Find a nursing home

Home / Florida / Sarasota

Bay Village of Sarasota

8400 Vamo Road, Sarasota, FL 34231 · Sarasota County · (941) 966-5611

95 certified beds, about 58 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2010

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 106085 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 18, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the Florida average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 11 health citations since June 2022 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.98 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Florida and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.87 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
7D
3E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 18, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, facility policy review, resident and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure the safe storage of medications for 1 (Resident #62) of 2 residents observed with unsecured and unattended medications at bedside. The facility failed to ensure prescribed medications were consumed and not left at bedside for 1 (Resident #55) of 2 residents observed with unattended medications at bedside.
April 18, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility failed to prepare, and store food in a sanitary manner by failing to cover and date food in 2 walk-in coolers and 1 refrigerator. The facility failed to ensure staff used the three compartment sink appropriately including use of the proper sanitizing agent. The facility failed to ensure staff wear hair restraints during preparation of food. The facililty failed to service and maintain ice machines in the main dining room and three of three nourishment rooms.
  2. E
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    F804 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interviews, resident interviews, and resident council meeting notes, the facility failed to serve food that was palatable and at the appropriate temperature for 4 (Residents Resident #23, #26, #259, and #261) of 4 residents interviewed and Resident Council concerns reviewed from 1/2023 through 12/2023 for food palatability and appropriate temperature. This had the potential of decline in health due to poor nutrition.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, review of facility policy and procedures, record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to maintain a urinary catheter in a safe and sanitary manner for 1 (Resident #5) of 1 resident reviewed with an indwelling urinary catheter.
  4. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure its medication error rate remained below 5%. Five licensed nurses with 26 opportunities were observed. Two medication errors were identified resulting in a 7.69% error rate.
  5. D
    Provide or obtain dental services for each resident.
    F791 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and resident and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure 1 (Resident #19) of 3 residents reviewed for dental services received appropriate care and services for broken teeth.
  6. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased observation on interview record review and policy the facility failed to provide supervision to prevent the elopement of one resident (Resident #162) of one resident surveyed for elopement and failed to ensure four of four residents assessed as an elopement risk currently residing at the facility had appropriate interventions to prevent the potential for an elopement.
June 23, 2022Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Give their staff education on dementia care, and what abuse, neglect, and exploitation are; and how to report abuse, neglect, and exploitation.
    F943 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 23, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure 5 (Staff C, D, E, F and G) of 10 staff reviewed had the required education and training in abuse, neglect, and exploitation. Failure to provide staff with abuse, neglect, and exploitation training prior to working with facility residents could lead to staff not knowing how to prevent and report abuse, neglect, and exploitation.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 23, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, staff and resident interview, the facility failed to ensure timely response to call lights to meet the needs of 2 (Resident #94 and #96) of 2 residents reviewed.
  3. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 23, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, and interview the facility failed to complete a level one Pre admission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR), and report significant mental illness changes to the appropriate state agencies (KEPRO) for 2 (Resident #10 and #25) of 3 residents reviewed with newly diagnosed psychiatric disorder.
  4. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 23, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to ensure a psychotropic (medication that affects brain activity) as needed medication (PRN) had a fixed duration of time for 1 (Resident #10) of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications.

Fire safety inspections

6 fire safety citations on file: 6 on June 23, 2022.

Every fire safety citation6 citations
  1. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · June 23, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have properly installed hallway dispensers for alcohol-based hand rub.
    K 325 · June 23, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 23, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · June 23, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · June 23, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · June 23, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.983.823.86
Registered nurses0.870.730.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.833.493.42
Nurse aides2.94
Licensed practical nurses1.16
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported41.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported46.0%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.68 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.04 on weekdays and 4.83 on weekends, 4% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 7.5% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.32 in April to June 2025 to 4.98 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.980.875.044.83 7.5%0 of 9058
Oct to Dec 20254.960.825.084.65 6.1%0 of 9255
Jul to Sep 20256.720.776.856.39 4.4%1 of 9255
Apr to Jun 20255.320.785.514.85 8.5%0 of 9154
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Florida, Jan to Mar 20263.760.703.903.441.1%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.98.713.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.00.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.30.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.62.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.61.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.69.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.94.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.58.615.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
30.626.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
7.89.112.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.82.11.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.61.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: BAY VILLAGE OF SARASOTA INC..

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Combs, ThomasManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Goodrich, DonaldManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Howe, ThomasManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Junkins, KathleenManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Olwert, AndrewManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Penn, JohnManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Robinson, AbigailManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Seeger, SallyManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Sherwood, RobertManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Snyder, DonaldManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Taylor, ThomasManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Grimes, JenniferCorporate directorIndividual07/15/2019
Nichols, EricCorporate directorIndividual05/01/2017
Wizba, ChristinaCorporate directorIndividual11/18/1996
Combs, ThomasCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Goodrich, DonaldCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Howe, ThomasCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Junkins, KathleenCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Olwert, AndrewCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Penn, JohnCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Robinson, AbigailCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Seeger, SallyCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Sherwood, RobertCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2025
Snyder, DonaldCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Taylor, ThomasCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Caughron, DianaOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/07/2013
Grimes, JenniferOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/15/2019
Jones, TimothyOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/18/2023
Lunsford, MarvinOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/10/2018
Pitcher, LauraOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/03/2000
Roth, KimberlyOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2021
Stein, BarryOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2024
Williams, AshleyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/12/2024
Wizba, ChristinaOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/22/2025
Bay Village of Sarasota Inc.Adp of the SNFOrganization01/22/2025
Grimes, JenniferAdp of the SNFIndividual02/28/2025
Stein, BarryAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on June 18, 2026: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 18, 2024: "Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 18, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 23, 2022: "Give their staff education on dementia care, and what abuse, neglect, and exploitation are; and how to report abuse, neglect, and exploitation."

Other nursing homes nearby

Florida contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Florida. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Bay Village of Sarasota's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Bay Village of Sarasota 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Bay Village of Sarasota get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on June 18, 2026. The Florida average is 7.1.
Has Bay Village of Sarasota been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Bay Village of Sarasota accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Bay Village of Sarasota?
CMS lists 37 owners and managers. Legal business name: BAY VILLAGE OF SARASOTA INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection