Find a nursing home

Home / Kentucky / Hardinsburg

Breckinridge Memorial Nursing Facility

1011 Old Highway 60, Hardinsburg, KY 40143 · Breckinridge County · (270) 756-6578

18 certified beds, about 18 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1991

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 185285 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 5, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the Kentucky average is 2.9, the national average 9.2).

Of 7 health citations since March 2023, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (2 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 2 fines totaling $10,364 in the last three years; the largest was $5,182, and the latest is dated January 3, 2025.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.07 hours per resident per day, against 3.95 across Kentucky and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.76 of those hours.

43.3% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Kentucky average 46.4%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
2J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
3D
0E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 5, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 26, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and policy review, the facility failed to prepare and serve food under sanitary conditions to prevent the potential for contamination during meal service. These failures had the potential to affect 18 of 18 residents who received meals from the dietary department. Review of the facility policy, Nutritional Services Infection Prevention and Control, revised 08/29/2022, revealed food handlers were required to perform hand hygiene prior to contact with or preparation of food items and beverages. Further review revealed employees were required to have hair covered with a hair net and beards and mustaches were to be kept close-cropped; however, the policy did not specify the use of beard guards/beard restraints. [...]
January 3, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 5 citations
  1. J
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 29, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to develop and/or implement a Comprehensive Care Plan (CCP) to ensure it met the residents' medical, nursing, mental, and psychosocial needs as identified on his/her comprehensive assessment and other assessments for one (1) of eighteen (18) sampled residents (Resident (R)1). On 04/27/2024, R1 exhibited exit seeking behaviors, however, staff failed to care plan the resident for these behaviors. On 04/28/2024, R1 eloped from the skilled nursing facility (SNF) unit, located in a hospital, via the elevator without staff's knowledge and was found in the lobby trying to exit through the doors. [...]
  2. J
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and review of the facility's investigation documentation and policies, the facility failed to have an effective system in place to ensure resident safety for 1 of 18 sampled residents, (Resident (R)1). On 04/27/2024, R1 exhibited exit-seeking behaviors, however, the facility failed to ensure the resident was provided increased supervision. On 04/28/2024, R1 eloped from the facility (a skilled nursing facility [SNF] unit) without staff knowledge and was found on the first-floor lobby (of the acute care hospital the facility was located in) trying to exit the building [facility]. The facility's failure to have an effective system in place to ensure residents' safety is likely to cause serious injury, impairment, or death, if immediate action is not taken. [...]
  3. F
    Ensure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.
    F576 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 28, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and review of the facility's policies and procedures, it was determined the facility failed to protect and facilitate the residents' right to communicate with individuals and entities within and external to the facility, including the ability to send and receive mail, packages and other materials delivered to the facility for 3 of 18 sampled residents (Resident (R) 6, R8, and R14). The facility did not pick up, sort, and deliver mail to residents on weekend, more specifically on Saturday, to R6, R8, and R14, with the potential to affect 18 of 18 residents residing in the facility.
  4. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and review of facility policies, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from abuse for one of 18 sampled residents (Resident (R)13). On 10/10/2024, staff witnessed R1 strike R13 three times on the leg with a rolled-up newspaper.
  5. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to have an effective system to label and store resident specific medications for 2 of 10 sampled Residents (Resident (R)10 and R12). On 12/17/2024 at 12:06 PM eight (8) vials of antibiotic were observed sitting in a plastic tub without a resident label and sixty (60) cups of valproic acid were observed in six (6) packs, also not labeled with a resident label. Both were stored in the medication room on the counter.
March 30, 2023Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and review of facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure advance directives were completed, reviewed, or updated periodically for one (1) of eight (8) sampled residents (Resident #19). Closed record review revealed Resident #19's advanced directive information was not updated when the resident's code status changed from a full code to a Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) in 2018.

Fire safety inspections

9 fire safety citations on file: 2 on March 5, 2026, 7 on March 30, 2023.

Every fire safety citation9 citations
  1. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · March 5, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Have restrictions on the use of portable space heaters.
    K 781 · March 5, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Establish methods for sharing information.
    E 33 · March 30, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 30, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · March 30, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · March 30, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 30, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · March 30, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Install properly constructed and protected linen or trash chutes.
    K 541 · March 30, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
January 3, 2025Fine $5,182
January 3, 2025Fine $5,182

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeKentuckyUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.073.953.86
Registered nurses1.760.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.373.493.42
Nurse aides3.29
Licensed practical nurses0.02
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)43.3%46.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover14.3%41.8%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 2.62 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.36 on weekdays and 4.37 on weekends, 18% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.25 in April to June 2025 to 5.07 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.071.765.364.37 0.0%0 of 9018
Oct to Dec 20254.941.715.204.29 0.0%0 of 9218
Jul to Sep 20255.131.835.444.32 0.0%0 of 9218
Apr to Jun 20255.251.835.614.35 0.0%0 of 9117
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Kentucky, Jan to Mar 20263.850.714.043.403.2%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeKentuckyUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.813.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.41.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.03.93.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.814.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.04.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.716.115.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: BRECKINRIDGE HEALTH, INC..

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Arndell, Amy5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual5%10/01/2019
Dowell, FayeCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Elder, JaniceCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Flood, KimCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2020
Gregory, HollyCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Jackson, MitchellCorporate directorIndividual02/01/2025
Kasey, KerryCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Loughran, TomCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Lucas, LaymanCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Pollock, RebeccaCorporate directorIndividual08/01/2020
Robbins, JeffreyCorporate directorIndividual02/01/2014
Watson, DottieCorporate directorIndividual04/01/1999
Wilson, SherryCorporate directorIndividual06/01/2022
Arndell, AmyCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2019
Portman, AngelaCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2015
Portman, AngelaOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2015
Arndell, AmyAdp of the SNFIndividual06/18/2025
Portman, AngelaAdp of the SNFIndividual06/18/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 3, 2025: "Ensure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 5, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 3, 2025: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 3, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."

Other nursing homes nearby

Kentucky contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Kentucky. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Breckinridge Memorial Nursing Facility's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Breckinridge Memorial Nursing Facility 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 5 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Breckinridge Memorial Nursing Facility get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on March 5, 2026. The Kentucky average is 2.9.
Has Breckinridge Memorial Nursing Facility been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 2 fines totaling $10,364 in the last three years.
Does Breckinridge Memorial Nursing Facility accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Breckinridge Memorial Nursing Facility?
CMS lists 18 owners and managers. Legal business name: BRECKINRIDGE HEALTH, INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection