Find a nursing home

Home / Tennessee / Linden

Perry County Nursing Home

127 E Brooklyn Avenue, Linden, TN 37096 · Perry County · (931) 589-2134

114 certified beds, about 86 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2011

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
1 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 445503 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 8, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the Tennessee average is 4.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 22 health citations since August 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.48 hours per resident per day, against 3.80 across Tennessee and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.15 of those hours.

25.0% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Tennessee average 48.9%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 22 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
18D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 8, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 8, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, facility list of resident tobacco users, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to complete a smoking assessment for residents who use tobacco with each quarterly or comprehensive Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment to ensure safe smoking for 4 of 5 (Resident # 16, #25, #37, and #65) residents sampled for smoking assessments.
December 12, 2024Standard inspection · 10 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure food was properly stored under sanitary conditions. In the kitchen, the vent hood was observed soiled, and 3 of 3 (West Hall, North Hall, and East Hall) nutrition refrigerators contained dead pests, opened, undated, unlabeled, and expired food items, and no thermometer.
  2. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure practices to prevent the potential spread of infection were maintained when 1 of 1 (Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) C) staff members was observed administering perineal care without the use of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE), when 1 of 1 (CNA B) staff members walked down the hall adorned in PPE, and when 1 of 1 (Wound Nurse) staff members failed to use hand hygiene during wound care.
  3. D
    Give residents a notice of rights, rules, services and charges.
    F572 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, review of meeting minutes, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure resident rights were reviewed during resident council meeting for 5 of 10 residents (Resident #10, #36, #38, #41, and #50) in attendance during resident council meeting.
  4. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to report an allegation of resident to resident abuse for 2 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #18 and #32) reviewed for abuse.
  5. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to investigate an allegation of resident to resident abuse for 2 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #18 and #32) reviewed for abuse.
  6. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on Center's for Medicare Services (CMS) Pressure Ulcer/Injury Coding Stages, policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure staff failed to correctly identify and stage a pressure ulcer and failed to notify patient representative for changes for 1 of 3 (Resident #53) sampled residents reviewed for pressure ulcers.
  7. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from accident hazards when sharps and hazardous personal items were found in 2 of 54 (Resident #19 and #56) resident occupied rooms and when in 1 of 3 (East Hall Shower Room) Shower Rooms was found unsecured and unattended with sharps and hazardous items.
  8. D
    Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
    F693 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to provide care and services for residents with a percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy (PEG) tube (tube inserted into the stomach to administer medications, supplements and liquid food) when staff failed to ensure the enteral feedings and the flush solutions were properly labeled for 2 of 2 (Resident #51 and #59) sampled residents reviewed for enteral feedings.
  9. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to follow physician orders for the use of oxygen and failed to ensure oxygen concentrators were clean for 2 of 2 (Resident #29 and #40) sampled residents reviewed for oxygen use.
  10. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure medications were properly stored and secured when 1 of 3 (Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN) F) nurses observed during medication administration left medications unsecured and unattended and during a random observation medications were found unsecured and unattended in 1 of 54 (Resident #56) resident occupied bathrooms.
August 1, 2023Standard inspection · 11 citations
  1. J
    Provide basic life support, including CPR, prior to the arrival of emergency medical personnel , subject to physician orders and the resident’s advance directives.
    F678 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, review of the American Heart Association Provider Manual, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to initiate and provide Basic Life Support (BLS)/Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) for 1 of 3 sampled residents (Resident #84) reviewed in accordance with the professional standards of care related to basic life support for healthcare providers. Resident #84 was found lying on the bed unresponsive, not breathing, and was a full code [if a person's heart stopped beating and /or they stopped breathing, all resuscitation procedures will be provided to keep them alive]. The facility failed to immediately initiate CPR according to the professional standard of practice. The facility's failure to immediately provide basic life support for Resident #84 resulted in Immediate Jeopardy (IJ). [...]
  2. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure food was stored, prepared, and served under sanitary conditions when the kitchen equipment and environment was not maintained in sanitary conditions, and when opened and undated food was observed in the cooler and refrigerator. The facility served 77 resident lunch meal trays on 7/24/2023 and 78 resident dinner meal trays on 7/25/2023.
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to maintain or enhance the resident's dignity and respect during dining when 2 of 20 staff members (Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #2 and #5) stood to assist Resident #36 with meals.
  4. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, facility investigation review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to report an allegation of abuse for 2 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #31 and #45) reviewed for abuse.
  5. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0 Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual v 1.17.1, October 2019, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to accurately assess residents for medications, diagnoses, bowel incontinence, and hospice for 4 of 20 (Resident #43, #48, #58, and #74) sampled residents reviewed for accuracy of Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments.
  6. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) User Guide for Medicaid Certified Nursing Facilities, policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to resubmit a PASRR after the resident had the addition of a new mental health diagnosis for 2 of 2 (Resident #4 and #45) sampled residents reviewed for PASRR.
  7. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to revise care plans for 3 of 20 (Resident #45, #74 and #84) sampled residents reviewed for care planning.
  8. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, wound protocol, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to follow physician's orders for wound/skin care as prescribed for 2 of 20 (Resident #48 and #84) sampled residents.
  9. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, facility SKIN/WOUND MANAGEMENT protocol review, medical record review, observation, and interview the facility failed to provide pressure ulcer treatments for 1 of 2 residents (Resident #4) reviewed for pressure ulcers.
  10. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to provide the necessary respiratory care and services when the facility failed to obtain a Physician's order for oxygen, and the oxygen tubing was lying on the floor for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #74) reviewed for oxygen therapy.
  11. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 23, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure medications were properly stored and secured when externals and internals (Internal use only and External use only) were stored together in 1 of 6 (West Medication Room) medication storage areas.

Fire safety inspections

27 fire safety citations on file: 13 on April 8, 2026, 3 on December 12, 2024, 11 on August 1, 2023.

Every fire safety citation27 citations
  1. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. D
    Have restrictions on the use of portable space heaters.
    K 781 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · April 8, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · December 12, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · December 12, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · December 12, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. D
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  22. D
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  23. D
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  24. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  25. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  26. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  27. D
    Ensure precautions for handling oxygen cylinders and equipment are correctly followed.
    K 929 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.483.803.86
Registered nurses0.150.600.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.003.313.42
Nurse aides2.21
Licensed practical nurses1.12
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)25.0%48.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.2%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.43 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.68 on weekdays and 3.00 on weekends, 18% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.3% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.94 in April to June 2025 to 3.48 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.480.153.683.00 0.3%0 of 9086
Oct to Dec 20253.750.153.933.30 0.2%0 of 9283
Jul to Sep 20253.880.244.083.35 0.1%0 of 9280
Apr to Jun 20253.940.234.153.40 0.3%0 of 9178
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Tennessee, Jan to Mar 20263.750.563.953.274.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.114.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.30.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.71.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.33.43.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
25.917.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.55.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
25.116.915.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
22.122.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
18.711.212.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.41.71.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.01.61.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: BUFFALO RIVER HEALTHCARE LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Hinson, Brent5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual11/10/2010
Hinson, BrentW-2 managing employeeIndividual11/10/2010
Hinson, BrentCorporate directorIndividual11/10/2010

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 9 problems in this area, most recently on April 8, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on December 12, 2024: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on August 1, 2023: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on December 12, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.00 hours per resident per day, below the Tennessee average of 3.31.

Other nursing homes nearby

Tennessee contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Tennessee. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Perry County Nursing Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Perry County Nursing Home 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 1 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Perry County Nursing Home get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on April 8, 2026. The Tennessee average is 4.4.
Has Perry County Nursing Home been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Perry County Nursing Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Perry County Nursing Home?
CMS lists 3 owners and managers. Legal business name: BUFFALO RIVER HEALTHCARE LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection