Find a nursing home

Home / North Carolina / Morganton

Grace Heights Health & Rehabilitation

109 Foothills Drive, Morganton, NC 28655 · Burke County · (828) 580-7000

120 certified beds, about 95 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1980

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 345187 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 23, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the North Carolina average is 4.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 3 health citations since August 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.88 hours per resident per day, against 3.85 across North Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.43 of those hours.

CMS links it to Sanstone Health & Rehabilitation, an affiliated group of 18 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 3 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
2D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
January 23, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations
September 11, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to label and date leftover food items stored for use and failed to keep a food storage area clean. These practices occurred in the walk-in refrigerator and had the potential to affect food served to residents.
March 7, 2024Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure an order for oxygen was clarified and transcribed from a discharge summary on admission for a resident admitted following a re-hospitalization for COVID-19 (coronavirus disease) pneumonia. This deficient practice affected 1 of 2 residents reviewed for respiratory care (Resident #1).
  2. D
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to document vital signs and an assessment when a resident complained of shortness of breath. This deficient practice affected 1 of 2 residents reviewed for inaccurate medical record (Resident #1).
August 31, 2023Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

9 fire safety citations on file: 2 on January 23, 2026, 2 on September 11, 2024, 5 on August 31, 2023.

Every fire safety citation9 citations
  1. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · January 23, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · January 23, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · September 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · August 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · August 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · August 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · August 31, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.883.853.86
Registered nurses0.430.620.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.473.423.42
Nurse aides2.60
Licensed practical nurses0.85
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported49.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported45.6%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.75 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.05 on weekdays and 3.47 on weekends, 14% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.91 in April to June 2025 to 3.88 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.880.434.053.47 0.1%0 of 9095
Oct to Dec 20254.540.674.743.99 0.1%0 of 3166
Jul to Sep 20253.990.364.283.12 0.3%0 of 1296
Apr to Jun 20253.910.314.163.28 0.1%0 of 91100
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.650.533.823.258.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.215.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.63.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.41.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.218.314.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.15.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.414.015.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
31.922.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
20.412.912.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.81.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.51.81.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: GRACE HEIGHTS REHABILITATION AND SKILLED NURSING CENTER LLC. CMS links this home to Sanstone Health & Rehabilitation, a group of 18 nursing homes averaging 4.3 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Sprenger, Christopher5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual100%07/01/2019
Sprenger, ChristopherOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2019

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 11, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 7, 2024: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 7, 2024: "Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards."
  4. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

North Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Grace Heights Health & Rehabilitation's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Grace Heights Health & Rehabilitation 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Grace Heights Health & Rehabilitation get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 23, 2026. The North Carolina average is 4.7.
Has Grace Heights Health & Rehabilitation been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Grace Heights Health & Rehabilitation accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Grace Heights Health & Rehabilitation?
CMS lists 2 owners and managers, and links the home to Sanstone Health & Rehabilitation. Legal business name: GRACE HEIGHTS REHABILITATION AND SKILLED NURSING CENTER LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection