Find a nursing home

Home / Texas / Rosenberg

Oakbend Medical Center

1705 Jackson Street, Rosenberg, TX 77469 · Fort Bend County · (281) 238-7858

36 certified beds, about 96 residents a day · For profit - Individual · Medicare since 1988

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: This facility did not submit staffing data.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 455770 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 17, 2026, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the Texas average is 9.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since March 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists 2 fines totaling $12,267 in the last three years; the largest was $8,469, and the latest is dated January 8, 2024.

CMS links it to Oakbend Medical Center, an affiliated group of 5 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
1D
5E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
June 17, 2026Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure all residents had the right to formulate an advance directive for 2 of 15 residents (Residents #161 and #163) reviewed for advance directives. The facility failed to ensure Resident #161's advance directive status met her directive to healthcare providers to not perform CPR if her breathing or heartbeat stopped. The facility failed to ensure Resident #163 had an out-of-hospital do-not-resuscitate form in his medical record that was consistent with his wishes. This failure could place residents at risk of not having their end-of-life wishes honored and having incomplete records.
  2. E
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    F725 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews, and record review the facility failed to have sufficient and competent staffing to provide nursing and related services to assure resident safety and attain or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of each resident, as determined by resident assessments and individual plans of care for 4 residents (Residents #1, #3, #4 and # 5) out of 7 residents. The facility failed to ensure a nursing staff responded to the call light in a timely manner on June 14,15,and 16th 2026. This failure could place residents at risk of inadequate supervision, an unsafe environment, falls, serious harm and injury, exacerbations of disease processes, abuse, and death.
  3. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infection for 2 of 5 residents (Resident #2 and Resident #4) and 2 of 2 staffs (CNA A, CNA B ) reviewed for infection control. -The facility failed to ensure CNA A proceed soiled linen accord to infection control policies and procedures. On 06/17/2026 CNA A placed Resident #2 soiled linen on the floor with ungloved hands. -The facility failed to ensure CNA B transported clean linen into Resident #4's room following infection prevention guidelines. CNA B held clean linen on her scrub. [...]
  4. E
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    F921 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide a safe, functional, sanitary, and comfortable environment for residents, staff, and the public on 1 of 2 hallways (Hall B) reviewed for environmental concerns.-The facility failed to ensure the ceiling in Hall B was free from water buildup, water pooling and a smoke damper leaking water on to the floor on 6/17/26. These failures could place residents at risk of a diminished quality of life due to exposure to an environment that is unpleasant, unsanitary, and unsafe.
  5. E
    Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
    F925 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to maintain an effective pest control program for 2 of 5 residents' rooms (room [ROOM NUMBER] and 19) and surrounding areas reviewed for pests. The facility failed to ensure Resident #4 and Resident #5's rooms were free of pests on 06/14/ 2026 and 06/16/2026. The facility failed to ensure the common shower area was free of pests. This failure could place residents at risk of increased exposure to pests and vector-borne diseases and infections as well as negative reputation of the physical environment of the facility.
  6. C
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 9, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate director care staffing information no less frequently than quarterly for one of four quarters reviewed for payroll based journal data. This failure placed residents at risk of not being aware of the facility's staffing information which may result in adverse health outcomes due to low staffing levels.
May 7, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection control program designed to prevent the development and transmission of infection for 1 of 4 residents (Resident #117) observed for infection control. The facility failed to ensure CNA B followed appropriate infection control and hand hygiene procedure during incontinent care for Resident #117 on 05/05/2025. These failures could place the residents at risk for infection.
March 6, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

6 fire safety citations on file: 1 on June 17, 2026, 3 on May 7, 2025, 2 on March 6, 2024.

Every fire safety citation6 citations
  1. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · June 17, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · May 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · May 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · May 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · March 6, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · March 6, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
January 8, 2024Fine $3,798
December 18, 2023Fine $8,469

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTexasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.393.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.430.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported2.983.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.3%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported54.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility did not submit staffing data.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In October to December 2025, nursing staff hours per resident were 2.46 on weekdays and 2.22 on weekends, 10% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 37.6% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 7.25 in April to June 2025 to 2.39 in October to December 2025.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Oct to Dec 20252.390.482.462.22 37.6%0 of 9255
Jul to Sep 20252.750.742.862.45 43.3%0 of 9239
Apr to Jun 20257.251.627.466.69 28.1%0 of 9114
United States, Oct to Dec 20253.760.623.933.345.3%0.5% of days
Texas, Oct to Dec 20253.340.403.492.952.1%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTexasUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.91.51.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
18.825.723.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
9.312.312.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: OAKBEND MEDICAL CENTER. CMS links this home to Oakbend Medical Center, a group of 5 nursing homes averaging 3 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Hammel, JeffreyW-2 managing employeeIndividual04/01/2017
Freudenberger, JosephCorporate directorIndividual10/22/2007
Hammel, JeffreyCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2017

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 17, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. Can we see a resident room, a shower room and the dining room on this visit?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 17, 2026: "Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 17, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive."
  4. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 17, 2026: "Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift."

Other nursing homes nearby

Texas contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Texas. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Oakbend Medical Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Oakbend Medical Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Oakbend Medical Center get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 17, 2026. The Texas average is 9.4.
Has Oakbend Medical Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 2 fines totaling $12,267 in the last three years.
Does Oakbend Medical Center accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Oakbend Medical Center?
CMS lists 3 owners and managers, and links the home to Oakbend Medical Center. Legal business name: OAKBEND MEDICAL CENTER.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection