Find a nursing home

Home / Iowa / Asbury

Grand Meadows Senior Living & Health Care

5300 Grand Meadow Drive, Asbury, IA 52002 · Dubuque County · (563) 588-1413

32 certified beds, about 29 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2017

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 165618 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 26, 2026, inspectors cited 7 health deficiencies (the Iowa average is 6.5, the national average 9.2).

Of 20 health citations since September 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $16,448 in the last three years; the largest was $16,448, and the latest is dated April 23, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.14 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Iowa and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.46 of those hours.

CMS links it to Tutera Senior Living & Health Care, an affiliated group of 25 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 20 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
15D
3E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 26, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 7 citations
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, resident and staff interview, and facility policy review the facility failed to ensure residents had a dignified dining experience for Resident #13 and four additional residents. The facility reported a census of 29 residents. Findings Include: Review of Resident #13's Quarterly Minimum Data Set, dated [DATE] revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status score of 10 out of 15, which indicated moderate cognitive impairment. The MDS further revealed diagnosis of unspecified dementia without behavioral disturbance and Diabetes Mellitus. On 3/26/26 at approximately 6:45 AM, an observation was made of residents brought to the dining table by Staff K Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA). Five residents were observed at the table by 7:00 AM. Several residents including Resident #13 were heard repeatedly asking for something to drink. [...]
  2. D
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    F580 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff interviews and facility policy review the facility failed to notify the physician of change in resident transfer status and pain in left ankle for 1 out of 1 resident reviewed with injury of unknown origin (Resident #25). The facility identified a census of 29 residents.
  3. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, interviews, and the Medicare Claims Processing Manual the facility failed to provide a resident with form CMS-10055 (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) at the end of therapy services when the resident planned to remain in the building for one of three residents reviewed for Beneficiary Notice (Resident #20). The facility reported a census of 29 residents.
  4. D
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    F605 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interviews, and facility policy review, the facility failed to document targeted behaviors and provide non-pharmacological interventions prior to the use of an as needed antianxiety medication for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications (Resident #9). The facility reported a census of 32 residents.
  5. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, staff interviews, and facility policy review the facility failed to assess and intervene for a resident with a fall which resulted in a fracture (Resident #1) and for a major injury of unknown origin (Resident #25) for 2 out of 2 residents reviewed with injuries. The facility reported a census of 29 residents.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and staff interviews the facility failed to provide enhanced barrier precautions to prevent the spread of infections for 2 out of 4 residents ( Resident # 7) with a catheter and (Resident # 11) with an open wound. The facility identified a census of 29 residents.
  7. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff interview, and facility policy review the facility failed to screen residents for eligibility of the pneumococcal vaccine for 2 of 5 residents reviewed (Resident #7 and Resident #13). The facility reported a census of 29 residents. Findings Include: 1. The admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment tool, dated 3/2/26 revealed Resident #7 admitted to the facility on [DATE]. The MDS revealed the resident had severely impaired cognition for daily decision making. The admission MDS documented the resident received a Influenza vaccine outside the facility, was not up to date with pneumococcal vaccination, and was not offered a pneumococcal vaccine. The Immunization Consent Form for Resident #7 dated 10/24/24 documented the resident received a Covid vaccine and Influenza vaccine. There was no documentation of a pneumococcal vaccine. [...]
June 13, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, clinical record review, resident interview, staff interview, and review of the facilities Resident's Rights form revealed staff failed to treat 1 of 3 residents with dignity and respect during cares as a means to maintain their individual resident rights (Resident #3).
March 6, 2025Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, kitchen record review, interview, and policy review the facility failed to store food according to professional guidelines and to clean dishes under sanitary conditions during 1 of 2 kitchen observations. Dry storage and the refrigerator contained expired, unlabeled, and undated items. Dishwasher sanitizer logs were not maintained and the sanitizer sink did not register chemical content. The facility reported a census of 29 residents.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, staff interview, and policy review the facility failed to provide range of motion services to improve or maintain functioning in all extremities for 1 out of 1 residents reviewed (Resident #11). The facility reported a census of 29 residents.
  3. D
    Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
    F699 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, resident interview, staff interview, and record review the facility failed to provide trauma informed care for 1 of 5 residents reviewed (Resident #15). The resident arrived at the facility on 2/17/25 with diagnoses of PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder), anxiety, adjustment disorder, and depression and was not assessed for potential triggers that could cause re-traumatization. The facility reported a census of 29 residents.
  4. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, interviews, and policy review the facility failed to ensure psychotropic medications were used only to treat documented conditions for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications (Resident #25). The facility did not respond to the pharmacist's request to document resident behaviors or implement non-pharmacological interventions to help reduce anxiety. The facility reported a census of 29 residents.
April 23, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 6 citations
  1. J
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 24, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews and facility policy review the facility failed to secure and supervise access to 2 out of 2 hot steam table surfaces. This failure resulted in the ability of eight cognitively impaired and independently mobile residents to access the areas that held the steam tables, therefore causing an Immediate Jeopardy to the health, safety, and security of the residents. The State Agency informed the facility of the Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) that began as of February 15, 2024 on April 17, 2024 at 3:10 p.m. Facility staff removed the Immediate Jeopardy on April 17, 2024 through the following actions: a. The meals will be served in the Bistro common dining room. b. All meals will be served in this location until the barriers can be placed between resident care areas and the kitchen serving area where the steam tables are located. c. [...]
  2. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 24, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, policy review, and staff interview the facility failed to date opened foods, use gloves appropriately for serving meals, keep hands off the drinking surfaces of drinking glasses, keep the ice machine clean, and keep the kitchen and household kitchenettes clean in order to serve meals under sanitary conditions. The facility reported a census of 30 residents.
  3. E
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    F814 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 24, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, policy review, and staff interview the facility failed to keep garbage cans covered near food preparation surfaces to provide a sanitary cooking environment. The facility reported a census of 30 residents.
  4. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 24, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, resident and staff interview and policy review the facility failed to prevent a resident from neglect for 1 out of 1 residents who reported abuse (Resident #35). The facility reported a census of 30 residents.
  5. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 24, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, resident and staff interviews the facility failed to complete a thorough investigation of allegation of abuse to prevent further abuse. The facility reported a census of 30 residents.
  6. D
    Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.
    F865 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 24, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interviews, facility record review, and facility policy review the facility failed to ensure an effective Quality Assurance Performance Improvement (QAPI) process to address previously identified quality deficiencies, resulting in repeated deficiencies cited on the current survey and cited in previous surveys. The facility reported a census of 30 residents.
September 14, 2023Complaint inspection, Infection control · 2 citations
  1. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · infection control inspection · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 2, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to provide appropriate assessment and interventions for one of three residents reviewed. (Resident #1). The facility reported a census of 26 residents.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · infection control inspection · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 2, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, clinical record review, and staff interviews, the facility failed to appropriately supervise one of three residents to ensure their safety. (Resident #1). The facility reported a census of 26 residents.

Fire safety inspections

3 fire safety citations on file: 1 on March 26, 2026, 1 on March 6, 2025, 1 on April 23, 2024.

Every fire safety citation3 citations
  1. F
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · March 26, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · April 23, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
April 23, 2024Fine $16,448

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIowaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.143.823.86
Registered nurses1.460.740.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.173.373.42
Nurse aides3.08
Licensed practical nurses0.60
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.56 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.53 on weekdays and 4.17 on weekends, 25% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 4.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.13 in April to June 2025 to 5.14 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.141.465.534.17 4.0%0 of 9029
Oct to Dec 20254.781.265.133.90 0.0%1 of 9230
Jul to Sep 20256.411.676.765.49 7.7%0 of 9230
Apr to Jun 20255.131.325.484.28 0.0%0 of 9129
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Iowa, Jan to Mar 20263.800.713.983.364.7%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Iowa

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Iowa, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.92$17.96 to $21.9522,670
LPNs and LVNs$30.11$27.12 to $34.065,510
Registered nurses$37.80$32.83 to $41.3234,420
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIowaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.717.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.62.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.23.83.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.02.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.116.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.24.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.619.415.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
45.820.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
40.313.212.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: GRAND MEADOWS SENIOR LIVING & HEALTH CARE LLC. CMS links this home to Tutera Senior Living & Health Care, a group of 25 nursing homes averaging 2.1 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Seitera LP LLCDirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2024
Constace Marie Mendolia 2009 Irrv TrIndirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2024
Dominic Frank Tutera 2016 Irrv TrIndirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2024
Hannah Marie Tutera 2016 Irrv TrIndirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2024
Joseph Charles Tutera Jr 2016 Irrv TrIndirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2024
Laura Cirese Tutera 2016 Irrv TrIndirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2024
Mary Margaret Cunningham 2009 Irrv TrIndirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2024
Walnut Creek Management Company LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/01/2024
Bloom, RandallOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2024
Brooks, KileyOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2024
Tutera, JosephOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2024
Warren, JanetOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2024
Constace Marie Mendolia 2009 Irrv TrAdp of the SNFOrganization10/01/2024
Grand Meadows Senior Living & Health Care Property LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization09/30/2024
Mary Margaret Cunningham 2009 Irrv TrAdp of the SNFOrganization10/01/2024
Tutera Group, IncAdp of the SNFOrganization09/30/2024
Walnut Creek Management Company LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization05/07/2025
Bloom, RandallAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2024
Brooks, KileyAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2024
Jewell, SusanAdp of the SNFIndividual05/01/2025
Tutera, JosephAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2024
Warren, JanetAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on March 26, 2026: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on March 26, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 26, 2026: "Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 6, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

Iowa contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Iowa. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Grand Meadows Senior Living & Health Care's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Grand Meadows Senior Living & Health Care 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Grand Meadows Senior Living & Health Care get at its last inspection?
7 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 26, 2026. The Iowa average is 6.5.
Has Grand Meadows Senior Living & Health Care been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $16,448 in the last three years.
Does Grand Meadows Senior Living & Health Care accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Grand Meadows Senior Living & Health Care?
CMS lists 22 owners and managers, and links the home to Tutera Senior Living & Health Care. Legal business name: GRAND MEADOWS SENIOR LIVING & HEALTH CARE LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection