Find a nursing home

Home / Iowa / Mount Vernon

Hallmark Care Center

215 Highway 30 Sw, Mount Vernon, IA 52314 · Linn County · (319) 895-8891

55 certified beds, about 41 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1997

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 165333 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 9, 2026, inspectors cited 11 health deficiencies (the Iowa average is 6.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 18 health citations since May 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.73 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Iowa and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.61 of those hours.

CMS links it to Legacy Healthcare, an affiliated group of 95 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 18 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
12D
4E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
2B
0C
April 9, 2026Standard inspection · 11 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
    F552 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record reviews and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were provided with education regarding the risks and benefits of psychotropic medications 4 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications (Resident #8, #18, #33, #38) . Additionally, the facility failed to offer alternative treatment options prior to the administration of the medications. The facility reported a census of 42 residents.
  2. E
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, Center for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) Long-Term Care (LTC) Facility Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) 3.0 User Manual, and staff interview the facility failed to accurately code resident falls with major injury, medications, smoking, and restraints on the Minimum Data Set (MDS) Assessment for 5 of 15 reviewed (Resident #8, #13, #18, #28 and #31). The facility identified a census of 42 residents.
  3. E
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of records, staff interviews, and facility policy, the facility failed to provide education and obtain informed consent for 4 of 4 residents regarding eligibility for influenza vaccination (Resident #7, #12, #18, and #24) and 3 of 3 residents for pneumococcal vaccination (Resident #7, #18, and #24). The facility reported a census of 42 residents.
  4. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interview, and instructions of CMS form 10123-NOMNC, and 10055-SNF ABN, the facility failed to ensure an accurate and timely Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage (NOMNC) was provided and failed to issue a Skilled Nursing Facility Advance Beneficiary Notice (SNF ABN) for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for Beneficiary Notification (Resident #50). The facility reported a census of 42 residents.
  5. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff and resident interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to maintain documentation of the information sent to the hospital to ensure that continuity of care and resident needs were maintained during the transfer process for 4 of 4 hospitalizations reviewed (Residents #2 and #6). The facility reported a census of 42 residents.
  6. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR), and resident and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure a resident's mental health diagnosis and medications were accurately reported to the designated state agency for 1 of 3 residents diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) (Resident #38) and failed to implement PASRR level II recommendations into the care plan for 2 of 3 residents (Residents #6 and #18). The facility reported a census of 42 residents.
  7. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff and resident interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to implement interventions into the care plans for 2 of 2 residents following their return from hospitalizations (Residents #2 and #6). The facility reported a census of 42 residents.
  8. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, document review and staff interview the facility failed to follow physician orders to obtain daily weights for 1 of 1 resident sampled on daily weights (Resident #5). The facility reported a census of 42 residents.
  9. D
    Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.
    F865 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interview, CMS 2567 review, and QAPI (Quality Assurance Performance Improvement) Plan review, the facility failed to implement effective quality assurance processes to address Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) deficiencies, resulting in F644 being cited in 2025 as well as the current survey. The facility reported a census of 42 residents.
  10. D
    Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
    F868 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on document review, policy review, and staff interview the facility failed to ensure the Infection Preventionist attended the Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI) quarterly meetings. The facility identified a census of 42 residents.
  11. D
    Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
    F887 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of records, staff interviews, and facility policy, the facility failed to provide education and obtain informed consent for 2 of 5 residents regarding eligibility for COVID-19 vaccination (Resident #7 and #12). The facility reported a census of 42 residents.
March 20, 2025Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on electronic health record review, Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) review, resident interview, staff interview, and policy review the facility failed to ensure a resident's mental health diagnoses and medications were accurately reported to the designated state agency for 1 of 3 residents diagnosed with PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) (Resident #17). The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
  2. D
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    F697 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on resident and staff interviews, clinical record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure interventions for pain management provided resident with effective pain relief following a fall with injury to right wrist for 1 of 3 resident reviewed for pain management (Resident #8). The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
  3. D
    Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
    F699 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, resident interview, staff interview, and policy review the facility failed to account for a resident's experiences, preferences, and potential triggers that might cause re-traumatization for 1 of 3 residents diagnosed with PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) (Resident #17). The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
  4. B
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    F625 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, clinical record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to provide bed hold notice to resident or resident representative prior to transferring 2 of 3 residents to the hospital (Resident #35 and Resident #27). The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
  5. B
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on MDS (Minimum Data Set) review, resident census data, the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) manual, staff interview, and policy review the facility failed to submit a discharge MDS for 1 of 1 residents reviewed (Resident #25). The facility reported a census of 38 residents.
May 22, 2024Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure food items covered, dated, and stored to prevent possible cross-contamination. The facility reported a census of 40 residents.
  2. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interview, and state designated authority direction for Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) the facility failed to complete a follow-up PASRR screening for one out of one resident reviewed in the current sample who had a change in mental health status (Resident #17). The facility reported a census of 40 residents.

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIowaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.733.823.86
Registered nurses0.610.740.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.373.373.42
Nurse aides2.62
Licensed practical nurses0.50
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.26 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.88 on weekdays and 3.37 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 12.8% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.72 in April to June 2025 to 3.73 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.730.613.883.37 12.8%0 of 9041
Oct to Dec 20253.560.513.713.16 7.5%1 of 9244
Apr to Jun 20253.720.483.843.42 0.7%0 of 9140
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Iowa, Jan to Mar 20263.800.713.983.364.7%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIowaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.617.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.12.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.83.83.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.92.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.416.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.74.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.119.415.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.91.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.02.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: MOUNT VERNON IA SKILLED NURSING FACILITY LLC. CMS links this home to Legacy Healthcare, a group of 95 nursing homes averaging 2.9 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Iowa Portfolio Opco Holdings LLCDirect ownership interestOrganization08/15/2024
Doros Generation Trust U/a/D 1/3/12Indirect ownership interestOrganization08/15/2024
Gpn Family Trust U/a/D 4/28/08Indirect ownership interestOrganization08/15/2024
Oakway Operations LLCIndirect ownership interestOrganization08/15/2024
Rajchenbach, ChaimManaging control - governing bodyIndividual08/28/2012
Shabat, MenachemManaging control - governing bodyIndividual08/15/2024
Legacy Healthcare Financial Services LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization08/15/2024
Beasley, KarlaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Behounek, LinseyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Borcherding, JennyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Burken, SheriOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Friedenberg, LauraOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Hedberg, JenniferOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Hennager, ChristinaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Heying, LarinaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Houston, MindyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Jaeger, KrystleOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Knutson, MicheleOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Larson, MelissaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
McClure, DorothyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Otterbeck, PatriciaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Rajchenbach, ChaimOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Schuett, ClaytonOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Scott, KathleenOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Seu, JoshuaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Shabat, MenachemOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Shear, KileyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Staudt, SandraOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Van Veghel, ElizabethOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Vanderploeg, JessicaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Whalen, AbigailOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Wierschem, BobbieOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Wood, RosemaryOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Wright, AmyOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/15/2024
Friedman, BrianTrustee of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Rajchenbach, AvrumTrustee of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Rajchenbach, RivkaTrustee of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Shabat, AhuvaTrustee of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Cascade Capital Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization05/06/2025
Cascade Capital Partners LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization05/06/2025
Ccg Gorgona LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization05/06/2025
Gorgona Holdco LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization05/06/2025
Gorgona Propco Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization05/06/2025
Gorgona Sub Holdco LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization05/06/2025
Legacy Healthcare Financial Services LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/15/2024
Mn8 Rh Holdco LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/15/2024
Mount Vernon Ia Property Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization05/06/2025
Beasley, KarlaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Behounek, LinseyAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Borcherding, JennyAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Burken, SheriAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Friedenberg, LauraAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Hedberg, JenniferAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Hennager, ChristinaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Heying, LarinaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Houston, MindyAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Jaeger, KrystleAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Knutson, MicheleAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Larson, MelissaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
McClure, DorothyAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Otterbeck, PatriciaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Rajchenbach, ChaimAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Schuett, ClaytonAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Scott, KathleenAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Seu, JoshuaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Shabat, MenachemAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Shear, KileyAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Staudt, SandraAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Van Veghel, ElizabethAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Vanderploeg, JessicaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Whalen, AbigailAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Wierschem, BobbieAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Wood, RosemaryAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024
Wright, AmyAdp of the SNFIndividual08/15/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on April 9, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on April 9, 2026: "Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 9, 2026: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 9, 2026: "Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations."

Other nursing homes nearby

Iowa contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Iowa. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Hallmark Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Hallmark Care Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Hallmark Care Center get at its last inspection?
11 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 9, 2026. The Iowa average is 6.5.
Has Hallmark Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Hallmark Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Hallmark Care Center?
CMS lists 74 owners and managers, and links the home to Legacy Healthcare. Legal business name: MOUNT VERNON IA SKILLED NURSING FACILITY LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection