Find a nursing home

Home / Ohio / Dayton

Gem City Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center

323 Forest Avenue, Dayton, OH 45405 · Montgomery County · (937) 224-0793

87 certified beds, about 29 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1994

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 365981 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on May 21, 2026, inspectors cited 16 health deficiencies (the Ohio average is 10.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 27 health citations since December 2019 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.99 hours per resident per day, against 3.69 across Ohio and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.11 of those hours.

CMS links it to Recover-Care Healthcare, an affiliated group of 27 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 27 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
18D
6E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
May 21, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 16 citations
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, interview, and facility policy review the facility failed to wear proper Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) while providing personal care. This affected one Resident #02 out of 23 residents requiring PPE for Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP). the faciity also failed to ensure clean linens were stored appropriately. This had the potential to affect all residents. The facility census was 33.
  2. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and policy review, the facility failed to properly store medications. This had the potential to affect 10 Residents (#11, #26, #42, #43, #44, #45, #46, #47, #51 and #52) admitted in the last 30 days. The facility census was 33.
  3. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and facility policy review the facility failed to ensure food was stored and prepared under sanitary conditions. The facility failed to ensure portion sizes were accurate according to the approved recipe, and the facility failed to ensure a substitution log was maintained. This had the potential to affect 29 residents who consumed meals prepared in the facility kitchen. The facility census was 33.
  4. E
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    F814 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure that garbage cans in the kitchen were properly covered when not in active use. This had the potential to affect all 29 residents who consumed meals prepared in the facility kitchen. The facility census was 33.
  5. E
    Keep all essential equipment working safely.
    F908 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and policy review the facility failed to ensure the steam table in the kitchen was functioning properly. This had the potential to affect all 29 residents who consumed meals prepared in the facility kitchen. The facility census was 33.
  6. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and facility policy review, the facility failed to provide a functional and sanitary environment for one, (Resident #32) of four reviewed for the environment. The facility census was 33.
  7. D
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to submit a Discharge Return not Anticipated Minimum Data Set (MDS). This affected one, (Resident #31) of 17 residents reviewed in the initial pool. The facility census was 33.
  8. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure three residents, (#22, #4 and #13) of 19 reviewed, had comprehensive care plans that reflected the resident's care needs. The total facility census was 33.
  9. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on resident interview, staff interview, record reviews, and policy review, the facility failed to provide showers to residents as scheduled. This affected one, (Resident #10) of 12 residents reviewed for provision of Activities of Daily Living (ADL) care. The facility census was 33.
  10. D
    Assist a resident in gaining access to vision and hearing services.
    F685 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure residents were provided vision services. This affected one resident ( #22) and had the potential to affect 19 Residents (#16, #9, #10, #15, #44, #5, #18, #17, #12, #32, #8, #13, #30, #28, #7, #14, #19, #2, #29) who the facility identifiedas being signed up to receive vision services. This had the potential to affect all residents. The facility census was 33.
  11. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure provision of wound care for a resident's pressure ulcer as ordered. This affected one resident (Resident #42) of two residents with identified pressure ulcers. The facility census was 33.
  12. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, and interviews the facility failed to apply braces for residents with contractors as ordered. This affected one, Resident #02, of one reviewed for contractures. The facility census was 33.
  13. D
    Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
    F693 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews, record review, and facility policy review the facility failed to ensure ongoing care of a gastrostomy (G) tube. This affected one, (Resident #10) of three residents reviewed for enteral tube feeding. The facility census was 33.
  14. D
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews the facility failed to ensure that anticoagulant medications were administered as ordered. This affected one, (Resident #47) of six residents reviewed with prescribed anticoagulants. The facility census was 33.
  15. D
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to maintain an accurate medical record regarding administration of diabetes related medication. This affected one resident (Resident #15) out of six residents reviewed for insulin administration. The facility census was 33.
  16. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure daily staffing was posted in the facility. This had the potential to affect all residents. The facility census was 33.
July 1, 2025Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, resident and staff interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure comfortable and safe temperatures were maintained throughout the facility when temperatures exceeded 95 degrees Fahrenheit (F) in resident rooms. This affected all ten residents (#01, #02, #03, #04, #05, #06, #07, #108, #109 and #158) residing in the facility. The facility census was 10.
  2. E
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
    F806 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview and review of the menu, the facility failed to ensure alternative food options were available. This affected all residents, except one (#5) resident identified by the facility as received no meals from the facility. The facility census was 10.
  3. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview and review of the facility policy, the facility failed to ensure food was stored in a manner to prevent food born illness. This had the potential to affect all residents, except one (#5) who received no food from the kitchen. The facility census was 10.
  4. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, medical record review, staff interview and review of facility policy, the facility failed to ensure the medication error rate did not exceed five percent (%) when 13 medication errors were observed of 36 opportunities, resulting in an error rate of 36.11%. This affected three (Residents #108, #4, and #7) of three residents observed for medication administration. The facility census was 10.
  5. D
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, observation, staff interview, and review of medication manufacturer instructions, the facility failed to ensure insulin pens were primed prior to administration. This affected two (#4 and #7) of three residents observed for medication administration. The facility census was 10.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 21, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview and review of facility policy, the facility failed to ensure medications were handled in a sanitary manner. This affected three (#108, #4, and #7) of three residents reviewed for medication administration. The facility census was 10.
December 5, 2019Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, and staff interview, the facility failed to develop a care plan for one resident (#53) of one receiving dialysis. The facility census was 57.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, observations, and staff interview, the facility failed to maintain a safe environment for one Resident with a diagnoses of seizures by leaving the resident's bed in a high position. This affected one resident (#57) of three reveiwed for accidents. The facility census was 57.
  3. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and staff interview, the facility failed to provide ordered monitoring for medication use for one Resident (#49) of five reviewed for unnecessary medications. The facility census was 57.
  4. D
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.
    F805 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, observations, and staff interview, the facility failed to serve food in a form to meet the individual needs for one Resident (#46) of three reveiwed for nutrition. The facility census was 57.
  5. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to handle soiled incontinence products in a manner to prevent the potential of the spread of infection. This affected one Resident (#46) of one observed for incontinence care. The facility census was 57.

Fire safety inspections

20 fire safety citations on file: 8 on May 21, 2026, 12 on December 5, 2019.

Every fire safety citation20 citations
  1. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · May 21, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · May 21, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · May 21, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · May 21, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · May 21, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · May 21, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Have proper power supply for life support equipment.
    K 915 · May 21, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · May 21, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. F
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. F
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · December 5, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. C
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 100 · December 5, 2019 · deficient, provider has

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOhioUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.993.693.86
Registered nurses1.110.640.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.523.283.42
Nurse aides2.58
Licensed practical nurses1.29
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.9%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 5.37 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.18 on weekdays and 4.52 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 6.15 in July to September 2025 to 4.99 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.991.115.184.52 0.0%0 of 9029
Oct to Dec 20256.021.526.315.28 0.0%0 of 9220
Jul to Sep 20256.151.896.525.22 0.0%0 of 9214
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Ohio, Jan to Mar 20263.640.603.803.244.6%0.4% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Ohio

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Ohio, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.76$17.93 to $21.4463,280
LPNs and LVNs$29.78$27.34 to $31.6839,900
Registered nurses$39.67$38.08 to $47.61143,730
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOhioUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.85.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.40.20.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.03.23.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.93.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.08.815.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: GEM CITY HEALTHCARE AND REHABILITATION CENTER LLC. CMS links this home to Recover-Care Healthcare, a group of 27 nursing homes averaging 2.5 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Buckeye Recover Care LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%05/01/2023
Ohio SNF Management LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization11/01/2020
Berner, SusanOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/15/2019
Chapman, KennethOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/08/2020
Labazzo, DeborahOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/25/2025
Kansas SNF Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization10/19/2025
Mad Family Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization11/01/2020
Natr TrustAdp of the SNFOrganization10/19/2025
Ohio SNF Management LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/27/2025
Rarmna Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization10/19/2025
Ratr TrustAdp of the SNFOrganization10/19/2025
Rnr Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization10/19/2025
Wetr TrustAdp of the SNFOrganization10/19/2025
Berner, SusanAdp of the SNFIndividual02/10/2025
Labazzo, DeborahAdp of the SNFIndividual10/28/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on May 21, 2026: "Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on May 21, 2026: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on May 21, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on May 21, 2026: "Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment."

Other nursing homes nearby

Ohio contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Ohio. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Gem City Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Gem City Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Gem City Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center get at its last inspection?
16 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on May 21, 2026. The Ohio average is 10.5.
Has Gem City Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Gem City Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Gem City Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center?
CMS lists 15 owners and managers, and links the home to Recover-Care Healthcare. Legal business name: GEM CITY HEALTHCARE AND REHABILITATION CENTER LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection