Find a nursing home

Home / Kansas / Plainville

Redbud Village

1000 S Washington Street, Plainville, KS 67663 · Rooks County · (785) 434-4536

34 certified beds, about 32 residents a day · Non profit - Other · Medicare and Medicaid since 2025

CMS abuse icon: cited for abuse in a recent inspection Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
Not rated
CMS note: Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Health inspections
Not rated
CMS note: Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Quality measures
Not rated
CMS note: Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 175571 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 12, 2025, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Kansas average is 9.5, the national average 9.2).

Of 5 health citations since March 2025, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 2 fines totaling $24,779 in the last three years; the largest was $14,015, and the latest is dated March 23, 2026.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.73 hours per resident per day, against 4.07 across Kansas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.54 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 5 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
2G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
2D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 23, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. G
    Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
    F602 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteThe facility identified a census of 33 residents, with 15 residents reviewed for misappropriation of property through diversion. Based on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to prevent misappropriation of medications for 15 cognitively impaired residents including some controlled substances, which resulted in missed medications for the affected residents.
January 26, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2026
    Inspectors wroteThe facility identified a census of 33 residents, with three residents reviewed for falls and supervision. Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide the care planned supervision for cognitively impaired Resident (R) 1 (who had a history of falls, dizziness, and weakness) to prevent a fall with major injury. On 01/08/26 at 08:57 PM, Licensed Nurse (LN) G assisted R1 to the north patio smoking area, placed a smoking apron on R1, and lit R1's cigarette. LN G left R1 outside on the patio and went back inside the facility, which left R1 without direct supervision. While inside, LN G stepped away for a moment and heard R1 yell for help at 09:05 PM. LN G went outside and discovered R1 on the ground on his left side. R1 required emergency medical transport to a local hospital and surgery to repair his broken left hip.
March 12, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to disinfect a glucometer (blood sugar reading machine) between resident use and sort soiled laundry in a sanitary manner. This placed the residents at risk for infectious disease processes.
  2. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to meet professional standards of quality when administering insulin (a hormone that lowers the level of glucose in the blood) with an insulin pen (an injection device used to deliver preloaded insulin). This placed the seven residents who received insulin at risk of receiving an inaccurate dose.
  3. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteThe facility had a census of 31 residents. The sample included 12 residents, with five residents reviewed for immunizations. Residents (R) 11 and R13 lacked the pneumococcal vaccination (helps protect against serious illnesses like pneumonia). Based on record review, and interview, the facility failed to follow the latest guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to administer a pneumococcal vaccine following written consent. This deficient practice placed the R11 and R13 at risk of acquiring, spreading, and experiencing complications from the pneumococcal disease.

Fire safety inspections

8 fire safety citations on file: 8 on March 12, 2025.

Every fire safety citation8 citations
  1. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · March 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · March 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · March 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · March 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · March 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · March 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
March 23, 2026Fine $14,015
January 26, 2026Fine $10,764

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeKansasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.734.073.86
Registered nurses0.540.710.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.503.603.42
Nurse aides2.39
Licensed practical nurses0.80
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.0%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.08 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.82 on weekdays and 3.50 on weekends, 8% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.94 in July to September 2025 to 3.73 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.730.543.823.50 0.0%0 of 9032
Jul to Sep 20254.940.545.164.38 0.0%0 of 9226
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Kansas, Jan to Mar 20264.010.674.193.564.8%0.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeKansasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.117.913.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.11.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.82.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.44.33.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.416.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.34.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
28.418.115.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.31.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.52.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ROOKS COUNTY SENIOR SERVICES INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Rooks County Senior Services Inc5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%05/17/2006
Comeau, CharlesCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2022
Gish, CatherineCorporate directorIndividual06/01/2021
Keas, MattCorporate directorIndividual06/01/2021
Ruder, JohnCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2009
Sanchez, DanielCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2021
Whitney, MattCorporate directorIndividual02/01/2024
Hrabe, LeasaCorporate officerIndividual05/17/2006
Hrabe, RussellCorporate officerIndividual05/17/2024
Ap Management of Ks LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization11/03/2021
Lumina Rural Senior Living Management Inc.Operational/managerial controlOrganization05/01/2025
Rooks County Senior Services IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/15/2021
Hrabe, RussellOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/17/2024
Rooks County Senior Services IncGeneral partnership interestOrganization10/15/2021

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 12, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 23, 2026: "Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 26, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 12, 2025: "Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.50 hours per resident per day, below the Kansas average of 3.60.

Other nursing homes nearby

Common questions

What is Redbud Village's Medicare star rating?
CMS does not give Redbud Village an overall star rating in the data as of September 1, 2026.
How many deficiencies did Redbud Village get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 12, 2025. The Kansas average is 9.5.
Has Redbud Village been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 2 fines totaling $24,779 in the last three years.
Does Redbud Village accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Redbud Village?
CMS lists 14 owners and managers. Legal business name: ROOKS COUNTY SENIOR SERVICES INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection