Find a nursing home

Home / Indiana / Kendallville

Kendallville Manor

1802 E Dowling St., Kendallville, IN 46755 · Noble County · (260) 347-4374

60 certified beds, about 51 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1992

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 155482 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 30, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Indiana average is 7.2, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since February 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.31 hours per resident per day, against 3.69 across Indiana and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.43 of those hours.

CMS links it to Ide Management Group, an affiliated group of 10 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
2E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
January 30, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations
January 27, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    F921 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure a comfortable environment was maintained for residents in 4 of 7 resident rooms observed. During an observation on 01/21/25 at 10:04 AM, in room [ROOM NUMBER], the wall nearest the bed headboard had missing paint and exposed drywall in vertical marks too many to count approximately 3 feet from the floor, in 3 feet wide by 12 inches to less than 1 inch in length. The opposite wall had scrape marks 12 inches from the floor and approximately 5 feet wide. The exterior bathroom wall was missing 12 inches of cove base trim. The interior bathroom wall was missing 4 inches of cove base trim. During an observation on 1/21/25 at 10:29 AM, in the bathroom of room [ROOM NUMBER], the floor had black specks at the square tile seams and a heavier distribution in the corners of tiles. [...]
  2. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure oxygen orders were obtained and implemented for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident 47).
  3. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure pharmacy recommendations were followed for 1 of 5 residents reviewed (Resident 1).
August 27, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 9, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure residents were free from abuse for 2 of 6 residents reviewed (Resident A and Resident B).
February 7, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 21, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure dishwasher chemical checks were completed consistently. 47 of 50 residents residing in the facility were served food prepared in the kitchen.
  2. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 21, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure medications were secured for 1 of 4 residents reviewed (Resident 17).
  3. D
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    F921 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 21, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure the facility was maintained in a clean and sanitary manner for 2 of 24 residents reviewed (Resident 30 and Resident 31).

Fire safety inspections

12 fire safety citations on file: 5 on January 30, 2026, 3 on January 27, 2025, 4 on February 7, 2024.

Every fire safety citation12 citations
  1. F
    Provide primary/alternate means for communication.
    E 32 · January 30, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Implement emergency and standby power systems.
    E 41 · January 30, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · January 30, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · January 30, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. C
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · January 30, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · January 27, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · January 27, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. C
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · January 27, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · February 7, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · February 7, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Have proper fire barriers, ventilation and signs for the transfilling of oxygen.
    K 927 · February 7, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. C
    Install a fire alarm system that can be heard throughout the facility.
    K 341 · February 7, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIndianaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.313.693.86
Registered nurses0.430.670.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.053.253.42
Nurse aides2.31
Licensed practical nurses0.57
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported45.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported40.3%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 4.40 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.42 on weekdays and 3.05 on weekends, 11% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.40 in April to June 2025 to 3.31 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.310.433.423.05 0.0%0 of 9051
Jul to Sep 20253.390.443.493.12 0.0%0 of 9251
Apr to Jun 20253.400.523.543.05 0.0%0 of 9148
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Indiana, Jan to Mar 20263.630.623.803.193.4%0.4% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIndianaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
17.811.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.61.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.33.93.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.411.914.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.23.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.813.615.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.31.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.51.41.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ADAMS COUNTY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL. CMS links this home to Ide Management Group, a group of 10 nursing homes averaging 3.2 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Cibc Bank USA5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization11/01/2020
Borne-Bauman, CandiceManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2019
Flueckiger, RussellManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/01/2012
Lehman, ScottManaging control - governing bodyIndividual07/14/2020
Macklin, LarryManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/01/2012
McIntire, DavidManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2019
Adams County Memorial HospitalOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/01/2012
Kendallville Nursing and Rehab LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization11/01/2020
Borne-Bauman, CandiceOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2019
Flueckiger, RussellOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2012
Hill, AnthonyOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/14/2022
Lehman, ScottOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/14/2020
Macklin, LarryOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2012
McIntire, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2019
Offerle, AndrewOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/02/2021
Smith, ScottOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2020
Sprunger, KyleOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2018
Wheeler, DaneOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2012
Greatorex, TinaIndividual is an owner, partner or trustee of any ADP of the SNFIndividual02/24/2026
Schiowitz, MarcIndividual is an owner, partner or trustee of any ADP of the SNFIndividual02/24/2026
Sebbag, GabrielIndividual is an owner, partner or trustee of any ADP of the SNFIndividual02/24/2026
1802 Dowling Propco LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization11/01/2020
Advanced Care Consultants LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization09/01/2022
Blue Management Services LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2024
Clinical Consulting Services LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization11/01/2020
First Bank of BerneAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2020
Jsj Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization02/24/2026
Jsj Property LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization11/01/2020
Kendallville Nursing and Rehab LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization11/01/2020
Lme Family Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization11/01/2020
Midwest in Opco LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization02/24/2026
Samara Family Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization11/01/2020
Summation Financial Services LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization11/01/2020
Hill, AnthonyAdp of the SNFIndividual03/14/2022
Offerle, AndrewAdp of the SNFIndividual01/02/2021

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a resident room, a shower room and the dining room on this visit?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 27, 2025: "Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 27, 2025: "Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 27, 2025: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  4. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 27, 2024: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.05 hours per resident per day, below the Indiana average of 3.25.

Other nursing homes nearby

Indiana contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Indiana. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Kendallville Manor's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Kendallville Manor 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Kendallville Manor get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 30, 2026. The Indiana average is 7.2.
Has Kendallville Manor been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Kendallville Manor accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Kendallville Manor?
CMS lists 35 owners and managers, and links the home to Ide Management Group. Legal business name: ADAMS COUNTY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection