Find a nursing home

Home / South Dakota / Hot Springs

Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home

2500 Minnekahta Avenue, Hot Springs, SD 57747 · Fall River County · (605) 745-5127

78 certified beds, about 52 residents a day · Government - State · Medicaid since 2011

Certified for Medicaid
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 43A136 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 9, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the South Dakota average is 6.7, the national average 9.2).

Of 13 health citations since February 2024, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $39,293 in the last three years; the largest was $39,293, and the latest is dated May 1, 2025.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 13 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
2G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
4E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 9, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 7, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the provider failed to ensure that the resident's baseline care plan (a standardized, person-centered guide developed for newly admitted residents) was completed, reviewed with the resident or the resident's representative, and that a written copy was provided to the resident or their representative within 48 hours of the resident's admission to the facility for two of two sampled residents (8 and 48).
May 1, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 6 citations
  1. G
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility-reported incident (FRI), observation, record review, and interview, the provider failed to protect the resident's right to be free from neglect by one of one licensed practical nurse (LPN) (U) who failed to initiate standing orders for an upset stomach for one of one sampled resident (210) after he became sick in the dining room at supper time and later that night aspirated on his emesis and passed away. This citation is considered past non-compliance based on a review of the corrective actions the provider implemented immediately following the incident.
  2. G
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 27, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure ordered treatments for a current pressure ulcer (skin wound caused by prolonged pressure) were completed and preventative interventions were consistently implemented for one of one sampled resident (47) who developed additional pressure ulcers (wounds) on his toes.
  3. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, interview, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure proper infection control practices were followed regarding: *Hand hygiene and personal protective equipment (PPE) use by four of four observed staff (E, O, R, and S) for one sampled resident (360) with a physician order for contact precautions related to an infected unhealed chest wound and two sampled residents (10 and 49) on enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) who resided in the NASA unit. *The storage and maintenance of wound care supplies in one of one observed treatment cart located in the NASA unit.
  4. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 27, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure an environment free from potential hazards by not following their policy and ensuring that lighters for two of two sampled residents (33 and 42) who smoked were secured at the nurses' station when not in use.
  5. E
    Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame.
    F909 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 27, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to assess bed rails for safe use for five of five sampled residents (24, 28, 41, 44, and 47) who had bed rails on their beds.
  6. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 27, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, interview, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure the care plan was reviewed and revised to reflect the current necessary care needs for one of one sampled resident (47).
February 15, 2024Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, interview, and policy review, the provider failed to: *Ensure the paper copy of the standardized protocol for stage II pressure ulcer interventions was followed according to policy for one of two sampled residents (27) with a stage II facility acquired pressure ulcer (a skin injury incurred while residing at the facility). *Implement the use of a pressure-reducing device to mitigate the risk for one of two sampled residents (27) who developed a stage II facility acquired pressure ulcer.
  2. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure infection prevention and control practices were implemented for the following: *Effective whirlpool (WP) tub cleaning by one of one certified homemaker (J) in one of five multi-use resident WP tub rooms after bathing one of one sampled resident (8). *Appropriate mask, face shield, and gown use by one of one licensed practical nurse (LPN) (I) during care for one of four sampled residents (34) on transmission-based precautions (TBP). *Appropriate face shield and mask use by one of one certified homemaker (L) during care for one of four residents (52) on TBP. *Appropriate hand hygiene, glove use, and dressing application by one of one LPN (I) during a dressing change for one of two sampled residents (27).
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure: *The psychosocial well-being and dignity was maintained for one of four sampled residents (46) during three of three observed meal services. *Privacy for one of two sampled residents (29) was provided during his Foley catheter care.
  4. D
    Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
    F604 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to identify one of four sampled residents (46) seated in a wheelchair was restrained with locked brakes pushed against a countertop.
  5. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure: *One of one four residents (46) at risk for skin breakdown was repositioned according to the protocol of the facility. *One of four sampled residents (46) received proper and timely peri-care following a bowel movement.
  6. D
    Provide each resident with a nourishing, palatable, well-balanced diet that meets his or her daily nutritional and special dietary needs.
    F800 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure one of two sampled residents (57) with a physician ordered renal dialysis diet was implemented.

Fire safety inspections

1 fire safety citation on file: 1 on May 1, 2025.

Every fire safety citation1 citation
  1. C
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · May 1, 2025 · deficient, provider has

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
May 1, 2025Fine $39,293

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeSouth DakotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.793.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.800.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.263.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported34.7%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility submitted data that did not meet the criteria required to calculate a staffing measure.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In October to December 2025, nursing staff hours per resident were 7.55 on weekdays and 5.84 on weekends, 23% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 19.2% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 6.62 in April to June 2025 to 7.07 in October to December 2025.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Oct to Dec 20257.071.357.555.84 19.2%0 of 9257
Jul to Sep 20256.651.117.145.39 27.6%1 of 9259
Apr to Jun 20256.621.147.095.45 29.5%0 of 9158
United States, Oct to Dec 20253.760.623.933.345.3%0.5% of days
South Dakota, Oct to Dec 20253.800.814.013.269.7%1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeSouth DakotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.721.413.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.10.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.72.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.45.53.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.419.414.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.94.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
33.724.615.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.51.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.71.81.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on May 1, 2025: "Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 9, 2026: "Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted"
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 1, 2025: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 1, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

South Dakota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in South Dakota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, no for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on July 9, 2026. The South Dakota average is 6.7.
Has Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $39,293 in the last three years.
Does Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection