Find a nursing home

Home / Pennsylvania / Shippensburg

Shippensburg Rehabilitation and Health Care Center

121 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257 · Cumberland County · (717) 530-8300

125 certified beds, about 110 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1995

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 395964 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 23, 2026, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Pennsylvania average is 10, the national average 9.2).

None of its 12 health citations since June 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.56 hours per resident per day, against 3.89 across Pennsylvania and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.52 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 12 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
9D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 23, 2026Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
    F699 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 25, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, clinical record review, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the residents who are trauma survivors receive culturally competent, trauma-informed care in accordance with professional standards of practice in order to eliminate or mitigate triggers that may cause re-traumatization of the resident for two of two residents reviewed (Residents 3 and 35). Findings Include: Facility policy, titled Trauma Informed Care, reviewed February 2026, read, in part, Policy: .Residents who display or are diagnosed with a mental disorder, psychosocial adjustment difficulty, and/or PTSD will be provided with appropriate treatment and services to attain the highest practicable level of mental and psychosocial wellbeing. Procedure: . 7. [...]
  2. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 25, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the resident assessment accurately reflected the resident's status for two of 24 residents reviewed (Residents 6 and 35). Findings Include: Review of Resident 6's clinical record revealed diagnoses that included gastro esophageal reflux disease ([GERD] when stomach acid flows back up into the esophagus) and major depressive disorder (a serious, common mood disorder characterized by persistent sadness, loss of interest, and fatigue, lasting at least two weeks and impairing daily life). Review of Resident 6's quarterly MDS (Minimum Data Set is part of federally mandated process for clinical assessment of all Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing homes) dated March 25, 2026, indicated in Section N0415 High-Risk Drug Classes: [...]
  3. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 25, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, clinical record reviews, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure the care plan was reviewed and revised for three of 24 residents reviewed (Residents 3, 11, and 28).
February 2, 2026Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, clinical record review, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure care and services are provided in accordance with professional standards of practice that will meet each resident's physical, mental, and psychosocial needs for two of two residents reviewed (Residents 1 and 2).
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to share a room with spouse or roommate of choice and receive written notice before a change is made.
    F559 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, clinical record review, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that in preparation for a room change, each resident received written notice, including the reason for the change, before the resident's room was changed for one of three residents reviewed (Residents 1).
May 16, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observations, review of select facility temperature logs, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to store food and utilize equipment in accordance with professional standards for food service safety in the main kitchen and two of two nourishment areas.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to implement resident-directed care and treatment consistent with the resident's physician orders and care plan for one of 21 residents reviewed (Resident 76).
  3. D
    Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
    F868 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility document review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility's Quality Assurance Committee failed to meet on a quarterly basis for one quarter of four reviewed (first quarter of 2025).
June 13, 2024Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the resident assessment accurately reflected the resident's status for two of 26 residents reviewed (Resident 9 and 26). Findings Include: Review of Resident 9's clinical record revealed diagnoses that included obstructive sleep apnea (characterized by episodes of a complete [apnea] or partial collapse [hypopnea] of the upper airway with an associated decrease in oxygen saturation or arousal from sleep) and seizures (a burst of uncontrolled electrical activity between brain cells). Review of Resident 9's quarterly MDS (Minimum Data Set is part of federally mandated process for clinical assessment of all Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing homes) dated April 4, 2024, revealed in Section O0110. Special Treatments, Procedures, and Programs, G1. [...]
  2. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observation, clinical record review, and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure the care plan was reviewed and revised for one of 23 residents reviewed (Resident 8).
  3. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, observation, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure care and services are provided in accordance with professional standards of practice that will meet each resident's physical, mental, and psychosocial needs for one of 23 residents reviewed (Resident 100).
  4. D
    Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
    F699 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, clinical record review, and Resident Responsible Party and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the residents who are trauma survivors received culturally competent, trauma-informed care in accordance with professional standards of practice in order to eliminate or mitigate triggers that may cause re-traumatization of the resident for one of two residents reviewed (Resident 91).

Fire safety inspections

6 fire safety citations on file: 3 on May 16, 2025, 1 on June 13, 2024, 2 on August 17, 2023.

Every fire safety citation6 citations
  1. E
    Have stairways and smokeproof enclosures used as exits that meet safety requirements.
    K 225 · May 16, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · May 16, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. C
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 100 · May 16, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 100 · June 13, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · August 17, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · August 17, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.563.893.86
Registered nurses0.520.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.333.533.42
Nurse aides2.28
Licensed practical nurses0.76
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.9%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.47 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.65 on weekdays and 3.33 on weekends, 9% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.9% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.67 in April to June 2025 to 3.56 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.560.523.653.33 0.9%0 of 90110
Oct to Dec 20253.550.553.653.29 0.0%0 of 92107
Jul to Sep 20253.630.613.743.36 0.4%0 of 92100
Apr to Jun 20253.670.523.783.38 4.3%0 of 9195
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Pennsylvania, Jan to Mar 20263.690.653.823.3411.3%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.516.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.21.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.63.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.61.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.717.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.74.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.317.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
36.422.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
18.49.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.21.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.71.21.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SHIPPENSBURG OPCO, LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Shippensburg Opco Holdco, LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%06/01/2022
Bl Panho Trust5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization06/01/2022
Mlspa LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization06/01/2022
Mlspa Trust5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization06/01/2022
Mvrk I LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization06/01/2022
Panho Capital Group LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization06/01/2022
Gottesman, Daniel5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual06/01/2022
Kolman, Robert5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual06/01/2022
Cottle, LarryW-2 managing employeeIndividual06/01/2022
Kolman, RobertCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2022
Premier Management Support LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization06/01/2022

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on April 23, 2026: "Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on April 23, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 2, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to share a room with spouse or roommate of choice and receive written notice before a change is made."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 16, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.33 hours per resident per day, below the Pennsylvania average of 3.53.
  6. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Pennsylvania contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Pennsylvania. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Shippensburg Rehabilitation and Health Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Shippensburg Rehabilitation and Health Care Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Shippensburg Rehabilitation and Health Care Center get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 23, 2026. The Pennsylvania average is 10.
Has Shippensburg Rehabilitation and Health Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Shippensburg Rehabilitation and Health Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Shippensburg Rehabilitation and Health Care Center?
CMS lists 11 owners and managers. Legal business name: SHIPPENSBURG OPCO, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection