Find a nursing home

Home / Oklahoma / Hobart

Hobart Nursing & Rehabilitation

709 North Lowe, Hobart, OK 73651 · Kiowa County · (580) 726-3381

58 certified beds, about 36 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1996

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 375279 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on August 14, 2025, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Oklahoma average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 11 health citations since February 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $13,070 in the last three years; the largest was $13,070, and the latest is dated June 2, 2026.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.11 hours per resident per day, against 3.79 across Oklahoma and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.39 of those hours.

71.4% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Oklahoma average 55.5%).

CMS links it to Southwest LTC, an affiliated group of 10 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
8D
2E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 2, 2026Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. J
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure:a. a resident with known exit seeking/wandering behaviors had adequate supervision to prevent elopement for 1 (#1) of 5 sampled residents reviewed for adequate supervision to prevent elopement; andb. adequate supervision to prevent access to the kitchen for 2 (#2 and #3) of 5 sampled residents reviewed for adequate supervision to prevent accidents and hazards. The DON identified five residents at risk for elopement and wandering. 1. On 04/24/26, an Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) situation was determined to have existed related to the facility's failure to prevent a resident with known exit seeking behaviors from eloping from the facility. The deficient practice resulted in Resident #1 eloping from the facility and being found by local law enforcement in a residential neighborhood three blocks from the facility. [...]
  2. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 30, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a comprehensive assessment accurately reflected wandering/exit seeking behavior for 1 (#1) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for comprehensive assessments. The DON identified 37 residents resided in the facility.
August 14, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
March 5, 2025Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    F558 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to have an adequate hot water supply to ensure showers were conducted as scheduled for 3 (#2, 6, and #7) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for showers. The DON reported 35 residents resided in the facility.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide adequate supervision and interventions to prevent elopement for 1 (#1) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for elopement. The DON reported 35 residents resided in the facility. The elopement book at the nurses station identified seven residents at risk for elopement.
March 27, 2024Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to maintain a home like environment by ensuring: a. the tile was in good repair around a toilet to prevent odors; b. the wall was in good repair; and c. the lighting was sufficient in one bathroom of 16 bathrooms observed for a homelike environment. The DON identified 38 residents resided in the facility.
  2. D
    Provide care by qualified persons according to each resident's written plan of care.
    F659 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure a qualified staff administered a resident's breathing treatment for one (#140) of one sampled resident observed for breathing treatments. The DON identified 38 residents resided in the facility. Three residents had orders for nebulizer breathing treatments in the facility.
  3. D
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to care plan and ensure a resident was assessed for the use of bed rails prior to installation for one (#29) of four sampled residents reviewed for physical restraints. The DON identified 38 residents resided in the facility and 19 residents used bed rails or assist bars.
  4. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure medications were locked when not attended for two (treatment carts) of four carts observed for medication storage. The DON identified two medication carts and two treatment carts.
February 9, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 17, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were informed, with a signed acknowledgment from the resident, of items and services for which the resident might be charged for skilled services, for three (#2, #19 and #37) of three residents sampled for beneficiary notification review. The Administrator reported 18 residents who had discharged from skilled services in the last six months.
  2. D
    Ensure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge.
    F661 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 17, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to complete a discharge summary for one (#42) of one resident reviewed for discharge. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents, documented a census of 38 residents.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 17, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to reduce a psychoactive medication, per physician orders, for one (#16) of five sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents form documented 38 residents resided in the facility.

Fire safety inspections

8 fire safety citations on file: 2 on August 14, 2025, 6 on February 9, 2023.

Every fire safety citation8 citations
  1. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 14, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · August 14, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · February 9, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · February 9, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · February 9, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · February 9, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · February 9, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. C
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · February 9, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
June 2, 2026Fine $13,070

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.113.793.86
Registered nurses0.390.340.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.743.443.42
Nurse aides2.02
Licensed practical nurses0.70
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)71.4%55.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported53.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 2.99 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.26 on weekdays and 2.74 on weekends, 16% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.60 in April to June 2025 to 3.11 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.110.393.262.74 0.0%0 of 9036
Oct to Dec 20253.370.563.572.87 5.6%0 of 9234
Jul to Sep 20253.630.453.783.24 5.9%0 of 9234
Apr to Jun 20253.600.473.793.12 5.8%0 of 9135
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Oklahoma, Jan to Mar 20263.790.323.943.422.2%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.513.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.81.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.82.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.84.73.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.71.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
28.413.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.24.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.717.515.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.82.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.13.01.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SOUTHWEST LTC - HOBART, LLC. CMS links this home to Southwest LTC, a group of 10 nursing homes averaging 2.4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Southwest LTC Oklahoma Holdings, LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization99%10/01/2022
Quality Care Givers Inc5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2022
Ronald R Payne PC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2022
Southwest LTC, Ltd5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2022
Baronet, Rod5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual10/01/2022
Brashier, Craig5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual10/01/2022
Payne, Ronald5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual10/01/2022
Payne, RonaldCorporate officerIndividual10/01/2022
Southwest LTC Management Services, LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/01/2022
Payne, RonaldOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2022

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on June 2, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on June 2, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 5, 2025: "Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 27, 2024: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.74 hours per resident per day, below the Oklahoma average of 3.44.

Other nursing homes nearby

Oklahoma contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oklahoma. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Hobart Nursing & Rehabilitation's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Hobart Nursing & Rehabilitation 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Hobart Nursing & Rehabilitation get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on August 14, 2025. The Oklahoma average is 6.4.
Has Hobart Nursing & Rehabilitation been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $13,070 in the last three years.
Does Hobart Nursing & Rehabilitation accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Hobart Nursing & Rehabilitation?
CMS lists 10 owners and managers, and links the home to Southwest LTC. Legal business name: SOUTHWEST LTC - HOBART, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection