Find a nursing home

Home / Pennsylvania / Tunkhannock

Tunkhannock Rehabilitation & Health Care Center

27 West Street, Tunkhannock, PA 18657 · Wyoming County · (570) 996-6777

52 certified beds, about 47 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2025

CMS abuse icon: cited for abuse in a recent inspection Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 396151 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on February 20, 2026, inspectors cited 4 health deficiencies (the Pennsylvania average is 10, the national average 9.2).

Of 6 health citations since April 2025, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $12,735 in the last three years; the largest was $12,735, and the latest is dated September 16, 2025.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.36 hours per resident per day, against 3.89 across Pennsylvania and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.72 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 6 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
April 8, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical records, facility policy, investigative documentation provided by the facility, and staff interviews, the facility failed to protect one of 11 sampled residents (Resident CR1) from neglect when staff did not help a resident after a witnessed fall, leaving the resident on the floor, neglecting to immediately assess and care for the resident. This deficiency is cited as past noncompliance.
February 20, 2026Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual, clinical records, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to complete an accurate Minimum Data Set (MDS) for two of 13 residents sampled (Residents 2 and 45).
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on select facility policy, a review of clinical records, the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) manual, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to follow the care plan process after the completion of a comprehensive assessment for one out of 13 residents sampled (Resident 8).
  3. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of select facility policy, a review of clinical records, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to monitor resident weights consistently and accurately to timely identify changes in nutritional parameters and implement nutritional interventions for one resident out of 13 residents sampled (Resident 2).
  4. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of select facility policy, observations, clinical record review, and resident and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to ensure oxygen therapy was administered in accordance with physician orders and professional standards for two residents out of eight residents sampled (Resident 45 & Resident 29).
September 16, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. G
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 16, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical records, the facility's abuse prohibition policy, facility investigative documentation, and interviews with staff and residents, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that a resident was free from neglect by not providing care with the required assistance of two staff members as planned to ensure safety and prevent major injuries. As a result, one resident (Resident 1) sustained multiple subdural hematomas and a scalp laceration requiring hospitalization, representing actual harm for one resident out of one sampled for abuse prohibition.
April 8, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

7 fire safety citations on file: 7 on February 20, 2026.

Every fire safety citation7 citations
  1. E
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · February 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · February 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · February 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · February 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · February 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Have a battery powered remote alarm panel in a location accessible by operating personnel.
    K 916 · February 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · February 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
September 16, 2025Fine $12,735

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.363.893.86
Registered nurses0.720.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.093.533.42
Nurse aides1.58
Licensed practical nurses1.05
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.9%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.63 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.46 on weekdays and 3.09 on weekends, 11% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.360.723.463.09 0.0%0 of 9047
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Pennsylvania, Jan to Mar 20263.690.653.823.3411.3%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
17.616.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.70.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.53.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.71.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.817.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.44.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.617.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
33.522.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
14.39.512.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: TUNKHANNOCK REHABILITATION & HEALTH CARE CENTER OPERATING COMPANY LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Keefer, SusanDirect ownership interestIndividual01/09/2025
Kelly, MichaelDirect ownership interestIndividual01/09/2025
Senior Health Care SolutionsOperational/managerial controlOrganization03/01/2025
Kammerer, WilliamOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2025
Keefer, SusanOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2025
Kelly, MichaelOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2025
Kondash, MichaelOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2025
Rogers, HeatherOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2025
Senior Health Care SolutionsAdp of the SNFOrganization03/01/2025
The Fidelity Deposits & Discounts BankAdp of the SNFOrganization03/01/2025
Tunkhannock Rehabilitation & Health Care Center Operating Company LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization09/13/2022
Zimmet Healthcare Services Group LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization03/01/2025
Gresko, MicheleAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2025
Kammerer, WilliamAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2025
Keefer, SusanAdp of the SNFIndividual07/21/2022
Kelly, MichaelAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2025
Kondash, MichaelAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2025
Rogers, HeatherAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2025
Zimmet, MarcAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 8, 2026: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 20, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 20, 2026: "Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health."
  4. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.09 hours per resident per day, below the Pennsylvania average of 3.53.

Other nursing homes nearby

Pennsylvania contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Pennsylvania. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Tunkhannock Rehabilitation & Health Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Tunkhannock Rehabilitation & Health Care Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Tunkhannock Rehabilitation & Health Care Center get at its last inspection?
4 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on February 20, 2026. The Pennsylvania average is 10.
Has Tunkhannock Rehabilitation & Health Care Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $12,735 in the last three years.
Does Tunkhannock Rehabilitation & Health Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Tunkhannock Rehabilitation & Health Care Center?
CMS lists 19 owners and managers. Legal business name: TUNKHANNOCK REHABILITATION & HEALTH CARE CENTER OPERATING COMPANY LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection