Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Pierz

Pierz Villa Inc

119 Faust Street Southeast, Pierz, MN 56364 · Morrison County · (320) 468-6405

45 certified beds, about 39 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1985

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245286 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 29, 2026, inspectors cited 4 health deficiencies (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 8 health citations since March 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.30 hours per resident per day, against 4.19 across Minnesota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.76 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 8 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
1E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 23, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · deficient, provider has September 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to ensure the Minimum Data Set (MDS) was accurately coded to reflect facility acquired pressure ulcers for 1 of 1 resident (R3) reviewed with a pressure ulcer.
January 29, 2026Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 2 ice dispensers for resident use were maintained in a clean and sanitary manner. This had the potential to affect all residents residing at the facility.
  2. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure a self administration of medications (SAM) assessment was completed for 1 of 1 resident (R45) who had a physician order for a nebulizer.
  3. D
    Properly hold, secure, and manage each resident's personal money which is deposited with the nursing home.
    F568 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure resident trust account statements were provided on at least a quarterly basis for 1 of 1 residents (R34) reviewed for personal fund accounts.
  4. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure the skilled nursing facility Advanced Beneficiary Notice (SNFABN-10055) was provided to 1 or 3 residents (R59) reviewed for Beneficiary notifications.
December 13, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 7, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to comprehensively assess or re-assess and, if needed, develop interventions to promote safety and reduce the risk of injury or impairments for 1 of 2 residents (R40) reviewed for assessments.
March 19, 2024Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on document review and interview, the facility failed to submit complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data, during 1 of 1 quarter reviewed (Quarter 1), to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), according to specifications established by CMS.
  2. E
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure 4 of 5 residents (R20, R25, R29, R34) were appropriately vaccinated against pneumococcal disease upon admission and/or offer updated vaccination per Centers for Disease Control (CDC) vaccination recommendations. This had the ability to affect all 43 residents.

Fire safety inspections

7 fire safety citations on file: 2 on January 29, 2026, 3 on December 13, 2024, 2 on March 19, 2024.

Every fire safety citation7 citations
  1. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · January 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · January 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · December 13, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · December 13, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · December 13, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · March 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · March 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.304.193.86
Registered nurses0.761.060.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.693.713.42
Nurse aides3.13
Licensed practical nurses0.41
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.14 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.54 on weekdays and 3.69 on weekends, 19% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 12.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.03 in July to September 2025 to 4.30 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.300.764.543.69 12.1%0 of 9039
Oct to Dec 20253.500.753.762.82 25.1%0 of 9240
Jul to Sep 20254.030.764.303.33 15.1%0 of 9239
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Jan to Mar 20264.191.054.383.735.2%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.018.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.51.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.52.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.04.03.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.31.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.420.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.75.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.017.115.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
17.623.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
17.114.812.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: PIERZ VILLA, INC..

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Gr Partner Companies, Inc5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%01/01/2018
Gruber, Kari5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual25%01/01/2018
Gruber, Nathan5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual25%01/01/2018
Rocheleau, Dean5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual25%01/01/2018
Rocheleau, Paula5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual25%01/01/2018
Gruber, KariManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2009
Rocheleau, PaulaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/01/2017
Gruber, KariCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2009
Rocheleau, PaulaCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2009
Partners Senior Living Options LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization12/01/2017
McKenzie, ShannonOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/01/2020
Rocheleau, KimberlyOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/01/2021
Watkins, DouglasOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2023
Gr Partner Companies, IncAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2018
Partners Senior Living Options LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization04/02/2025
Alvarado, MeganAdp of the SNFIndividual11/01/2024
McKenzie, ShannonAdp of the SNFIndividual06/01/2020
Rocheleau, KimberlyAdp of the SNFIndividual06/01/2021
Rocheleau, PaulaAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2018
Watkins, DouglasAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2023

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on January 29, 2026: "Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 23, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 29, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on December 13, 2024: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.69 hours per resident per day, below the Minnesota average of 3.71.

Other nursing homes nearby

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Pierz Villa Inc's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Pierz Villa Inc 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Pierz Villa Inc get at its last inspection?
4 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 29, 2026. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has Pierz Villa Inc been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Pierz Villa Inc accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Pierz Villa Inc?
CMS lists 20 owners and managers. Legal business name: PIERZ VILLA, INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection