Find a nursing home

Home / Iowa / Dubuque

Stonehill Care Center

3485 Windsor Avenue, Dubuque, IA 52001 · Dubuque County · (563) 557-7180

185 certified beds, about 157 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2002

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 165471 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on August 7, 2025, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Iowa average is 6.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 4 health citations since June 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.31 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Iowa and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.93 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 4 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
3D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
August 7, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, clinical record review, staff interview, and facility policy review the facility failed to properly clean glucometers for 4 out of 4 residents reviewed for blood glucose monitoring (Resident #90, Resident #144, Resident #174, Resident #175). The facility failed to utilize enhanced barrier precautions for 2 out of 3 residents with a gastrostomy tube (Resident #35, Resident #90). The facility identified a census of 158 residents.
  2. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, clinical record review, and staff interview the facility failed to properly administer insulin from a Kwik pen for 2 out of 2 residents reviewed (Resident #174, Resident #175), resulting in a facility medication error rate of 8%. The facility identified a census of 158 residents.
August 8, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations
June 8, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 27, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, family and staff interviews, and facility policy review the facility failed to follow the care plan which directed the staff to follow the resident with a wheelchair during staff assisted ambulation which resulted in a fall with minor injuries for 1 of 3 residents' sample for fall care plans (Resident #217). The facility identified a census of 156 residents.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 27, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, family and staff interviews, resident images and facililty policy review the facility failed to provide adequate supervision when an aide left a resident that required staff assistance standing in the hallway with his walker unassisted while she went back to his room to get his wheelchair, resulting in a fall with minor injury for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #217). The facility identified a census of 156 residents.

Fire safety inspections

14 fire safety citations on file: 1 on August 7, 2025, 5 on August 8, 2024, 8 on June 8, 2023.

Every fire safety citation14 citations
  1. E
    Have restrictions on the use of highly flammable decorations.
    K 753 · August 7, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 8, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Follow proper procedures when the automatic sprinkler systems was out of service for more than 10 hours.
    K 354 · August 8, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Have an alternate power supply for its alarm system.
    K 344 · August 8, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · August 8, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · August 8, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Have a complete alarm system manually initiated and initiated by fire sprinkler system connection.
    K 342 · June 8, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · June 8, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 8, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · June 8, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Meet requirements for sections of health care facilities separated by fire resistive construction.
    K 131 · June 8, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · June 8, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · June 8, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · June 8, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIowaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.313.823.86
Registered nurses0.930.740.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.883.373.42
Nurse aides3.04
Licensed practical nurses0.34
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.42 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.48 on weekdays and 3.88 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 2.80 in April to June 2025 to 4.31 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.310.934.483.88 0.0%0 of 90157
Oct to Dec 20254.390.964.534.06 0.0%0 of 92157
Jul to Sep 20253.750.863.873.45 0.0%5 of 92157
Apr to Jun 20252.800.632.922.50 0.0%30 of 91157
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Iowa, Jan to Mar 20263.800.713.983.364.7%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIowaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.617.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.71.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.62.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.83.83.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.82.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.016.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.14.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
24.619.415.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
20.820.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
8.313.212.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.41.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.02.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: STONEHILL FRANCISCAN SERVICES.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Pearce, SusanCorporate directorIndividual05/07/2021
Pearce, SusanCorporate officerIndividual05/07/2014
Stockel, PeggyCorporate officerIndividual08/01/2023
Stonehill Franciscan ServicesOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/22/1985
Jahn, MatthewOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/01/2023
Steffen, KennethOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2024
Jahn, MatthewAdp of the SNFIndividual02/05/2025
Steffen, KennethAdp of the SNFIndividual02/05/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 7, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 7, 2025: "Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 8, 2023: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 8, 2023: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Iowa contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Iowa. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Stonehill Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Stonehill Care Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Stonehill Care Center get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on August 7, 2025. The Iowa average is 6.5.
Has Stonehill Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Stonehill Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Stonehill Care Center?
CMS lists 8 owners and managers. Legal business name: STONEHILL FRANCISCAN SERVICES.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection