Find a nursing home

Home / North Carolina / Black Mountain

Black Mountain Neuro-Medical Treatment Center

932 Old Us Highway 70, Black Mountain, NC 28711 · Buncombe County · (828) 259-6700

163 certified beds, about 74 residents a day · Government - State · Medicaid since 1991

Certified for Medicaid
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 34A001 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on September 25, 2025, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the North Carolina average is 4.7, the national average 9.2).

Of 5 health citations since March 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 5 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
2D
2E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
September 25, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
August 15, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 30, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews the facility failed to discard food items past the use by date in 1 of 2 reach-in coolers; discard food with signs of spoilage in 2 of 2 walk-in coolers; and label and date two bags of unidentifiable frozen food items that had been removed from the original container in 1 of 1 reach-in freezer. This failure had the potential to affect food served to residents.
  2. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews with staff and the Nurse Practitioner, the facility failed to protect the resident's right to be free from neglect when Nurse Aide (NA) #1 started providing incontinence care for Resident #2 without assistance and was aware of the plan of care instructions for 2-person assist. NA #1 turned away from the bed to reach supplies and Resident #2 rolled off the raised bed onto the fall mat. The deficient practice occurred for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for abuse (Resident #2).
March 24, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. J
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff and physician interviews, the facility failed to prevent a significant medication error when Nurse #1 administered medications to Resident #8 that were prescribed for Resident #58 for 1 of 2 sampled residents reviewed for hospitalization. On the morning of 11/23/22, Resident #8 received six medications which included Depakote (mood stabilizer), Bumex (diuretic), Gabapentin (used to treat nerve pain), Metoprolol (used to treat blood pressure), Risperdal (antipsychotic), and Sertraline (antidepressant). On 11/23/22 at 11:50 AM, Resident #8 appeared lethargic (decreased alertness) and was assessed by Nurse #1 to have a heart rate of 43 and her blood pressure reading could not be obtained. [...]
  2. E
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to accurately code Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments in the area of Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) for 6 of 6 sampled residents reviewed for PASRR (Residents #4, #11, #12, #15, #16, and #37).
  3. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interviews with staff, Consultant Pharmacist, and Medical Director, the facility failed to monitor the cholesterol level for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications (Resident #68).

Fire safety inspections

7 fire safety citations on file: 5 on August 15, 2024, 2 on March 24, 2023.

Every fire safety citation7 citations
  1. D
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · March 24, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 24, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.853.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.620.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.423.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported49.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported45.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility submitted data that did not meet the criteria required to calculate a staffing measure.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.615.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.30.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.32.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.03.53.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.118.314.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.25.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
48.814.015.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.01.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.31.81.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 24, 2023: "Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 15, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 15, 2024: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 24, 2023: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."

Other nursing homes nearby

North Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Black Mountain Neuro-Medical Treatment Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Black Mountain Neuro-Medical Treatment Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, no for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Black Mountain Neuro-Medical Treatment Center get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on September 25, 2025. The North Carolina average is 4.7.
Has Black Mountain Neuro-Medical Treatment Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Black Mountain Neuro-Medical Treatment Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Black Mountain Neuro-Medical Treatment Center?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection