Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Long Prairie

Cura of Long Prairie

20 9th Street Se, Long Prairie, MN 56347 · Todd County · (320) 339-2366

60 certified beds, about 50 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1981

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245244 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 9, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since January 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

CMS links it to Cura, an affiliated group of 8 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 9, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations · risk-based survey (a shorter visit CMS gives only to higher performing homes)
April 9, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 8, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure call lights were answered in a timely manner to promote dignity for 4 of 4 residents (R3, R4, R5, R6 ) reviewed for complaints of long call light wait times.
May 1, 2025Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure proper personal protective equipment (PPE) was used when providing cares for 1 of 1 residents (R24) reviewed for enhanced barrier precautions (EBP). Findings Include: R24's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], indicated moderate cognitive impairment and one unhealed stage two pressure ulcer and a skin tear. R24's undated care plan included R24 was on EBP to prevent the spread of multi drug resistant organisms (MDRO). The care plan instructed to use gown and gloves with high-contact resident care activities. During medication pass observation on 4/28/25 at 7:17 p.m., nursing assistant (NA)-A, NA-B, and trained medication assistant (TMA)-A were observed repositioning R24 in her bed and assisting with drinking water. [...]
January 9, 2024Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record reviews facility failed to protect personal health information for 2 of 2 residents (R11 & R34) related to code status.
  2. D
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to notify the ombudsman of facility-initiated discharges and transfers to the hospital for 4 of 4 residents (R45, R195, R5, R8,) who were discharged to home or transferred to the hospital.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to implement interventions to prevent further development of decreased range of motion for 1 of 1 residents (R8) reviewed for positioning.
  4. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, facility failed to properly assess 2 of 5 residents (R19, R27) reviewed for accidents.
  5. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 5 residents (R34) reviewed for immunizations were offered and/or provided the pneumococcal vaccine series as recommended by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) to help reduce the risk of associated infection(s).

Fire safety inspections

7 fire safety citations on file: 5 on May 1, 2025, 2 on January 9, 2024.

Every fire safety citation7 citations
  1. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · May 1, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · May 1, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Meet requirements for the installation and maintenance of electrical systems.
    K 911 · May 1, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · May 1, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have restrictions on the use of portable space heaters.
    K 781 · May 1, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · January 9, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · January 9, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported4.193.86
Registered nursesnot reported1.060.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.713.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.86 on weekdays and 4.48 on weekends, 8% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.08 in April to June 2025 to 4.75 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.750.784.864.48 0.0%0 of 9050
Oct to Dec 20254.810.754.954.43 0.0%0 of 9248
Jul to Sep 20254.000.764.143.64 0.0%0 of 9249
Apr to Jun 20254.080.804.203.78 0.0%0 of 9148
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Jan to Mar 20264.191.054.383.735.2%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.818.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.71.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.72.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.94.03.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
24.120.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.75.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.317.115.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: PREMIER HEALTHCARE MANAGEMENT OF LONG PRAIRIE LLC. CMS links this home to Cura, a group of 8 nursing homes averaging 2.5 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Opatz, Tom5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual50%11/16/2022
Struzyk, Fred5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual50%11/16/2022
Opatz, TomW-2 managing employeeIndividual11/16/2022
Struzyk, FredW-2 managing employeeIndividual11/16/2022
Opatz, TomCorporate officerIndividual11/16/2022
Struzyk, FredCorporate officerIndividual11/16/2022

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 9, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 1, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 9, 2024: "Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason."

Other nursing homes nearby

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Cura of Long Prairie's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Cura of Long Prairie 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Cura of Long Prairie get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 9, 2026. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has Cura of Long Prairie been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Cura of Long Prairie accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Cura of Long Prairie?
CMS lists 6 owners and managers, and links the home to Cura. Legal business name: PREMIER HEALTHCARE MANAGEMENT OF LONG PRAIRIE LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection