Find a nursing home

Home / Florida / Pahokee

Glades Health Care Center

230 South Barfield Highway, Pahokee, FL 33476 · Palm Beach County · (561) 924-5561

120 certified beds, about 58 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1999

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 106018 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 16, 2026, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Florida average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 14 health citations since September 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.86 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Florida and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.75 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 14 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
9D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
1B
1C
April 16, 2026Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure staff speak to and treat 1 of 21 sampled residents in a dignified manner as evidenced by the failure to respond appropriately to Resident #28's request for a glass of orange juice.
  2. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure resident assessments accurately reflected the use of bed rails for 3 of 3 sampled residents reviewed for Physical Restraints, Resident #8, Resident #11 and Resident #28; The facility failed to accurately assess for nutritional status for 1 of 6 sampled residents reviewed for nutrition, Resident #10; and the facility failed to ensure the accuracy of medications was reflected in resident assessments for 1 of 5 sampled residents reviewed for Unnecessary Medications, Resident #5
  3. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure oxygen equipment maintenance for 1 of 1 sampled resident, as evidenced by a dust-ladened oxygen concentrator filter for Resident #45.
  4. D
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure the accuracy and completeness of assessments for the use of bed rails for 3 of 3 sampled residents reviewed for physical restraints, Residents #8, Resident #11, and Resident #28; and the facility failed to obtain orders for the use of side rails for 3 of 3 sampled residents reviewed for physical restraints. Resident #8, Resident #11, and Resident #28.
  5. B
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide written notice to resident's representative and the ombudsman of reason for transfer to hospital for 1 of 2 sampled residents reviewed for hospitalization, Resident #19. This had the potential to affect any resident transferred out of the facility since 01/01/26, as the facility stopped providing the notices.
December 5, 2024Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. E
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    F801 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure that clinical nutritional assessments were completed within the scope of practice for 1 of 1 sampled resident reviewed for nutrition (Resident #30). This had the potential to affect 51 out of 60 residents on the facility's current census.
  2. E
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    F803 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, menu review, and interview, the facility failed to follow their approved menu for 1 of 2 meals observed, as evidenced by the failure to prepare all foods on the lunch menu on 12/04/24, and substituted with foods not on the menu, affecting sampled Residents #13 and #2, with the potential of affecting 4 of 56 residents who consume food.
  3. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on the facility policy, centers for disease control (CDC) review, observations and record review, the facility failed to ensure appropriate infection control practices by failure to implement enhanced barrier precaution (EBP) process for residents with wounds, and indwelling medical devices including feeding tubes, and foley catheter for 4 of 4 sampled residents, with the potential to affect 6 residents identified as needing EBP. This involved Resident #1, #20, #22, and #44. The facility failed to ensure appropriate hand hygiene during wound care. This involved (Resident #22). The facility failure to ensure appropriate hand hygiene during perineal/catheter care. This involved Resident #44.
  4. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure of accurate Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments for 3 of 3 sampled residents (Resident #33, #15, and #8), specifically a resident with hearing loss, this involved Resident #33; a resident with limited range of motion, this involved Resident #15; and a resident for medication usage, this involved Resident #8.
  5. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to develop a care plan for 2 of 17 sampled residents (Resident #58 related to an actual fall and Resident #17 for use of bed rails).
  6. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure complete and proper personal care for 1 of 1 sampled resident who had an urinary drainage device, as evidenced by the failure to perform hand hygiene prior to donning gloves, failed to provide peri-care (personal care) during catheter care, and failed to ensure proper catheter care for Resident #1.
  7. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on recipe review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to follow cooking instructions and ensure prepared fried fish was at a safe temperature, for 1 of 1 sampled resident who ordered that meal (Resident #13).
September 21, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    F585 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 11, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, interview, and record review, the facility failed to act upon a grievance voiced by a resident regarding care for 1 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #266).
  2. C
    Inform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse.
    F847 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 11, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to offer residents Binding Arbitration Agreements in a manner that the residents or their representatives would be able to make an informed decision.

Fire safety inspections

23 fire safety citations on file: 9 on April 16, 2026, 6 on December 5, 2024, 8 on September 21, 2023.

Every fire safety citation23 citations
  1. F
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · April 16, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · December 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · December 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. E
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · December 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · December 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · December 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · December 5, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · September 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · September 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · September 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · September 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · September 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. D
    Have properly sized and located compartments to protect residents from smoke.
    K 371 · September 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  22. D
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · September 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  23. D
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · September 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.863.823.86
Registered nurses0.750.730.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.663.493.42
Nurse aides2.41
Licensed practical nurses0.70
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported41.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported46.0%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.13 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.94 on weekdays and 3.66 on weekends, 7% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.57 in April to June 2025 to 3.86 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.860.753.943.66 0.0%0 of 9058
Oct to Dec 20253.960.814.043.75 0.0%0 of 9259
Jul to Sep 20254.430.784.444.40 2.3%0 of 9257
Apr to Jun 20254.570.744.554.62 5.1%0 of 9156
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Florida, Jan to Mar 20263.760.703.903.441.1%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.88.713.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.40.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.40.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.32.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.99.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.94.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
35.18.615.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
39.626.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
11.69.112.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.62.11.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.61.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: OKEECHOBEE COUNCIL ON AGING INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Hurt, EdwardCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2015
Council on Aging of Florida IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization11/18/1999
Hurt, EdwardOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2015
Council on Aging of Florida IncAdp of the SNFOrganization03/26/2025
Okeechobee Council on Aging IncAdp of the SNFOrganization11/18/1999
Hurt, EdwardAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2015

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 16, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 16, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 16, 2026: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on December 5, 2024: "Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Florida contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Florida. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Glades Health Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Glades Health Care Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Glades Health Care Center get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 16, 2026. The Florida average is 7.1.
Has Glades Health Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Glades Health Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Glades Health Care Center?
CMS lists 6 owners and managers. Legal business name: OKEECHOBEE COUNCIL ON AGING INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection