Find a nursing home

Home / Texas / Seminole

Memorial Health Care Center

212 Nw 10th St., Seminole, TX 79360 · Gaines County · (432) 758-4877

40 certified beds, about 40 residents a day · Government - County · Medicare and Medicaid since 2024

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 745055 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on August 21, 2025, inspectors cited 8 health deficiencies (the Texas average is 9.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 14 health citations since July 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.30 hours per resident per day, against 3.39 across Texas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.40 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 14 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
8E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
August 21, 2025Standard inspection · 8 citations
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    F585 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide information to resident's and their representatives on their rights related to filing grievances or concerns for 10 of 42 confidential residents. The facility failed to ensure 10 confidential residents were provided, the Grievance Procedure, information in regards to who the facility grievance officer was, their contact information, how to file an anonymous grievance. This failure could place the residents at risk of unresolved grievances and decreased quality of life.
  2. E
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, and record review, the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident, consistent with the resident rights, that include measurable objectives and timeframes to meet a resident's medical, nursing, mental, and psychosocial needs that were identified in the comprehensive assessment for 4 of 16 residents (Resident #29, Resident #36, Resident #39, and Resident #42) reviewed for care plans. The facility failed to develop a care plan for Resident #29's, Resident #36's, Resident #39's and Resident #42's advanced directives. These failures could place residents at risk of not receiving the care required to meet their individualized needs.
  3. E
    Have a policy regarding use and storage of foods brought to residents by family and other visitors.
    F813 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to ensure the personal food policy was followed to maintain safe and sanitary storage of residents' food items for 4 of 16 residents rooms reviewed for food safety (room [ROOM NUMBER]A, #16B, #19B, and #21B) in that: The refrigerators located in room [ROOM NUMBER]A, #16B, #19B, and #21B were not being monitored for internal temperature and expiration/used by dates. These failures could place residents at risk for food borne illnesses.
  4. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 2 of 3 residents (Residents #39 and #29) reviewed for infection control.1. CNA A failed to utilize proper hand hygiene between glove changes and failed to change gloves when going from dirty to clean when providing incontinence care and catheter care for Resident #39. 2. CNA A and RN B failed to follow enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) and wear a gown when providing incontinence care and catheter care for Resident #39. 3. CNA C failed to change her gloves when going from dirty to clean when providing incontinence care for Resident #29. [...]
  5. E
    Develop, implement, and/or maintain an effective training program for all new and existing staff members.
    F940 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interviews the facility failed to develop, implement, and maintain an effective training program for all new and existing staff; individuals providing services under a contractual arrangement; and volunteers, consistent with their expected roles for 6 out of 6 employees (RN F, CNA A, LVN H, CNA G, CNA I, and CNA J) reviewed for required training. The facility failed to ensure staff were properly trained in Fall Prevention, HIV, Restraints, Emergency Procedures and Dementia for 6 of 6 employees (RN F, CNA A, LVN H, CNA G, CNA I, and CNA J) reviewed for training at hire and annually. This failure could place residents at risk of receiving care from individuals who did not have the knowledge and skills to properly provide safety from adverse events or other resident life and health complications.
  6. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure all residents had the right to formulate an advance directive for 2 of 16 residents (Residents #27 and #28) reviewed for advanced directives, in that: Residents #27 and #28 was listed as a DNR (Do Not Resuscitate) but had Out-of-Hospital Do Not Resuscitate (OOH-DNR) forms that were incorrectly filled out or had missing required information. These failures could place residents at risk for not having their end of life wishes honored and their records being incomplete/inaccurate.
  7. D
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to use the services of a Registered Nurse (RN) for at least eight consecutive hours a day, seven days a week for 10 out of 90 days (01/11/25, 01/12/25, 01/25/25, 01/26/25, 02/08/25, 02/09/25, 02/15/25, 02/16/25, 02/22/25, and 02/23/25) reviewed for RN coverage. The facility failed to ensure they had RN coverage 8 hours a day, 7 days a week for the following weekend days: 01/11/25, 01/12/25, 01/25/25, 01/26/25, 02/08/25, 02/09/25, 02/15/25, 02/16/25, 02/22/25, and 02/23/25 This failure could place residents at risk for inconsistency in care and services.
  8. D
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.
    F805 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and record review, the facility failed to prepare food in a form to meet individual needs in 1 of 1 kitchen reviewed for dietary services in that: The facility failed to ensure puree meat, puree vegetables, and puree pasta were prepared to a smooth uniform texture. This failure could place residents at risk for choking.
July 25, 2024Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, including information for agency and contract staff, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data in a uniform format according to specifications established by CMS for 1 of 1 facility reviewed for administration (Fiscal year 2024 for the second quarter January 1, 2024, to March 31, 2024). The facility failed to submit PBJ (Payroll Based Journal) staffing information to CMS for the 2nd quarter of the fiscal year 2024. This failure could place residents at risk for personal needs not being identified and met due to staffing.
  2. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure that the resident environment remained as free of accident hazards as was possible in 2 of 3 common resident baths (Tan and Mauve Halls) in that: The facility failed to ensure chemicals were not stored with resident toiletries and personal items in 2 of 3 common resident baths (Tan and Mauve Halls). These failures could place residents at risk for accident hazards resulting in injuries.
  3. E
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to offer, based on a resident's comprehensive assessment, a therapeutic diet when there was a nutritional problem, and the health care provider ordered a therapeutic diet for 3 of 3 residents (Residents #18, 72 and 73) reviewed for nutrition status. The facility failed to provide Residents #18, 72 and 73 with their physician ordered therapeutic diets that included fortified foods for the noon meals on 7/23/24, 7/24/24 and 7/25/24. This failure could place residents at risk for hunger, weight loss and chemical imbalances.
  4. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection control program designed to provide a safe, comfortable, and sanitary environment to help prevent the development and transmission of diseases for 3 of 4 residents (Residents #3) reviewed for infection control. 1. CNA A failed to utilize proper hand hygiene during incontinence care for Resident # 3. 2. CNA C failed to utilize proper hand hygiene during incontinence care for Resident #172 3. The facility failed to implement enhanced barrier precautions for Resident #18. These failures could place residents at risk for infection and cross contamination.
  5. D
    Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
    F552 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record reviews the facility failed to ensure the residents had the right to participate in, his or her treatment which included the right to be informed in advance, by the physician or other practitioner or professional, of the risks and benefits of proposed care, of treatment and treatment alternatives or treatment options and to choose the alternative or option he or she preferred, for 3 of 13 residents (Residents #8, #72, #222) reviewed for resident rights. The facility failed to obtain a signed informed consent based on information of the benefits, risks, and options available for: Residents #8 prior to the administration of Lorazepam and Trazodone; Resident #72 prior to the administration of Trazodone; Resident #222 prior to the administration of Seroquel and Lorazepam. [...]
  6. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure PRN orders for psychotropic drugs are limited to 14 days unless the attending physician or prescribing practitioner believes that it is appropriate for the PRN order to be extended beyond 14 days, for 2 of 16 residents (Resident #3 and Resident #72) reviewed for unnecessary medications. - The facility failed to ensure Resident #3 had a stop date or duration for PRN alprazolam (a medication used to treat anxiety). - The facility failed to ensure Resident #72 had a stop date or duration for PRN Trazadone (a medication use to treat insomnia). These failures could put residents at risk of possible psychotropic medication side effects, adverse consequences, decreased quality of life, and dependence on unnecessary medications.

Fire safety inspections

2 fire safety citations on file: 2 on August 21, 2025.

Every fire safety citation2 citations
  1. F
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · August 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    List the names and contact information of those in the facility.
    E 30 · August 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTexasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.303.393.86
Registered nurses0.400.430.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.722.983.42
Nurse aides2.55
Licensed practical nurses1.34
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.3%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported54.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.07 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.53 on weekdays and 3.72 on weekends, 18% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 2.54 in April to June 2025 to 4.30 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.300.404.533.72 0.0%0 of 9040
Oct to Dec 20254.840.645.154.05 0.0%0 of 9240
Jul to Sep 20254.340.574.593.72 0.0%0 of 9242
Apr to Jun 20252.540.322.781.92 0.0%18 of 9145
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Texas, Jan to Mar 20263.330.403.502.932.2%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTexasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.715.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.90.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.93.33.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.914.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.43.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.09.615.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.32.21.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.52.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on August 21, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 21, 2025: "Have a policy regarding use and storage of foods brought to residents by family and other visitors."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 21, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 21, 2025: "Develop, implement, and/or maintain an effective training program for all new and existing staff members."

Other nursing homes nearby

Texas contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Texas. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Memorial Health Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Memorial Health Care Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Memorial Health Care Center get at its last inspection?
8 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on August 21, 2025. The Texas average is 9.4.
Has Memorial Health Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Memorial Health Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Memorial Health Care Center?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection