Find a nursing home

Home / Oklahoma / Ponca City

Bradbury Commons

1601 Academy Road, Ponca City, OK 74604 · Kay County · (580) 370-7132

68 certified beds, about 65 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2008

Last standard inspection more than 2 years ago Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: This facility did not submit staffing data.
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 375521 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 3, 2024, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Oklahoma average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 7 health citations since July 2019, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
3D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 3, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations
May 25, 2023Standard inspection · 0 citations
July 11, 2019Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. G
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 13, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interviews, it was determined the facility failed to provide necessary respiratory care to one (#56) of one sampled resident reviewed for respiratory services. From 06/19/19 through 07/09/19, it was documented resident #56 had complaints of shortness of breath, a productive cough and adventitious lungs sounds. There was no documentation to indicate the resident was administered respiratory treatments or seen by a physician. The resident required in-patient critical care treatment for pneumonia, severe sepsis, pleural effusion and acute respiratory distress. The facility identified 16 residents who received respiratory treatments.
  2. E
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 13, 2019
    Inspectors wrote2. The face sheet in the clinical record for resident #55 documented the resident was a do not resuscitate (DNR) status and was to receive no cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). A physician's order, dated [DATE], documented, No CPR/DNR . There was no DNR consent form found in the clinical record. On [DATE] at 5:10 p.m., licensed practical nurse (LPN) #3 was asked how staff determined a resident's code status. He stated it was posted on the face sheet of the clinical record. He also stated the color of the resident's name plate on the door indicated the resident's code status. The name plate would be white if the resident was a DNR and green if CPR was to be performed. The LPN was asked the code status for the resident. He stated DNR was documented on her face sheet and physician orders, however there was not a DNR consent form in the clinical record. [...]
  3. E
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 13, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure pain medication was available as ordered by the physician for one (#7) of five sampled residents who were reviewed for pharmacy services. This had the potential to affect all 54 residents who resided in the facility.
  4. E
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 13, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the physician's response was received in a timely manner for the gradual dose reduction recommendations for two (#27 and #55) of five sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medication . This had the potential to affect 32 residents identified as receiving psychoactive medications.
  5. D
    Not transfer or discharge a resident without an adequate reason; and must provide documentation and convey specific information when a resident is transferred or discharged.
    F622 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 13, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure a discharge summary was completed upon transfer to the hospital for one (#57) of three sampled residents who were reviewed for discharge. This had the potential to affect all 54 residents who resided in the facility.
  6. D
    Ensure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge.
    F661 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 13, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to complete a discharge summary for one (#58) of three sampled residents who were reviewed for discharge. This had the potential to affect all 54 residents who resided in the facility.
  7. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 13, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure contact isolation precautions were followed for one (#257) of two sampled residents on isolation precautions. This had the potential to affect all 54 residents who resided in the facility.

Fire safety inspections

11 fire safety citations on file: 3 on July 3, 2024, 5 on May 25, 2023, 3 on July 11, 2019.

Every fire safety citation11 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · July 3, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · July 3, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. C
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · July 3, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · May 25, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · May 25, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · May 25, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · May 25, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · May 25, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · July 11, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · July 11, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · July 11, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.793.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.340.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.443.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported53.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility did not submit staffing data.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In July to September 2025, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.72 on weekdays and 3.22 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 16% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 9.1% of nursing hours, against 5.5% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.66 in April to June 2025 to 3.58 in July to September 2025.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jul to Sep 20253.580.343.723.22 9.1%3 of 9262
Apr to Jun 20253.660.473.823.25 14.6%0 of 9162
United States, Jul to Sep 20253.770.623.953.335.5%0.6% of days
Oklahoma, Jul to Sep 20253.850.323.993.492.4%1.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.013.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.31.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.82.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.94.73.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.41.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.613.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.74.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.617.515.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
29.627.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
22.016.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.62.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.63.01.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SAGE BRADBURY COMMONS.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Green, KimDirect ownership interestIndividual10/01/2025
Yates, MichaelDirect ownership interestIndividual10/01/2025
Ph Healthcare Fund VIII LLC5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization10/01/2025
Green, KimCorporate officerIndividual10/01/2025
Yates, MichaelCorporate officerIndividual10/01/2025
Ph Healthcare Fund VIII LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/01/2025
Sage Bradbury CommonsOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/01/2025
Sage Integrated Health LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/01/2025
Stacked Stone Ponca LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/01/2025
Green, KimOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2025
Reynolds, RyanOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2025
Yates, MichaelOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2025
Young, AdamOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2025
Gt Ponca Holdco LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization10/01/2025
Ph Healthcare Fund VIII LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization10/01/2025
Sage Bradbury CommonsAdp of the SNFOrganization10/13/2025
Sage Integrated Health LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization10/13/2025
Stacked Stone Ponca LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization10/01/2025
Green, KimAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2025
Reynolds, RyanAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2025
Yates, MichaelAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2025
Young, AdamAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 11, 2019: "Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 11, 2019: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 11, 2019: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 11, 2019: "Ensure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge."

Other nursing homes nearby

Oklahoma contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oklahoma. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Bradbury Commons's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Bradbury Commons 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Bradbury Commons get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 3, 2024. The Oklahoma average is 6.4.
Has Bradbury Commons been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Bradbury Commons accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Bradbury Commons?
CMS lists 22 owners and managers. Legal business name: SAGE BRADBURY COMMONS.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection