Find a nursing home

Home / Georgia / Swainsboro

Emanuel County Nursing Home

117 Kite Road, Swainsboro, GA 30401 · Emanuel County · (478) 289-1334

49 certified beds, about 45 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2005

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 115704 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 12, 2026, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the Georgia average is 5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 12 health citations since March 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

39.0% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Georgia average 46.0%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 12 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
9D
0E
3F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 12, 2026Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interview, record review, and review of the facility policies titled, Labeling, Dating, Storage and Dietary Staff Dress Code/Personal Hygiene, the facility failed to ensure food items were discarded and properly labeled and dated. In addition, the facility failed to ensure dietary staff's hair was completely contained in a hair net. This deficiency practice had the potential for food-borne illness for all residents receiving food items from the kitchen.
  2. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, resident and staff interviews, record review, and review of the facility's policy titled, Medications-Administration and Preparation, the facility failed to ensure two of 24 sampled residents (R) (R25 and R30) did not have unauthorized and unsecured medications at the bedside. This deficient practice had the potential to cause adverse effects for R25 and R30 and allowed unsecured medications to be accessible to other residents and visitors.
  3. D
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    F583 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, and review of the policy titled, Resident's Federal and State Rights, the facility failed to protect the privacy and confidentiality of two of 24 sampled residents (R) (R14 and R16) personal and medical records. This failure placed R14 and R16 at risk for unauthorized disclosure of sensitive information.
  4. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interviews, record review, and review of the facility policy titled, Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) Policy Level I and Level II, the facility failed to ensure one of two residents (R) (R6) reviewed with a serious mental disorder was referred for a Level II PASARR assessment on admission or within 30 days of a new diagnosis. This deficient practice had the potential to affect the appropriate level of care and services provided for R6.
  5. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, staff interviews, and review of the facility's policy titled, Resident Nursing Care Plans, the facility failed to follow the care plan related to providing oxygen as ordered for one of 24 sampled residents (R) (R43) reviewed for oxygen administration. The deficient practice had the potential to place the resident at risk for medical complications, unmet needs and a diminished quality of life.
  6. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, record review, and review of the facility's policy titled, Respiratory Devices Nebulizer Treatments, the facility failed to follow the physician's order for the administration of oxygen (O2) for one Resident (R) (R43) and failed to prevent the spread of infections by not cleaning the O2 concentrators for three of 12 residents (R36, R40, and R43) receiving O2 therapy. The deficient practice had the potential to place the residents at risk for medical complications, unmet needs, and a diminished quality of life.
April 3, 2025Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interviews, record review, review of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHREA) and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines, and review of the facility document titled, Water Management Program for [NAME] County Nursing Home, the facility failed to have an adequate water management program. The facility's water management program was incomplete and was not consistent with the current ASHRAE Guideline, which specifically called for design and maintenance procedures for the potential exposure of Legionnaires' disease (a serious pneumonia infection) within a healthcare facility. This failure created the potential for the facility residents to be infected by Legionella.
  2. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interviews, record review, and review of the facility policy titled, Reference 8: Behavior Monitoring Procedure, the facility failed to ensure that three of five residents (R) (R17, R21, and R40) sampled for unnecessary medications were monitored for behaviors, side effects and efficacy of antipsychotic medications. This failure to monitor for adverse effects and efficacy had the potential to place R17, R21, and R40 at risk of medical complications and unmet needs. Findings Include: Review of the facility's undated policy titled, Reference 8: Behavior Monitoring Procedure, revealed 1. Each MAR (Medication Administration Record) will have three major lines (one for each shift), with four subdividing minor lines within each major line. 2. Inside the frequency column of each minor line will have directions. a. Line 1-will indicate the shift. [...]
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, record review, and review of the facility policies titled, titled, Medications - Administration and Preparation and Policy and Procedure for Expired Drugs, the facility failed to ensure one of six residents (R) (R7) observed during medication pass medications were not expired. This deficient practice increased R7's risk of infection and exacerbation of R7's compromised respiratory status related to chronic obstructive pulmonary disease.
  4. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, record review, review of the facility policy titled Immunizations, and review of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines, the facility failed to offer one of five residents (R) (R28) reviewed for flu and pneumonia vaccinations and/or their representatives the opportunity for the residents to be vaccinated in accordance with nationally recognized standards of 44 sample residents. In addition, the facility failed to update their immunization to reflect current CDC recommendations. These deficient practices had the potential to place R28 at risk of contracting pneumonia and other residents at risk of not being offered immunizations based on current CDC guidelines.
March 19, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 3, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure that opened food items were labeled and dated in two walk-in refrigerators, the walk-in freezer, and the dry storage area. The facility census was 46, with 44 residents receiving an oral diet.
  2. D
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    F625 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 3, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interviews, record review, and review of policy titled Bed Holds During Hospital Stays and Therapeutic Leaves, the facility failed to provide written documentation of bed hold to resident/family upon discharge to hospital for one of eight residents (R# 2) who was transferred to the hospital. Policy on Bed Holds During Hospital Stays and Therapeutic Leaves last revised 1/20/23: 1. Hospital stays: Medicaid will provide payment to hold the Resident's bed for a period of seven days while the Resident is hospitalized . List of transfers December 2022 through March 2023 indicated eight residents had been transferred during the identified time period. Electronic record review for R#2 revealed hospital leaves on 12/22/22 and 3/14/23. [...]

Fire safety inspections

3 fire safety citations on file: 1 on April 3, 2025, 2 on March 19, 2023.

Every fire safety citation3 citations
  1. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · April 3, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · March 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeGeorgiaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.563.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.500.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.103.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)39.0%46.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover33.3%44.5%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.04 on weekdays and 2.89 on weekends, 28% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.05 in April to June 2025 to 3.70 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.700.994.042.89 0.0%0 of 9045
Oct to Dec 20253.800.843.963.39 0.0%0 of 9246
Jul to Sep 20254.791.625.163.86 0.0%0 of 9247
Apr to Jun 20254.050.964.383.24 0.0%0 of 9141
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Georgia, Jan to Mar 20263.500.463.683.033.3%0.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeGeorgiaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.815.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.02.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.53.23.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.62.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.115.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.75.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.219.915.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
27.025.023.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.011.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.82.11.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.31.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: EMANUEL COUNTY HOSPITAL AUTHORITY.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Emanuel County Hospital Authority5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%01/01/1966
Johnson, JessicaW-2 managing employeeIndividual07/01/2017
Howard, AnthonyCorporate directorIndividual11/23/2011
Porter, CedricCorporate directorIndividual11/23/2011
Johnson, JessicaCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2017
Scott, DamienCorporate officerIndividual10/01/2014

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on July 12, 2026: "Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 12, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 12, 2026: "Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 3, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

Georgia contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Georgia. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Emanuel County Nursing Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Emanuel County Nursing Home 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Emanuel County Nursing Home get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 12, 2026. The Georgia average is 5.
Has Emanuel County Nursing Home been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Emanuel County Nursing Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Emanuel County Nursing Home?
CMS lists 6 owners and managers. Legal business name: EMANUEL COUNTY HOSPITAL AUTHORITY.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection