Find a nursing home

Home / Nebraska / Falls City

Falls City Nursing and Rehabilitation Center

1720 Burton Drive, Falls City, NE 68355 · Richardson County · (402) 245-4466

63 certified beds, about 42 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1979

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 285055 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 31, 2025, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Nebraska average is 7.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 7 health citations since August 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.39 hours per resident per day, against 3.98 across Nebraska and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.47 of those hours.

60.0% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Nebraska average 48.7%).

CMS links it to The Ensign Group, an affiliated group of 344 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
3D
1E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
May 7, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. G
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    F580 · Resident Rights · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.04(F)(i)(5)Based on record reviews and interviews, the facility failed to notify the resident's physician of a change in condition, failed to report a fall that delayed in the resident medical care for one sampled resident and failed to follow standards of practice after an injury to the head for one sampled resident (Resident 1). The facility census was 42.
July 31, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.11(E) Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the chemical low-temperature (temp) dish machine reached a minimum temp of 120 degrees Fahrenheit (F)(a temperature scale) during all wash and rinse cycles and failed to ensure spoiled vegetables from the garden were disposed of to prevent foodborne illness. This had the potential to affect 38 residents that consumed food from the kitchen. The total facility census was 39.
  2. D
    Provide or get specialized rehabilitative services as required for a resident.
    F825 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLICENSURE REFERENCE NUMBER 175 NAC 12-006.13 Based on record reviews, observations, and interviews, the facility staff failed to implement speech therapy (ST, a type of therapy focused on improving or restoring a person's ability to swallow safely and effectively) orders for 1 (Resident 3) of 1 sampled resident. The facility staff identified a census of 40.
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.18(B) Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure that 1 (Resident 4) of 2 sampled residents' oxygen concentrator filters were clean, the positive airway pressure (PAP) device (a machine used to treat sleep apnea) contained a filter, the tubing was replaced, and ensure that the nasal cannulas and PAP masks for 2 (Residents 4 and 13) of 2 sampled residents were clean and stored off the floor to prevent the potential for cross contamination. The facility census was 39.
March 25, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. F
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12.006.12(D)(i) Based on observations, interviews and record review, the facility failed to secure all medications in a locked storage area and to limit access to authorized personnel. The facility identified a census of 41.
July 11, 2024Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.09B Based on record review and interview; the facility failed to code the Minimum Data Set (MDS-a comprehensive assessment of each resident's functional capabilities used to develop a resident's plan of care) assessment to reflect the resident's status for 4 (Residents 9, 11, 19 and 34) of 12 sampled residents. The facility census was 39.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.09C Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to develop and implement a resident-centered comprehensive care plan (a written interdisciplinary comprehensive plan detailing how to provide quality care for a resident) that accurately reflected the needs for 1 (Resident 34) of 12 sampled residents. The facility census was 39.
August 23, 2023Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

20 fire safety citations on file: 8 on July 31, 2025, 6 on July 11, 2024, 6 on August 23, 2023.

Every fire safety citation20 citations
  1. F
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · July 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · July 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · July 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · July 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · July 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · July 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Meet requirements for the use and maintenance of medical gas equipment.
    K 922 · July 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · July 31, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Implement emergency and standby power systems.
    E 41 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. E
    Have restrictions on the use of portable space heaters.
    K 781 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · July 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. F
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · August 23, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. F
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · August 23, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. F
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · August 23, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · August 23, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · August 23, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. E
    Meet requirements for the use and maintenance of medical gas equipment.
    K 922 · August 23, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNebraskaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.393.983.86
Registered nurses0.470.670.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.053.483.42
Nurse aides2.17
Licensed practical nurses0.76
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)60.0%48.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported44.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.79 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.53 on weekdays and 3.05 on weekends, 14% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 32.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.37 in April to June 2025 to 3.39 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.390.473.533.05 32.1%0 of 9042
Oct to Dec 20253.170.453.302.84 21.2%0 of 9246
Jul to Sep 20253.330.313.542.80 13.3%0 of 9242
Apr to Jun 20253.370.303.562.92 16.0%0 of 9144
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Nebraska, Jan to Mar 20264.010.664.213.537.1%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Nebraska

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Nebraska, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$19.23$18.29 to $22.3116,450
LPNs and LVNs$30.13$28.41 to $34.554,580
Registered nurses$40.74$38.09 to $47.9024,720
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNebraskaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.519.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.51.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.72.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.34.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.02.01.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.618.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.44.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.520.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
21.920.723.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
11.111.412.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.61.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.91.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: STANTON LAKE HEALTHCARE INC. CMS links this home to The Ensign Group, a group of 344 nursing homes averaging 3.2 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Burnam, SoonManaging control - governing bodyIndividual09/09/2024
Morris, SpencerManaging control - governing bodyIndividual07/18/2011
Westengaard, JustinManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/03/2024
Jorgensen, DavidCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Burnam, SoonCorporate officerIndividual09/09/2024
Helenthal, TaraCorporate officerIndividual09/09/2024
Keetch, ChadCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2011
Sato, AmiCorporate officerIndividual09/09/2024
Alliance Medical Staffing IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/18/2011
Onshift IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/18/2011
Morris, SpencerOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/18/2011
Westengaard, JustinOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/03/2024
Port, BarryIndividual is an owner, partner or trustee of any ADP of the SNFIndividual07/08/2025
Caretrust Gp LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization07/18/2011
Caretrust Reit IncAdp of the SNFOrganization07/18/2011
Ctr Partnership LPAdp of the SNFOrganization07/18/2011
Ensign Services IncAdp of the SNFOrganization06/01/2011
Falls City Health Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization07/18/2011
Morris, SpencerAdp of the SNFIndividual07/29/2025
Westengaard, JustinAdp of the SNFIndividual07/09/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 11, 2024: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 7, 2026: "Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 31, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 31, 2025: "Provide or get specialized rehabilitative services as required for a resident."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.05 hours per resident per day, below the Nebraska average of 3.48.

Other nursing homes nearby

Nebraska contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Nebraska. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Falls City Nursing and Rehabilitation Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Falls City Nursing and Rehabilitation Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Falls City Nursing and Rehabilitation Center get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 31, 2025. The Nebraska average is 7.4.
Has Falls City Nursing and Rehabilitation Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Falls City Nursing and Rehabilitation Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Falls City Nursing and Rehabilitation Center?
CMS lists 20 owners and managers, and links the home to The Ensign Group. Legal business name: STANTON LAKE HEALTHCARE INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection