Find a nursing home

Home / Texas / Dumas

Memorial Nursing and Rehabilitation Center

302 E 2nd St., Dumas, TX 79029 · Moore County · (806) 935-6500

46 certified beds, about 33 residents a day · Government - Hospital district · Medicaid since 1988

CMS high performing icon Certified for Medicaid
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 45F199 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 26, 2025, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Texas average is 9.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 5 health citations since April 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.59 hours per resident per day, against 3.39 across Texas and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.42 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 5 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 26, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure all residents had the right to formulate an advanced directive for 2 (Resident #1 and #14) of 17 residents reviewed for advanced directives. Resident #1 had a DNR dated [DATE] (signed by the physician) in her record that was missing information in the Two Witness section. Resident #14 had a DNR dated [DATE] (signed by the physician) in her record that was missing information in the Two Witness section. The facility's failure could place residents a risk for not receiving healthcare as per their own or their legal representatives wishes.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident, consistent with resident rights and that includes measurable objectives and timeframes to meet a resident's medical, nursing, and mental and psychosocial needs that are identified in the comprehensive assessment for 1 (Resident #25) of 13 residents reviewed for comprehensive care plans. The facility failed to include Resident #25's antidepressant medication in her care plan dated 05/19/25. This failure could lead to residents not receiving needed care and/or receiving improper care/treatment. Findings Included: [...]
May 15, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure drugs and biologicals were stored in locked compartments and labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles and include the appropriate accessory and cautionary instructions, and the expiration date when applicable for 2 of 2 medication carts (Medication Cart-Hall200/300 and Medication cart 400/500) reviewed for medication storage. The facility failed to ensure that there no lose pills, expired medications, and labels were legible. -2.5 pills found in medication cart for Hall 200/300 -2 bottles of expired medications found in medication cart for Hall 400/500.
April 5, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure all residents had the right to formulate an advanced directive for 3 (Resident #13, #22, and #23) of 16 residents reviewed for advanced directives. Resident #13 had a DNR in her record that was missing the date, printed signature, and license number for the physician who signed the form. Resident #22 had a DNR is her record that was missing the date for when the physician's signed the form and had no signature in the Two Witness section. Resident #23 had a DNR in her record that was missing the date for when the qualified relative signed the form. [...]
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 18, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for 1 (the ICP) of 5 staff observed for resident care. -The ICP (Infection Control Preventionist) failed to clean the glucometer machine (an instrument for measuring the concentration of glucose in the blood) between resident use. This deficient practice has the potential to affect residents in the facility receiving diabetic care by exposing them to care that could lead to the spread of viral infections, secondary infections, tissue breakdown, communicable diseases, and feelings of isolation related to poor hygiene.

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTexasUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.593.393.86
Registered nurses1.420.430.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.662.983.42
Nurse aides2.87
Licensed practical nurses0.30
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.3%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported54.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 2.78 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.97 on weekdays and 3.66 on weekends, 26% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.64 in July to September 2025 to 4.59 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.591.424.973.66 0.0%0 of 9033
Oct to Dec 20254.501.374.833.67 0.0%0 of 9234
Jul to Sep 20254.641.105.003.74 0.0%0 of 9233
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Texas, Jan to Mar 20263.330.403.502.932.2%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTexasUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.615.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.60.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.93.33.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.314.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.93.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.99.615.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.72.21.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.22.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 26, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 26, 2025: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 15, 2024: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 5, 2023: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

Texas contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Texas. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Memorial Nursing and Rehabilitation Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Memorial Nursing and Rehabilitation Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Memorial Nursing and Rehabilitation Center get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 26, 2025. The Texas average is 9.4.
Has Memorial Nursing and Rehabilitation Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Memorial Nursing and Rehabilitation Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Memorial Nursing and Rehabilitation Center?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection