residents reviewed for accidents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide appropriate, safe transfers for one Resident (R) 27, failed to ensure safe transport for two residents R16 and R5 while in their wheelchair, R 6, regarding leaving medications in his room and R 11, regarding inappropriate interventions following a fall.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 26 residents with 12 residents sampled, including two residents reviewed for dignity. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to show respect and dignity to two Residents (R)13 and R 11, regarding wearing dirty clothes to the dining room.
  3. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 26 residents with 12 residents sampled. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to complete an accurate Minimum Data Set (MDS) for two Residents (R)16, regarding limited range of motion (ROM) and R9, regarding eating assistance.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 26 residents with 12 residents selected for review. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to assess and address proper positioning in accordance with professional standards of practice for Resident (R) 5. This deficient practice had the potential to place R5 at an increased risk for development of increased pain and additional medical problems.
  5. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 26 residents with 12 residents sampled, including one resident reviewed for pressure ulcers (PU). Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to notify the Registered Dietician (RD) of the development of a facility acquired stage II (partial thickness skin loss) PU for one Resident (R)13.
  6. D
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility identified a census of 26 residents with 12 sampled. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide dialysis post care and services to Resident (R) 6. This deficient practice had the potential to negatively affect the resident's physical well-being.
  7. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility identified a census of 26 residents with 12 residents sampled, including six residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on interview, record review, and observation, the facility failed to follow physician's orders for one of the six sampled residents, Resident (R)13, regarding administration of Ativan (an anti-anxiety medication that calms and relaxes people).
  8. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 26 residents with 12 residents sampled, including six residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure one Resident (R) 27 remained free from unnecessary medications related to failure to discontinue (DC) an as needed (PRN) hypertensive medication (medications used to lower blood pressure).
  9. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 26 residents with 12 residents sampled including six residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure the six Residents (R)1, R 27, R 14, R 16, R5, and R10 remained free from unnecessary psychotropic medications (any drug that affects behavior, mood, thoughts, or perception), regarding the facility's failure to obtain psychotropic medication consents.
June 21, 2023Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 24 residents. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to store, prepare, and serve food under sanitary conditions to prevent the spread of food borne illnesses to the residents of the facility.
  2. D
    Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
    F637 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 24 residents with 14 sampled. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to complete multiple triggered Care Area Assessment (CAA), for one sampled Resident (R)5.
  3. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 24 residents with 14 residents sampled, including two residents reviewed for accidents. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to provide one of the two sampled, Resident (R)17 adequate supervision to prevent a non-injury fall.
  4. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 24 residents with 14 residents sampled, including one resident reviewed for Urinary Catheter/Urinary Tract Infection (UTI). Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to maintain an effective infection control program when they failed to provide safe and sanitary care for the one Resident (R)16, regarding the suprapubic urinary catheter (urinary bladder catheter inserted through the skin).
January 26, 2022Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 25, 2022
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 29 residents. Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to provide sanitary glucometer (a device used to calculate blood sugar levels cleaning for four Residents (R)11, R15, R22 and R7, failed to provide sanitary cleaning of nebulizer (equipment use to deliver inhaled medication by aerosolization) components for two residents (R) 22 and R20 and failed to ensure proper cleaning techniques of a resident bathroom to prevent the spread of infection.
  2. F
    Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
    F881 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 25, 2022
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 29 residents. Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure principles of antibiotic stewardship would be followed by nursing staff to ensure antibiotics used in a safe and effective manner to prevent unnecessary side effects of antibiotics and antibiotic resistance in an ongoing, proactive manner.
  3. D
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 25, 2022
    Inspectors wroteThe facility reported a census of 29 residents with 14 residents sampled, including one resident sampled for dialysis (the clinical purification of blood by dialysis, as a substitute for the normal function of the kidney). Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure an appropriate system for monitoring fluid intake for one Resident (R)28, related to the resident's fluid restriction.

Fire safety inspections

33 fire safety citations on file: 3 on July 16, 2025, 6 on March 13, 2025, 12 on June 21, 2023, 12 on January 26, 2022.

Every fire safety citation33 citations
  1. F
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · July 16, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Follow proper procedures when the fire alarm was out of service for more than 4 hours.
    K 346 · July 16, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · July 16, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Install a two-hour-resistant firewall separation.
    K 133 · June 21, 2023 · Waiver
  11. F
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · June 21, 2023 · Waiver
  12. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 21, 2023 · Waiver
  13. F
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. F
    Have restrictions on the use of highly flammable decorations.
    K 753 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. F
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. F
    Meet requirements for the use and maintenance of medical gas equipment.
    K 922 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. E
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · June 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · June 21, 2023 · Waiver
  22. F
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  23. F
    Address subsistence needs for staff and patients.
    E 15 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  24. F
    List the names and contact information of those in the facility.
    E 30 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  25. F
    Provide a means of sharing information on occupancy/needs.
    E 34 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  26. F
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  27. F
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  28. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  29. F
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  30. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  31. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  32. E
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  33. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · January 26, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeKansasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.044.073.86
Registered nurses1.020.710.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.553.603.42
Nurse aides2.82
Licensed practical nurses0.19
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.0%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.24 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.24 on weekdays and 3.55 on weekends, 16% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.13 in July to September 2025 to 4.04 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.041.024.243.55 0.0%0 of 9029
Oct to Dec 20253.990.954.163.56 0.0%0 of 9228
Jul to Sep 20254.131.244.303.70 0.0%0 of 9227
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Kansas, Jan to Mar 20264.010.674.193.564.8%0.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeKansasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.017.913.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.81.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.02.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.04.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.816.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.04.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
30.818.115.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.21.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.52.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: PRAIRIE MISSION RETIREMENT VILLAGE.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Carter, ChrisCorporate directorIndividual08/27/2003
Carter, MichaelCorporate directorIndividual08/27/2003
Smith, KeithCorporate directorIndividual08/27/2003
Bookout, LoganCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2024
Ewan, MelindaCorporate officerIndividual09/12/2016
Bookout, LoganOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2025
Ewan, MelindaOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/12/2016
Ewan, MelindaAdp of the SNFIndividual09/12/2016

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on March 13, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 13, 2025: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on June 21, 2023: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 13, 2025: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.55 hours per resident per day, below the Kansas average of 3.60.

Other nursing homes nearby

Common questions

What is Prairie Mission Retirement Village's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Prairie Mission Retirement Village 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Prairie Mission Retirement Village get at its last inspection?
9 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 13, 2025. The Kansas average is 9.5.
Has Prairie Mission Retirement Village been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Prairie Mission Retirement Village accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Prairie Mission Retirement Village?
CMS lists 8 owners and managers. Legal business name: PRAIRIE MISSION RETIREMENT VILLAGE.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection