Find a nursing home

Home / Oklahoma / Blackwell

Hillcrest Manor Nursing Center

1210 South 6th Street, Blackwell, OK 74631 · Kay County · (580) 363-3244

137 certified beds, about 52 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2001

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 375402 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 4, 2025, inspectors cited 10 health deficiencies (the Oklahoma average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 24 health citations since November 2022, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $46,898 in the last three years; the largest was $46,898, and the latest is dated April 4, 2025.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 2.96 hours per resident per day, against 3.79 across Oklahoma and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.36 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 24 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
2G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
9D
12E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
May 19, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 13, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a CMA provided supervision to prevent a resident from falling for 1 (#2) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for falls. The ADON stated 55 residents resided in the facility.
April 4, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 10 citations
  1. G
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident's care plan was updated to include an intervention to prevent an identified pattern of falls for 1 (#39) of 2 sampled residents reviewed for accidents. The DON stated 54 residents at the facility had care plans.
  2. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure staff provided supervision to prevent falls which resulted in a fracture for 1 (#39) of 2 sampled residents who were reviewed for accidents. The DON stated 54 residents resided at the facility.
  3. F
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, records review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident who self-administered their medication had been assessed for the ability to safely administer to do so for 1 (#13) of 9 sampled residents observed during medication administration observations. The DON stated one resident had self-administered medication at the facility.
  4. E
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident was provided a written notice of transfer prior to being transferred to a hospital for 1 (#33) of 2 sampled residents reviewed for hospitalizations. The DON stated 54 residents resided in the facility.
  5. E
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure: a. a psychotropic medication had an appropriate diagnosis for 1 (#50), and b. the physician addressed a GDR for 1 (#39) of 5 residents sampled for unnecessary medications. The DON reported nine residents received antipsychotic medications.
  6. D
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    F636 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a comprehensive assessment contained accurate health care information for 1 (#4) of 24 sampled residents reviewed for comprehensive assessments. The DON stated 54 residents resided at the facility.
  7. D
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure resident assessments were completed and submitted to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services for 1 (#21) of 19 sampled residents who were reviewed for resident assessments. The DON identified 54 residents resided in the facility.
  8. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were bathed as scheduled for 1 (#1) of 3 residents reviewed for assistance with ADL's. The DON identified 54 residents who resided in the facility.
  9. D
    Provide timely, quality laboratory services/tests to meet the needs of residents.
    F770 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure labs were completed as ordered by the physician for 1 (#24) of 6 sampled residents whose labs were reviewed. The DON reported 54 residents resided in the facility.
  10. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, recored review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure enhanced barrier precautions were implemented for 1 (#7) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for enhanced barrier precautions. The DON reported 14 residents were on enhanced barrier precautions.
August 29, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide supervision to prevent elopement for one (#1) of three sampled residents who were reviewed for elopement. The administrator identified 12 residents who were high risk for elopement.
December 14, 2023Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to manage his or her financial affairs.
    F567 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to post the accrued interest on three (#12, 23, and #28) of five residents whose funds were deposited in the facility trust. The DON documented 13 residents with funds in the trust. Facility census:
  2. E
    Properly hold, secure, and manage each resident's personal money which is deposited with the nursing home.
    F568 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to maintain an accurate accounting of resident monies for one (#28) of five residents whose funds were managed in the facility trust and failed to ensure the accuracy of vendor payments for two (#34 and #43) of five residents whose funds were managed in the facility trust. The DON documented 13 residents with funds in the trust. Facility census:
  3. E
    Assure the security of all personal funds of residents deposited with the facility.
    F570 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to maintain a bond greater than the balance of the facility managed residents' trust. The DON documented 13 residents with funds in the trust. Facility census:
  4. E
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure the correct dose of an ordered medication was administered for one (#9) of seven residents observed for medication administration. The DON stated 53 residents received medications. Facility census:
  5. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure: a. CMA #1 dispensed an oral medication without touching the medication with their bare hands; b. the registered nurse rinsed a nebulizing mask clean after use; c. LPN #1 cleansed a wound in a manner to prevent contamination of the wound bed; and d. Paid Feeding Assistant #1 fed each spoonful of food to a resident in a manner which minimized the risk of infection. The DON stated 53 residents received medications. The DON documented four residents received nebulizing breathing treatments. The DON documented seven residents received wound care. The administrator stated there was one feeding assistant. Facility census:
November 30, 2022Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. E
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure that the proper SNF ABN or NOMNC for two (#100, and #101) of three sampled residents who where reviewed for SNF beneficiary notices. A Beneficiary Notices form, undated, documented 15 residents had been discharged from skilled services with days remaining in the past six months.
  2. E
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure bathing was provided to dependent residents for three (#1, 17, and #44) of three sampled residents reviewed for bathing and nail care had been provided to two (#1 and #17) of three sampled residents reviewed for ADLs. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report, dated 11/28/22, documented 48 residents resided in the facility, 37 residents required one to two person assistance for bathing, and 11 residents were dependent on staff for bathing.
  3. E
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure: a. a treatment was provided as ordered, b. staff washed their hands during wound care treatments, and c. pressure relieving boots were applied as ordered for one (#1) of one sampled resident reviewed for pressure ulcers.
  4. E
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure RN coverage seven days a week, eight hours a day for the following: a. five out of 30 days in April 2022, b. five out of 31 days in May 2022, and c. two out of 30 days in June 2022. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report, dated 11/28/22, documented 48 residents resided in the facility.
  5. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure: a. staff were face masks in the facility during a COVID-19 outbreak and the facilities community transmission rate high, and b. staff wore the appropriate PPE while providing care for one (#149) of one sampled resident reviewed for infection control. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report, dated 11/28/22, documented 48 residents resided in the facility. The DON identified one resident who was COVID-19 positive and they were in outbreak status.
  6. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure kitchen equipment was maintained clean for the deep fat fryer and the stove top. The DON identified 48 residents received services from the kitchen.
  7. D
    Ensure staff are vaccinated for COVID-19
    F888 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure staff who were not fully vaccinated, had been granted an exemption or temporary delay from the COVID-19 vaccine for one (#4) of 33 staff members reviewed for COVID-19 vaccination status. The COVID-19 Staff Vaccination Status report, undated, documented the facility had 33 staff members and one staff member was partially vaccinated.

Fire safety inspections

14 fire safety citations on file: 8 on April 4, 2025, 6 on November 30, 2022.

Every fire safety citation14 citations
  1. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · April 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · April 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · April 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Ensure that corridors are separated from use areas by walls constructed to limit the passage of smoke.
    K 362 · April 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · April 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · April 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · April 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Establish an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 1 · November 30, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · November 30, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · November 30, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · November 30, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · November 30, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · November 30, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
April 4, 2025Fine $46,898
April 4, 2025Payment Denial 36 days from May 8, 2025

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)2.963.793.86
Registered nurses0.360.340.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.743.443.42
Nurse aides2.02
Licensed practical nurses0.57
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported53.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.05 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.05 on weekdays and 2.74 on weekends, 10% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 14.7% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 2.97 in July to September 2025 to 2.96 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20262.960.363.052.74 14.7%0 of 9052
Jul to Sep 20252.970.233.042.78 16.0%2 of 9259
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Oklahoma, Jan to Mar 20263.790.323.943.422.2%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.213.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.41.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.22.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.24.73.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.01.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.413.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.24.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.317.515.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
18.527.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
32.616.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.82.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
7.53.01.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: BEDLAM PROPERTIES, LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Grant Rhodes Revocable Trust5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization50%01/01/2017
Jeffrey W Young Revocable Trust Dated July 27, 20175% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization50%01/01/2017
Rhodes, Jonathan5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual50%01/01/2017
Young, Jeffrey5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual50%01/01/2017
Snow, LarryCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2020
Bedlam Properties Ho LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization12/27/2024
Lietzke, MarkOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/27/2024
Snow, LarryOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/06/2025
Bedlam Properties Ho LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/06/2025
Black Diamond InvestmentsAdp of the SNFOrganization12/27/2024
Grant Rhodes Revocable TrustAdp of the SNFOrganization01/06/2025
Jeffrey W Young Revocable Trust Dated July 27, 2017Adp of the SNFOrganization01/06/2025
Matrix Provider Solutions LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/06/2025
Carson, JonathanAdp of the SNFIndividual12/27/2024
Lietzke, MarkAdp of the SNFIndividual01/06/2025
Rhodes, JonathanAdp of the SNFIndividual01/06/2025
Snow, LarryAdp of the SNFIndividual01/06/2025
Spillars, RodgerAdp of the SNFIndividual01/06/2025
Young, JeffreyAdp of the SNFIndividual01/06/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on May 19, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on April 4, 2025: "Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on April 4, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 4, 2025: "Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.74 hours per resident per day, below the Oklahoma average of 3.44.

Other nursing homes nearby

Oklahoma contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oklahoma. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Hillcrest Manor Nursing Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Hillcrest Manor Nursing Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Hillcrest Manor Nursing Center get at its last inspection?
10 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 4, 2025. The Oklahoma average is 6.4.
Has Hillcrest Manor Nursing Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $46,898 in the last three years.
Does Hillcrest Manor Nursing Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Hillcrest Manor Nursing Center?
CMS lists 19 owners and managers. Legal business name: BEDLAM PROPERTIES, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection