Find a nursing home

Home / Nebraska / Grand Island

Chi Health St. Francis

2116 West Faidley Avenue, Grand Island, NE 68803 · Hall County · (308) 398-5880

36 certified beds, about 7 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1987

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: This facility did not submit staffing data.
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 285081 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 20, 2025, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Nebraska average is 7.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since March 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
3D
1E
3F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 20, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Verify that a nurse aide has been trained; and if they haven't worked as a nurse aide for 2 years, receive retraining.
    F729 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.04(A)(iii)(2)(a) The facility failed to verify that the Central Registry (Maintains all reports of child abuse and neglect opened for investigation, classified as either Court Substantiated or Agency Substantiated) check was completed for 1 out of 10 Nursing Assistant (NA-A) sampled staff employees files. This had the potential to affect all 15 residents in the facility.
  2. D
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    F625 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to notify/provide the resident/resident's legal representative of the bed hold policy at the time of the transfer to the hospital and failed to provide written documentation of the bed hold policy to the legal representative for one (Resident 16) of 8 sampled residents. The facility's census was 15.
February 1, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 21, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12.006.11E Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure items stored in the facility's refrigerators and freezers were sealed, labeled, and dated, ensure expired items were discarded, ensure kitchen staff performed handwashing for at least 20 seconds, and failed to ensure the temperature of the food was taken after being reheated in the microwave to prevent the potential for foodborne illness, and failed to ensure the thermometer probe was sanitized before use and between food items when the temperature was taken of the prepared food to prevent cross contamination. This had the potential to affect 15 of the 16 residents that consumed food from the kitchen. The total facility census was 16.
  2. D
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    F580 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 21, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.04C3a(6) Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to notify the provider of a significant weight loss for 1 (Resident 70) of 2 sampled residents. The facility identified a census of 16. Findings Are: A record review of Resident 70's demographic information printed on 1/30/24 revealed Resident 70 admitted into the facility on 1/13/24. The demographic information revealed Resident 70 had diagnoses of: Covid-19 (a mild to severe respiratory illness that is caused by a coronavirus), Congestive Heart Failure (CHF- a serious condition in which the heart doesn't pump blood as efficiently as it should) exacerbation, and Acute on Chronic heart failure and Diabetes Mellitus (a metabolic disease, involving inappropriately elevated blood glucose levels). [...]
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 21, 2024
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.17B Licensure Reference Number 175 NAC 12-006.17D Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to perform hand hygiene and gloves changes between completing J-tube site cares, medication administration and oral suctioning for Resident 4, and the facility failed to clean or change Resident 3's nebulizer kit and mask to prevent the potential for cross contamination. The facility identified a census of 16. Findings Are: A. A record review of the demographic information revealed Resident 4 had been accepted into the facility on 5/1/20 with a primary diagnosis of a gunshot wound to the head with complications. [...]
March 13, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Have enough outside ventilation via a window or mechanical ventilation, or both.
    F923 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175NAC 12-007.04D Based on observations, record review, and interview the facility failed to ensure that bathroom exhaust vent fans were operational in 16 of 16 occupied rooms. This affected all facility residents. The facility census was 16.
  2. E
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteLicensure Reference Number 175NAC 12-006.09C1a Based on record review and interview the facility failed to ensure that the resident /resident representative received a written summary of the preliminary care plan (either the baseline or the comprehensive care plan) (a written initial plan of care required to be developed within 48 hours of admission detailing the instructions needed to provide initial effective and person-centered quality care for a resident) as required for 5 residents (Residents 66, 11, 69, 5, and 13) of 5 residents reviewed. This prevented the resident/resident representative from identifying additional areas of care required. The facility census was 16.

Fire safety inspections

6 fire safety citations on file: 3 on March 20, 2025, 2 on February 1, 2024, 1 on March 13, 2023.

Every fire safety citation6 citations
  1. F
    Implement emergency and standby power systems.
    E 41 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · March 13, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNebraskaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.983.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.670.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.483.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported44.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility did not submit staffing data.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In October to December 2025, nursing staff hours per resident were 8.35 on weekdays and 7.41 on weekends, 11% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 7.76 in April to June 2025 to 8.09 in October to December 2025.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Oct to Dec 20258.093.428.357.41 0.0%0 of 9213
Jul to Sep 20258.153.258.377.56 0.0%0 of 9215
Apr to Jun 20257.763.318.027.09 0.0%0 of 9115
United States, Oct to Dec 20253.760.623.933.345.3%0.5% of days
Nebraska, Oct to Dec 20254.090.684.283.617.1%0.4% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNebraskaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.41.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.52.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.04.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.22.01.6
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.04.04.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
39.720.723.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
18.011.412.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 20, 2025: "Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave."
  2. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 20, 2025: "Verify that a nurse aide has been trained; and if they haven't worked as a nurse aide for 2 years, receive retraining."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 1, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 1, 2024: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

Nebraska contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Nebraska. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Chi Health St. Francis's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Chi Health St. Francis 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Chi Health St. Francis get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 20, 2025. The Nebraska average is 7.4.
Has Chi Health St. Francis been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Chi Health St. Francis accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Chi Health St. Francis?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection