Find a nursing home

Home / Tennessee / Murfreesboro

Community Care of Rutherford

901 County Farm Rd, Murfreesboro, TN 37127 · Rutherford County · (615) 893-2624

131 certified beds, about 93 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1997

Last standard inspection more than 2 years ago Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
1 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 445406 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on May 11, 2022, inspectors cited 10 health deficiencies (the Tennessee average is 4.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 21 health citations since August 2018, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.81 hours per resident per day, against 3.80 across Tennessee and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.54 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 21 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
2G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
19D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 27, 2026Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
    F602 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility record review, interview, and facility document and policy review, the facility failed to protect a resident's right to be free from misappropriation of money and medications for 2 (Resident #6 and Resident #97) of 4 residents reviewed for misappropriation of property (Resident #6 and Resident #97)
  2. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and facility document and policy review, the facility failed to immediately implement protective measures following an allegation of staff-to-resident physical abuse and complete a timely and thorough investigation for 1 (Residents #94) of 6 residents sampled for abuse.
March 25, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident was free of significant medication errors for 1 (Resident #3) of 7 sampled residents reviewed.
May 11, 2022Standard inspection · 10 citations
  1. G
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, and interview the facility failed to implement a care plan intervention for a fall for 1 of 4 sampled residents (Resident #44), which resulted in actual harm (blunt trauma to head with 3 staples needed for closure of a laceration). The facility also failed to implement a care plan for 1 of 35 sampled residents (Resident #76) reviewed for care plans.
  2. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to prevent an accident which resulted in actual harm (blunt trauma to head with 3 staples needed for closure of a laceration) for 1 of 35 sampled residents (Resident #44).
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 15, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure 95 of 98 (3 of the 98 residents required enteral feedings) residents were treated in a dignified manner during the lunch meal on 5/9/2022.
  4. D
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure resident identifiable information was kept confidential for 2 of 32 sampled residents (Resident #3 and #34) reviewed. The facility also failed to maintain patient confidentiality related to 1 of 5 computer screens open with resident health information visualized with no staff attendance.
  5. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, facility documentation, and interview, the facilty failed to update/revise the care plan for 1 of 35 sampled residents (Resident #63) reviewed.
  6. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview the facility failed to provide ADL (activities of daily living) care for 1 of 35 sampled residents (Resident #24).
  7. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, observation, and interview the facility failed to keep water in reach for 1 of 35 sampled residents (Resident #11) observed.
  8. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 5 sampled residents (Resident #44) was monitored for the side effect of Tardive Dyskinesia (a condition affecting the nervous system, often caused by long-term use of some psychiatric drugs. Symptoms include repetitive muscle movements in the face, neck, arms and legs) related to the use of antipsychotic medication.
  9. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, facility documentation review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure medications were properly stored for 2 of 57 residents (Resident #10 and #51). The facility also failed to ensure medications and biologicals were stored and discarded properly in 2 of 5 medication carts.
  10. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 15, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to serve food in a sanitary manner for residents being assisted with the lunch meal on 6/27/2022.
December 4, 2019Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    F636 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interview, the facility failed to complete an Annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) Assessment timely for 1 (#20) of 30 residents reviewed for MDS timeliness.
  2. D
    Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
    F638 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interview the facility failed to complete a Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) for 1 (#1) of 30 residents reviewed for completion of Quarterly MDS Assessments.
  3. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interview the facility failed to accurately assess a Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) Assessments for 1 (#19) and failed to accurately assess a Discharge MDS assessments for 2 (#95 and #97) of 30 residents reviewed for MDS accuracy.
  4. D
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    F804 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, interview and test tray, the facility failed to provide food at palatable and appetizing temperatures for 1 (#93) of 10 residents observed at the noon meal on 12/2/19.
  5. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observation and interview, the facility failed to store food in a safe and sanitary manner as evidenced by expired foods in the kitchen dry storage room.
August 29, 2018Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 27, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to administer oxygen at the physician's prescribed rate for 2 (#4 and #45) of 16 residents reviewed receiving respiratory treatments.
  2. D
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    F804 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 27, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to serve attractive pureed texture food for 1 of 5 meal observations.
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 27, 2018
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to label and date oxygen tubing and humidified canisters for 3 (#19,#45,and #47) of 16 residents reviewed receiving respiratory treatments.

Fire safety inspections

7 fire safety citations on file: 1 on May 11, 2022, 1 on December 4, 2019, 5 on August 29, 2018.

Every fire safety citation7 citations
  1. D
    Provide properly sized and located linen or trash receptacles.
    K 754 · May 11, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · December 4, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. C
    Address subsistence needs for staff and patients.
    E 15 · August 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. C
    Establish policies and procedures for volunteers.
    E 24 · August 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. C
    Provide primary/alternate means for communication.
    E 32 · August 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. B
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · August 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. B
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.813.803.86
Registered nurses0.540.600.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.523.313.42
Nurse aides2.06
Licensed practical nurses1.21
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.2%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 4.05 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.93 on weekdays and 3.52 on weekends, 10% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.23 in April to June 2025 to 3.81 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.810.543.933.52 0.0%0 of 9093
Oct to Dec 20254.090.624.223.75 0.0%0 of 9287
Jul to Sep 20254.210.644.363.81 0.0%0 of 9293
Apr to Jun 20254.230.714.413.78 0.0%0 of 9190
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Tennessee, Jan to Mar 20263.750.563.953.274.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.514.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.10.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.11.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.83.43.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.81.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.917.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.15.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.116.915.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
29.422.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
7.711.212.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.21.71.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.31.61.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: COMMUNITY CARE OF RUTHERFORD COUNTY, INC..

NameRoleTypeShareSince
King, CharlesW-2 managing employeeIndividual09/26/2000
Burgess, ErnestCorporate directorIndividual09/01/2006
Cook, CarolCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2004
Jernigan, KayeCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2004
Johnson, FrankieCorporate directorIndividual05/01/2005
Johnson, PaulCorporate directorIndividual05/02/2007
Lyles, BernardCorporate directorIndividualNO DATE PROVIDED
Nunley, MikeCorporate directorIndividual07/01/1991
Community Care of Rutherford County, Inc.Operational/managerial controlOrganization07/07/1987

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on May 11, 2022: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on May 11, 2022: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on May 11, 2022: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2024: "Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors."

Other nursing homes nearby

Tennessee contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Tennessee. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Community Care of Rutherford's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Community Care of Rutherford 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 1 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Community Care of Rutherford get at its last inspection?
10 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on May 11, 2022. The Tennessee average is 4.4.
Has Community Care of Rutherford been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Community Care of Rutherford accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Community Care of Rutherford?
CMS lists 9 owners and managers. Legal business name: COMMUNITY CARE OF RUTHERFORD COUNTY, INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection