Find a nursing home

Home / Colorado / Julesburg

Sedgwick County Memorial Nursing Home

901 Cedar St., Julesburg, CO 80737 · Sedgwick County · (970) 463-6229

32 certified beds, about 21 residents a day · Government - County · Medicaid since 1991

Certified for Medicaid
Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: This facility reported a high number of days without a registered nurse onsite.
Quality measures
1 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 06A173 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on September 10, 2025, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the Colorado average is 8.7, the national average 9.2).

Of 15 health citations since August 2022, 3 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.43 hours per resident per day, against 3.72 across Colorado and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.58 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 15 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
3G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
4E
4F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
September 10, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 6 citations
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure one (#7) of four residents reviewed for accidents out of 18 sample residents remained free of accidents. Resident #7, who was identified as a high fall risk, sustained a fall on 2/27/25 resulting in bruising to her forehead. The facility failed to review the resident's care plan after the fall to determine if the resident's fall interventions were effective or if new interventions were needed to prevent further falls. Additionally, documentation failed to indicate the resident was assessed by a registered nurse (RN) following the fall. On 5/31/25, Resident #7 sustained another fall which resulted in a hospitalization for a hip fracture. Again, documentation failed to indicate the resident was assessed by a RN following the fall. [...]
  2. F
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to use the services of a registered nurse (RN) for at least eight consecutive hours a day, seven days a week. Specifically, the facility failed to use the services of a RN for at least eight consecutive hours a day for seven days a week.
  3. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to provide nursing services according to accepted professional standards of clinical practice for two (#17 and #18) out of 18 residents reviewed out of 18 sample residents. Specifically, the facility: -Failed to transcribe physician's orders into the electronic medical record (EMR) correctly for Resident #17 and Resident #18; and,-Failed to notify a provider when Resident #17 had a change in condition and obtain a physician's order to hold a routinely scheduled medication
  4. D
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure that residents were free from significant medication errors for one (#17) of one resident reviewed for significant medication errors out of 18 sample residents. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure that Resident #17 was administered the correct dose of insulin by properly priming the insulin pen before insulin administration.
  5. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure proper storage of medications in one of one medication carts and one of one medication storage rooms. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Ensure medications were labeled with the date they were opened; and,-Ensure expired medications were removed and discarded from medication carts.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review and interviews the facility failed to maintain an infection control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for one of one units. Specifically the facility failed to:-Ensure an effective process to identify residents who required enhanced barrier precautions (EBP); -Ensure staff were aware of which residents required EBP; -Ensure staff donned (put on) appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE) when providing direct care to residents who required EBP; and,-Ensure staff sanitized the rubber stop on an insulin pen before administering to Resident #17.
December 13, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Keep all essential equipment working safely.
    F908 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interviews, the facility failed to maintain the emergency response cart and equipment in safe operating condition for one of one emergency response (crash) cart. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Ensure staff completed the daily equipment checks; -Ensure expired items were removed from the crash cart; and, -Ensure emergency oxygen canister on the emergency response cart was maintained and ready for use.
  2. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interviews, the facility failed to ensure infection control practices were established and maintained to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the possible development and transmission of Coronavirus (COVID-19) on one of one unit. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Ensure staff wore and removed personal protective equipment (PPE) correctly; and, -Ensure infection control practices were followed during medication pass.
August 31, 2022Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. G
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on resident observation, record review, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure residents received care consistent with professional standards of practice to prevent pressure injuries for one (#12) of one resident with a pressure ulcer out of 15 sample residents. Resident #12, who was totally dependent on the assistance of two staff members for bed mobility, transfers, dressing, and toilet use, was known to be at risk for skin impairment due to her immobility, poor nutrition, and diagnosis of diabetes. The resident developed a pressure injury to the left heel on 3/23/22. The facility initially classified the pressure injury as a stage 2 pressure injury, despite documentation indicating the wound was covered by eschar (dead/necrotic tissue) which would classify the wound as an unstageable pressure injury as indicated by staff interviews. [...]
  2. G
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, and interviews; the facility failed to maintain acceptable parameters of nutritional status for one (#12) of four residents reviewed for nutrition out of 15 sample residents. The facility failed to identify and implement appropriate interventions to prevent a significant weight loss for Resident #12. On 2/20/22, the resident weighed 165.4 pounds (lbs). On 8/14/22, the resident weighed 144.1 lbs, which was a loss of 21.3 pounds in six months. During the six month time frame, the facility failed to reassess Resident #12's nutritional supplement for effectiveness, despite nutrition assessments which indicated the resident was malnourished. The facility's failure to reassess Resident #12's nutritional status resulted in the resident sustaining a significant weight loss of 12.88% in six months. [...]
  3. F
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, the facility failed to designate a registered nurse (RN) to serve as the director of nursing (DON) on a full time basis. Specifically, the facility utilized the nursing home administrator (NHA) to also serve as the DON and she was unable to work full time hours as the DON. Cross-reference F686 for the facility's failure to monitor and prevent pressure ulcers.
  4. F
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    F801 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, the facility failed to employ a director of food and nutrition services with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service for 23 census residents. Specifically, the facility utilized the nursing home administrator (NHA) to also serve as the dietary manager (DM) and she was unable to work full time hours as the DM. Cross-reference F692 for the facility's failure to monitor and prevent significant weight loss.
  5. E
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure residents were as free from unnecessary psychotropic drugs as possible for three (#6, #8 and #14) of six residents out of 15 sample residents. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Provide documentation that a risk versus benefit statement to justify the resident's continual use of the medications was provided to the resident and/or the resident's representative for Resident #6, Resident #8, and Resident #14; -Attempt a gradual dose reduction (GDR) of an antipsychotic medication for a resident with dementia for Resident #6 and Resident #8; and, -Appropriately assess Resident #14's need for the use of an antipsychotic medication for a diagnosis of nausea.
  6. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interviews, the facility failed to maintain an infection control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment to help prevent the development and transmission of disease and infection, including COVID-19 for two of two rooms. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Ensure housekeeping staff followed proper hand hygiene protocols when cleaning resident rooms; -Ensure proper room cleaning procedures were followed; -Ensure spray bottles were properly labeled with the disinfectant they contained; and, -Ensure housekeeping staff adhered to the appropriate wet/contact/dwell time (the time a chemical must remain in contact on a surface in order to eradicate organisms) for disinfection.
  7. E
    Give their staff education on dementia care, and what abuse, neglect, and exploitation are; and how to report abuse, neglect, and exploitation.
    F943 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure all staff had current abuse and dementia care training. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure five out of five licensed nurses and CNAs reviewed within the previous year received dementia management training and abuse prevention training.

Fire safety inspections

1 fire safety citation on file: 1 on September 10, 2025.

Every fire safety citation1 citation
  1. F
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · September 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
September 10, 2025Payment Denial 28 days from October 9, 2025

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeColoradoUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.433.723.86
Registered nurses0.580.820.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.963.293.42
Nurse aides2.97
Licensed practical nurses0.88
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported47.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported44.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.18 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.62 on weekdays and 3.96 on weekends, 14% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 8.7% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 6.81 in July to September 2025 to 4.43 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.430.584.623.96 8.7%15 of 9021
Oct to Dec 20255.140.645.384.53 3.7%12 of 9219
Jul to Sep 20256.810.527.106.08 11.6%24 of 9214
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Colorado, Jan to Mar 20263.590.763.753.185.9%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeColoradoUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
48.113.413.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.30.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.43.43.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.013.314.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.23.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.620.015.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.01.41.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
8.81.71.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on September 10, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on September 10, 2025: "Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on September 10, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on September 10, 2025: "Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis."

Colorado contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Colorado. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Sedgwick County Memorial Nursing Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Sedgwick County Memorial Nursing Home 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 1 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Sedgwick County Memorial Nursing Home get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on September 10, 2025. The Colorado average is 8.7.
Has Sedgwick County Memorial Nursing Home been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Sedgwick County Memorial Nursing Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Sedgwick County Memorial Nursing Home?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection