Find a nursing home

Home / Tennessee / Etowah

Starr Regional Health & Rehabilitation

886 Hwy 411 North, Etowah, TN 37331 · Mc Minn County · (423) 263-3646

88 certified beds, about 55 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1992

CMS high performing icon Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 445277 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 14, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the Tennessee average is 4.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 11 health citations since June 2021 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists 2 fines totaling $8,697 in the last three years; the largest was $4,680, and the latest is dated February 6, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.98 hours per resident per day, against 3.80 across Tennessee and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.83 of those hours.

CMS links it to Lifepoint Health, an affiliated group of 8 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
9D
1E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
January 14, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 11, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to maintain infection control by storing oral hygiene equipment in an unsanitary manner for 2 residents (Residents #52 and #31), failed to use proper Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) for Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) for 1 resident (Resident #51), and failed to administer medications in a sanitary manner for 1 resident (Resident #6) of 54 residents reviewed in the facility.
February 6, 2024Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, Quarterly Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) and interview, the facility failed to report PBJ for Quarter 4 2023 (July 1- September 30).
  2. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to accurately complete a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for 1 resident (#46) of 27 residents reviewed.
  3. D
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    F645 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure a level I PASSAR [Preadmission screening and resident review]was submitted for 1 resident (#25) of 5 residents reviewed for PASSAR.
  4. D
    Notify the appropriate authorities when residents with MD or ID services has a significant change in condition.
    F646 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to update a Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR) after a new mental health diagnosis (Anxiety) was added for 1 resident (Resident #40) of 5 residents reviewed for PASARR.
  5. D
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observation and interview, the facility failed to post daily staffing information.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 4, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure proper infection control practices during the medication administration for 1 resident (#50) of 3 residents reviewed for medication administration.
June 23, 2021Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 16, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, review of manufacture instructions, and interview the facility failed to maintain the dishwasher in the manufacture parameters for low temperature machine parameters affecting 61 of 65 residents.
  2. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 16, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to accurately complete a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for 1 resident (Resident #20) of 24 sampled residents.
  3. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 16, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to accurately update a care plan for 1 resident (Resident #20) of 24 sampled residents.
  4. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 16, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure expired medications were not available for resident use for 4 residents (Resident #6, Resident #56, Resident #48, Resident #20) of 65 residents reviewed.

Fire safety inspections

3 fire safety citations on file: 2 on January 14, 2026, 1 on February 6, 2024.

Every fire safety citation3 citations
  1. D
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · January 14, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · January 14, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · February 6, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
February 6, 2024Fine $4,017
February 6, 2024Fine $4,680

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.983.803.86
Registered nurses0.830.600.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.273.313.42
Nurse aides1.97
Licensed practical nurses1.18
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.2%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.45 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.26 on weekdays and 3.27 on weekends, 23% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.94 in April to June 2025 to 3.98 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.980.834.263.27 0.0%1 of 9055
Oct to Dec 20253.850.954.173.06 0.0%1 of 9258
Jul to Sep 20253.580.823.783.06 2.1%0 of 9259
Apr to Jun 20253.940.904.173.34 2.3%0 of 9158
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Tennessee, Jan to Mar 20263.750.563.953.274.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.114.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.31.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.83.43.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.71.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.817.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.35.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.616.915.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
12.022.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.211.212.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.11.71.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.11.61.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ATHENS REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER LLC. CMS links this home to Lifepoint Health, a group of 8 nursing homes averaging 4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Lifepoint Holdings 2 LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%12/01/2013
Historic Lifepoint Hospitals, LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization12/01/2013
Legacy Lifepoint Health LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization12/01/2013
Lifepoint Hospitals Holdings LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization12/01/2013
Dsb Acquisition LLCIndirect ownership interestOrganization11/16/2018
Lifepoint Health IncIndirect ownership interestOrganization11/16/2018
Davis, DanielCorporate officerIndividual06/24/2019
Grooms, JohnCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2016
Haugh, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual01/25/2022
Lawrence, CharlotteCorporate officerIndividual01/21/2022
Monte, ChristopherCorporate officerIndividual06/26/2006
Poppell, MarcusCorporate officerIndividual11/02/2009
Lifepoint Corporate Services General PartnershipOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2015
Coe, SharonOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/09/1995
Hudgins, CrystalOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/15/2008
Lapinski, EvanOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/20/2024
Masengil, ElizabethOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/10/2022
McLain, JohnOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/01/2019
Mills, EmilyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/08/2016
Roberts, PatriciaOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/18/2017
Stutts, WallaceOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/04/2018
Watson, GeorgetteOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/14/2022
Wilson, ShelbyOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/14/2020
Lifepoint Corporate Services General PartnershipAdp of the SNFOrganization06/17/2025
Lifepoint Health IncAdp of the SNFOrganization06/17/2025
Coe, SharonAdp of the SNFIndividual12/09/1995
Cook, BrittanyAdp of the SNFIndividual06/24/2024
Hudgins, CrystalAdp of the SNFIndividual05/15/2008
Lapinski, EvanAdp of the SNFIndividual05/20/2024
Masengil, ElizabethAdp of the SNFIndividual10/10/2022
McLain, JohnAdp of the SNFIndividual09/15/2025
Mills, EmilyAdp of the SNFIndividual08/08/2016
Olsen, SamuelAdp of the SNFIndividual07/14/2025
Roberts, PatriciaAdp of the SNFIndividual01/18/2017
Stutts, WallaceAdp of the SNFIndividual09/04/2018
Watson, GeorgetteAdp of the SNFIndividual02/14/2022
Wilson, ShelbyAdp of the SNFIndividual09/14/2020

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on February 6, 2024: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 14, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 6, 2024: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."
  4. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 6, 2024: "Post nurse staffing information every day."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.27 hours per resident per day, below the Tennessee average of 3.31.

Other nursing homes nearby

Tennessee contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Tennessee. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Starr Regional Health & Rehabilitation's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Starr Regional Health & Rehabilitation 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Starr Regional Health & Rehabilitation get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on January 14, 2026. The Tennessee average is 4.4.
Has Starr Regional Health & Rehabilitation been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 2 fines totaling $8,697 in the last three years.
Does Starr Regional Health & Rehabilitation accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Starr Regional Health & Rehabilitation?
CMS lists 37 owners and managers, and links the home to Lifepoint Health. Legal business name: ATHENS REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection