Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Onamia

Cura of Onamia

200 North Elm Street, Onamia, MN 56359 · Mille Lacs County · (320) 738-3800

57 certified beds, about 38 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1967

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245127 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 23, 2026, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 15 health citations since January 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.57 hours per resident per day, against 4.19 across Minnesota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.35 of those hours.

CMS links it to Cura, an affiliated group of 8 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 15 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
9D
1E
5F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 23, 2026Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. F
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure resident medications were properly labeled with either an expiration date or beyond use date to ensure expired medications were not administered to residents. This deficient practice had the potential to impact all residents who received medications at the facility.
  2. F
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure medication injectable supplies were removed from active stock once expired. In addition, the facility failed to ensure medications were properly labeled with either an expiration date or beyond use date. These deficient practices had the potential to impact all residents who received medications at the facility.
  3. F
    Ensure meals and snacks are served at times in accordance with resident’s needs, preferences, and requests. Suitable and nourishing alternative meals and snacks must be provided for residents who want to eat at non-traditional times or outside of scheduled meal times.
    F809 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 17, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents were offered a substantial snack when there were more than 14 hours between the dinner and breakfast meals. This had the ability to affect all 35 residents who resided in the facility.
  4. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 17, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to track and monitor residents and staff with symptoms of possible illness to prevent a possible outbreak. This could affect all residents and visitors in the facility.
  5. E
    Assure the security of all personal funds of residents deposited with the facility.
    F570 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure resident personal fund accounts were insured with adequate surety bond coverage to cover the total account balance. This had the potential to affect all 34 residents who had personal funds in the facility's trust account.
February 5, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to assess and monitor bruising for 1 of 1 residents (R9) reviewed for impaired skin integrity.
  2. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased of observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure physician prescribed medications are reviewed and monitored, for interactions between other prescribed medications, for 1 of 12 residents (R9) in the resident sample reviewed.
November 27, 2024Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure an injury of unknown origin was reported immediately and/or within 2 hours, to the State Agency (SA) and administrator for 1 of 1 residents (R1).
  2. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure a thorough investigation was completed for an injury of unknown to ensure abuse had not occurred for 1 of 1 residents (R1) reviewed.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure bruising was monitored for changes until resolved for 1 of 3 residents (R1) reviewed.
February 8, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review the facility failed to ensure process's were followed for safe lift transfers for 1 of 6 residents (R1) reviewed for safety with mechanical stand transfers.
January 26, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 14, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure a physician ordered medication was acquired timely from the pharmacy to prevent delay in administration and reduce the risk of complications for 1 of 1 residents (R1). This resulted in R1's anticoagulant (blood clot prevention) medication being omitted for six consecutive days. In addition, the facility failed to ensure procedures were implemented and followed to ensure sufficient medication supplies, timely medication re-ordering, after hours on-call pharmacy use, and appropriate action(s) taken when a medication was not available for administration.
January 9, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to submit accurate and/or complete data for staffing information based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data during 1 of 1 quarter reviewed (Quarter 4), to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), according to specifications established by CMS.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to routinely provide and document range of motion (ROM) exercises to maintain and prevent decline in current physical functioning for 1 of 1 resident (R18) reviewed for restorative therapies.
  3. D
    Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
    F699 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to assess for and identify past trauma (PTSD) for 1 of 1 resident (R8) who had a history of multiple past traumatic experiences.

Fire safety inspections

4 fire safety citations on file: 1 on April 23, 2026, 2 on February 5, 2025, 1 on January 9, 2024.

Every fire safety citation4 citations
  1. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 23, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · February 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · February 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · January 9, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.574.193.86
Registered nurses1.351.060.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.973.713.42
Nurse aides1.71
Licensed practical nurses0.50
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.35 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.81 on weekdays and 2.97 on weekends, 22% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.84 in April to June 2025 to 3.57 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.571.353.812.97 0.0%0 of 9038
Oct to Dec 20253.921.104.183.26 0.0%0 of 9240
Jul to Sep 20253.871.124.063.38 0.0%0 of 9238
Apr to Jun 20254.841.415.154.07 21.0%0 of 9137
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Jan to Mar 20264.191.054.383.735.2%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.818.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.11.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.12.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.04.03.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.020.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.95.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.517.115.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: CURA OF ONAMIA LLC. CMS links this home to Cura, a group of 8 nursing homes averaging 2.5 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Cura5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%07/22/2025
Dirkes, MarkManaging control - governing bodyIndividual07/22/2025
Knutson, AndrewManaging control - governing bodyIndividual07/22/2025
Opatz, TomManaging control - governing bodyIndividual07/22/2025
Struzyk, FredManaging control - governing bodyIndividual07/22/2025
Burr, DennisCorporate directorIndividual07/23/2025
Dubbs, RobertCorporate directorIndividual07/23/2025
Gravel, LouisCorporate directorIndividual07/23/2025
Hass, AnthonyCorporate directorIndividual07/23/2025
Struzyk, FredCorporate directorIndividual07/23/2025
Virnig, ArdenCorporate directorIndividual07/23/2025
Tf Management LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/22/2025
Anderson, KaylaOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/24/2025
Bracken, ThomasOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/01/2025
Dolinsky, MichaelOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/24/2025
Mille Lacs Health SystemAdp of the SNFOrganization07/22/2002
Tf Management LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization10/02/2025
Bracken, ThomasAdp of the SNFIndividual09/26/2025
Dolinsky, MichaelAdp of the SNFIndividual09/26/2025
Struzyk, FredAdp of the SNFIndividual07/22/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on February 5, 2025: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on April 23, 2026: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on November 27, 2024: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 23, 2026: "Ensure meals and snacks are served at times in accordance with resident’s needs, preferences, and requests. Suitable and nourishing alternative meals and snacks must be provided for residents who want to eat at non-traditional times or outside of scheduled meal times."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.97 hours per resident per day, below the Minnesota average of 3.71.

Other nursing homes nearby

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Cura of Onamia's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Cura of Onamia 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Cura of Onamia get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 23, 2026. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has Cura of Onamia been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Cura of Onamia accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Cura of Onamia?
CMS lists 20 owners and managers, and links the home to Cura. Legal business name: CURA OF ONAMIA LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection