Find a nursing home

Home / Pennsylvania / Philadelphia

Simpson House Inc

2101 Belmont Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131 · Philadelphia County · (215) 878-3600

142 certified beds, about 66 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1967

CMS high performing icon Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 395121 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 3, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Pennsylvania average is 10, the national average 9.2).

None of its 5 health citations since July 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.09 hours per resident per day, against 3.89 across Pennsylvania and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.72 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 5 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
3D
1E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 3, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations · risk-based survey (a shorter visit CMS gives only to higher performing homes)
April 24, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) staffing data report and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to electronically submit direct care staffing information for one of one quarter reviewed (Fiscal Year Quarter 1 2025 - October 1, 2024, to December 31, 2024).
  2. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, observations, and staff interviews it was determined that the facility failed to implement enhanced barrier precautions for four of seventeen residents reviewed (Resident R36, R50, R24, R48). Findings Include: Review of facility policy Enhanced Barrier Precautions - Skilled Nursing reviewed July 2, 2024, revealed the facility will utilize enhanced barrier precautions to prevent the spread of multidrug resistant organisms (MDRO). Enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) expand the use of personal protective equipment (PPE) beyond situations in which exposure to blood and bodily fluids is anticipated. Enhanced barrier precautions include the use of a gown and gloves during high-contact resident care activities for residents with, but not limited to, wounds and/or indwelling medical devices regardless of infection status and MDRO colonization. [...]
  3. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical record, observations, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to provide appropriate respiratory care related to oxygen therapy for one of two residents reviewed receiving oxygen therapy (Resident R45)
July 3, 2024Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and interview with staff, it was determined that the facility did not develop a comprehensive care plan related to hospice care for one of 15 records reviewed (Resident R40).
  2. D
    Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
    F730 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of facility documentation and interviews with staff, it was determined that the facility failed to complete inservice education based on the outcome of an annual performance review for one of three nurse aides reviewed. (Employee E10) Findings Include: Review of facility documentation, titled, Standard Job Requirements dated December 13, 2023 revealed four sections of rating; Exceeds Expectations, Meets Expectations, Needs Improvement, and Unsatisfactory. Further review of the facility documentation revealed Employee E10 received a score of Needs Improvement for Maintains confidentiality of all information including resident, employee, operations data and health information. Under the comments section of this document that was a written comment stating, Please be mindful of discussing nursing concerns in front of residents and family members. [...]

Fire safety inspections

8 fire safety citations on file: 2 on April 3, 2026, 2 on April 24, 2025, 4 on July 3, 2024.

Every fire safety citation8 citations
  1. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · April 3, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · April 3, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · April 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Install properly constructed and protected linen or trash chutes.
    K 541 · April 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have a battery powered remote alarm panel in a location accessible by operating personnel.
    K 916 · July 3, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Meet requirements for sections of health care facilities separated by fire resistive construction.
    K 131 · July 3, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Install proper backup exit lighting.
    K 281 · July 3, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Meet requirements for the installation and maintenance of electrical systems.
    K 911 · July 3, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.093.893.86
Registered nurses0.720.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.883.533.42
Nurse aides2.42
Licensed practical nurses0.96
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.9%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.22 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.18 on weekdays and 3.88 on weekends, 7% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.68 in April to June 2025 to 4.09 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.090.724.183.88 0.0%0 of 9066
Oct to Dec 20253.960.834.053.73 0.0%0 of 9244
Jul to Sep 20254.260.874.403.92 0.0%0 of 9246
Apr to Jun 20253.680.803.753.53 0.0%0 of 9148
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Pennsylvania, Jan to Mar 20263.690.653.823.3411.3%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.116.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.21.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.43.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.417.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.84.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.017.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
32.122.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.09.512.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SIMPSON HOUSE INC..

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Simpson Senior Services5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization02/01/1998
Simpson Senior ServicesIndirect ownership interestOrganization02/01/1998
Coyle, RichardCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2015
Simpson Senior ServicesOperational/managerial controlOrganization02/01/1998
Argentieri, SusanOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2007
Coyle, RichardOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2015
Simpson Senior ServicesAdp of the SNFOrganization03/12/2025
Argentieri, SusanAdp of the SNFIndividual02/01/2007
Breish, CharlesAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2022

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 24, 2025: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 24, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 24, 2025: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 3, 2024: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."

Other nursing homes nearby

Pennsylvania contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Pennsylvania. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Simpson House Inc's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Simpson House Inc 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Simpson House Inc get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 3, 2026. The Pennsylvania average is 10.
Has Simpson House Inc been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Simpson House Inc accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Simpson House Inc?
CMS lists 9 owners and managers. Legal business name: SIMPSON HOUSE INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection