Find a nursing home

Home / Pennsylvania / Lehighton

Mahoning Operating LLC

397 Hemlock Drive, Lehighton, PA 18235 · Carbon County · (570) 386-5522

142 certified beds, about 114 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1981

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 395480 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on December 12, 2025, inspectors cited 9 health deficiencies (the Pennsylvania average is 10, the national average 9.2).

None of its 21 health citations since March 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.59 hours per resident per day, against 3.89 across Pennsylvania and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.51 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 21 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
13D
5E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
2B
0C
July 21, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of the facility's infection prevention and control policies, infection surveillance documentation, clinical records, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to establish, maintain, and implement an effective infection prevention and control program designed to identify, monitor, investigate, and prevent the transmission of communicable disease. The facility failed to implement an effective infection surveillance system and infection control practices after multiple residents developed signs and symptoms consistent with scabies, resulting in delayed recognition, investigation, and implementation of measures to prevent potential transmission for 5 of 5 residents reviewed. (Residents 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5).
April 7, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 22, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of select facility policy, clinical records, medication administration audit reports, and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to provide nursing services consistent with professional standards of practice by failing to ensure licensed nurses administered medications within required timeframes for 1 of 11 residents reviewed (Resident CR1).
December 12, 2025Standard inspection · 9 citations
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records and select facility policy and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure residents are informed and provided written information regarding the right to formulate advance directives and failed to determine whether residents had advance directives upon admission for four out of 27 residents sampled (Residents 15, 26, 54, and 111).
  2. E
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, select facility policy, and resident and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to consistently provide restorative nursing services as planned to maintain mobility to the extent possible for one resident out of 27 residents sampled (Resident 57).
  3. E
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records, select facility policy, observation, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to ensure oxygen therapy was administered per physician's orders for three residents out of 27 sampled (Residents 1, 26, and 38).
  4. D
    Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
    F638 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical records, the Resident Assessment Instrument Manual, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that quarterly Minimum Data Set assessments (MDS, a federally mandated standardized assessment process completed periodically to plan resident care) were completed within the required time frame for two of 27 residents reviewed (Residents 48 and 105).
  5. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, select facility policy, and resident representative and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to ensure a comprehensive care plan was developed and revised with the participation of the resident and the resident's representative for one resident out of 27 residents sampled (Resident 89).
  6. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records, select facility policy, and staff and resident interviews, it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plan, and the residents' choices to maintain skin integrity for one resident out of 27 sampled (Resident 54).
  7. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records, select facility policy, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that one of 27 residents sampled (Resident 2) received a psychotropic medication only when medically necessary and supported by adequate clinical justification, documentation of behavioral symptoms and attempts of nonpharmacological interventions were prior to administration.
  8. D
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records, select facility policy, and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure medications were properly stored and administered in accordance with physician orders and accepted standards of nursing practice, resulting in a medication error that caused pain and discomfort for one of one resident out of 27 residents sampled (Resident 82).
  9. D
    Provide or obtain laboratory tests/services when ordered and promptly tell the ordering practitioner of the results.
    F773 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of select facility policy, clinical records, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to timely notify the physician of abnormal lab results for one resident out of 27 sampled (Resident 119).
April 10, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 7, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, a review of clinical records and facility investigative reports, resident and staff interview it was determined the facility failed to consistently provide care and services consistent with professional standards of practice, to prevent the development of pressure ulcers for one resident out of 10 sampled residents. (Resident 1)
February 21, 2025Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of select facility policies and procedures and clinical records, observations, and staff interviews, it was determined the facility failed to provide supplemental oxygen administration care consistent with professional standards of practice for three out of 19 residents sampled (Resident 2, 16, and 82).
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical records, select facility policy, and staff interview it was determined the facility failed to provide nursing services consistent with professional standards of quality by failing to ensure that licensed nurses accurately administered prescribed medication according to the physician's parameters for two out of 19 sampled residents. (Resident 75 and 11).
  3. D
    Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
    F868 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility documents and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the Medical Director or designee attended quarterly Quality Assurance Process Improvement (QAPI) Committee meetings for two of four quarters (April 2024 and January 2025).
  4. B
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical records, facility-initiated transfer notices, and staff interview, it was determined the facility failed to provide copies of written notice of facility-initiated hospital transfers of residents to a representative of the Office of the State Ombudsman for one out of five residents reviewed (Resident 56).
March 22, 2024Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    F697 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records and select facility policy and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to provide person-centered pain management consistent with professional standards of practice for two out of the 20 residents sampled (Residents 8 and 43).
  2. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on the review of the facility's abuse prohibition policy, clinical records, select facility investigations, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to timely report resident physical abuse to the State Survey Agency for one of the 20 residents reviewed (Resident 5).
  3. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review and staff interview it was determined that the facility failed to develop a comprehensive person-centered plan of care to meet the individualized needs of one resident out 20 sampled (Resident 19).
  4. D
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.
    F744 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on a review of clinical records and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to develop and implement individualized plans to manage residents' dementia related behavioral symptoms to promote resident safety and the residents' highest practicable physical and mental well-being for one resident out of 20 sampled (Resident 4).
  5. B
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record reviews and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that a written notice of facility-initiated transfer to the hospital was provided to the resident and resident's representative for four residents out of 20 residents sampled (Residents 47, 8, 18 and 39).

Fire safety inspections

8 fire safety citations on file: 2 on December 12, 2025, 3 on February 21, 2025, 3 on March 22, 2024.

Every fire safety citation8 citations
  1. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · December 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · December 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · February 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · February 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · February 21, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · March 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · March 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.593.893.86
Registered nurses0.510.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.333.533.42
Nurse aides2.19
Licensed practical nurses0.88
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.9%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.62 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.69 on weekdays and 3.33 on weekends, 10% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 13.5% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.53 in April to June 2025 to 3.59 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.590.513.693.33 13.5%0 of 90114
Oct to Dec 20253.340.433.393.21 19.5%0 of 92106
Jul to Sep 20250.960.201.040.75 9.2%62 of 9290
Apr to Jun 20253.530.693.683.15 22.1%0 of 9182
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Pennsylvania, Jan to Mar 20263.690.653.823.3411.3%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
25.116.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.90.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.61.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.93.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.51.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.617.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.94.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.317.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
25.622.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
10.89.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.71.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.11.21.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: MAHONING VALLEY CONVALESCENT HOME, INC..

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Sapphire Unlimited Holdings Inc.5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%01/01/2009
Mickey, Devon5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual90%11/01/2013
Mickey, Michael5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual10%11/01/2013
Sapphire Unlimited Holdings Inc.5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization02/01/1999
Sapphire Unlimited Holdings Inc.5% or greater security interestOrganization02/01/1999
Mickey, DevonCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2013
Mickey, MichaelCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2013
Stoffa, TeresaOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/06/1984

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 9 problems in this area, most recently on April 7, 2026: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on December 12, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on December 12, 2025: "Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on December 12, 2025: "Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.33 hours per resident per day, below the Pennsylvania average of 3.53.

Other nursing homes nearby

Pennsylvania contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Pennsylvania. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Mahoning Operating LLC's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Mahoning Operating LLC 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Mahoning Operating LLC get at its last inspection?
9 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on December 12, 2025. The Pennsylvania average is 10.
Has Mahoning Operating LLC been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Mahoning Operating LLC accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Mahoning Operating LLC?
CMS lists 8 owners and managers. Legal business name: MAHONING VALLEY CONVALESCENT HOME, INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection