Find a nursing home

Home / Iowa / Sibley

Osceola Senior Living

100 Cedar Lane, Sibley, IA 51249 · Osceola County · (712) 754-2568

46 certified beds, about 33 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicaid since 2025

Certified for Medicaid
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 16E761 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 2, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the Iowa average is 6.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 6 health citations since March 2025 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.98 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Iowa and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.98 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 6 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 2, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, and interviews, the facility failed to implement and practice appropriate infection control measures by not establishing or following a routine cleaning schedule for continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) equipment for 1 of 13 residents reviewed (Resident #17). The facility also failed to provide staff with current CPAP machine settings. The facility reported a census of 32 residents.
March 13, 2025Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews the facility failed to provide professional standards of care by not following physician orders to include the updated order and the correct medication end date in the electronic record for 2 out of 12 residents reviewed (Resident #3 and #31). The facility reported a census of 34 residents.
  2. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and staff interview the facility failed to ensure a resident received Oxygen (O2) per the physician's order for 1 resident reviewed (Resident #25). The facility reported a census of 34 residents.
  3. D
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.
    F744 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interview the facility failed to address dementia/Alzheimer's Disease care on the care plan for 1 out of 5 residents reviewed (Resident #3). The facility reported a census of 34 residents.
  4. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interview the facility failed to identify side effects, non-pharmalogical interventions to try prior to medication and specific targeted behaviors related to high risk medications in 2 out of 5 sampled residents reviewed (Resident #3 and #9). The facility reported a census of 34 residents.
  5. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, facility policy and staff interview, the facility failed to use proper infection control practices when hanging catheter bags for 2 of 2 residents reviewed (Residents #19 and #23). The facility also failed to complete proper hand hygiene during urinary catheter care for 1 of 1 residents (Resident #23). The facility reported a total census of 34 residents.

Fire safety inspections

21 fire safety citations on file: 9 on April 2, 2026, 12 on March 13, 2025.

Every fire safety citation21 citations
  1. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · April 2, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Properly provide smoke detection systems in areas open to corridors.
    K 347 · April 2, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · April 2, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · April 2, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 2, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · April 2, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · April 2, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · April 2, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · April 2, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Develop a communication plan.
    E 29 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Provide primary/alternate means for communication.
    E 32 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Follow proper procedures when the fire alarm was out of service for more than 4 hours.
    K 346 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. F
    Follow proper procedures when the automatic sprinkler systems was out of service for more than 10 hours.
    K 354 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. F
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. F
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · March 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIowaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.983.823.86
Registered nurses0.980.740.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.593.373.42
Nurse aides2.67
Licensed practical nurses0.33
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 2.95 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.14 on weekdays and 3.59 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 18.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.09 in July to September 2025 to 3.98 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.980.984.143.59 18.0%0 of 9033
Oct to Dec 20254.041.014.213.60 16.5%0 of 9232
Jul to Sep 20255.091.195.354.44 22.2%0 of 9225
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Iowa, Jan to Mar 20263.800.713.983.364.7%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIowaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.717.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.91.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.53.83.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.716.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.44.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.219.415.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.21.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.82.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 2, 2026: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 13, 2025: "Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 13, 2025: "Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 13, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

Iowa contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Iowa. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Osceola Senior Living's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Osceola Senior Living 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 5 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Osceola Senior Living get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on April 2, 2026. The Iowa average is 6.5.
Has Osceola Senior Living been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Osceola Senior Living accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Osceola Senior Living?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection