Find a nursing home

Home / South Carolina / Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach Manor

9547 Highway 17, North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 · Horry County · (843) 449-5283

60 certified beds, about 35 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare since 1970

Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 425070 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on November 20, 2025, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the South Carolina average is 3.7, the national average 9.2).

Of 11 health citations since September 2022, 3 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 3 fines totaling $27,834 in the last three years; the largest was $14,901, and the latest is dated July 30, 2025.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.90 hours per resident per day, against 3.84 across South Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.07 of those hours.

CMS links it to Phoenix Senior Living, an affiliated group of 2 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
2G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
1E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
November 20, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure oxygen was administered at the ordered flow rate for 1 (Resident (R)61) of 2 residents reviewed for respiratory care.
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) November 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy and procedure review, a review of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Enhanced Barrier Precaution (EBP) signage, record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to provide care in accordance with infection control standards for 1 (Resident (R)5) of 2 residents reviewed for EBP. Specifically, the staff failed to wear the required personal protective equipment (PPE) when providing care to R5. The facility also failed to properly store oxygen tubing and replace it when it was contaminated, which affected 1 (Resident (R)61) of 2 residents reviewed for respiratory care.
July 30, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. J
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, record review, and interview, the facility failed to accurately transcribe orders for Resident (R)1 upon admission, resulting in R1 receiving a discontinued medication and being sent to the hospital due to potential hypoglycemia, for 1 of 3 residents reviewed. On [DATE] at 4:35 PM, the survey team provided the Administrator with a copy of the CMS Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) Template and informed the facility IJ existed as of [DATE]. The IJ was related to 42 CFR 483.45 - Pharmacy Services. On [DATE], the facility provided an acceptable IJ Removal Plan. The survey team validated the facility's corrective actions and determined that the facility put forth due diligence in addressing the non-compliance, resulting in this IJ at Past Non-compliance as of [DATE]. [...]
August 29, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure food was properly labeled and sealed to prevent contamination and the potential for development of foodborne illness. The facility further failed to ensure the kitchen was clean and free of debris. This deficient practice had the potential to affect 27 out of 27 residents who receive meals prepared in and served from the facility's kitchen.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to ensure one (Resident (R)15) of 17 sampled residents was provided privacy when staff was administering medications, exposing the resident. This failure put R15 at risk for embarrassment.
  3. D
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, interview, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to provide written notification to the resident, resident representative, and the Ombudsman, when the facility initiated a transfer/discharge for one (Resident (R) 27) of one resident reviewed for hospitalization out of a total sample of 17 residents. This failure had the potential to affect the resident and their Resident Representative (RR) by not having the knowledge of where and why a resident was transferred, and/or how to appeal the transfer, if desired as well as the Ombudsman being able to be an advocate for the resident.
May 29, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, record review, observation and interviews, the facility failed to ensure Resident (R)1's oxygen was turned on and flowing for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for quality of care.
April 9, 2024Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. G
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    F580 · Resident Rights · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, record review, and interview, the facility failed to notify Resident (R)1's attending physician of elevated lab values resulting in a hospital stay for 1 of 1 residents reviewed for quality of care.
  2. G
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, record review, and interview, the facility failed to follow best practice, guidelines and procedures to ensure Resident (R)1's attending physician was made aware of elevated lab values that are indicative of and likely to cause bleeding. Furthermore, the facility failed to clarify orders for the use of an anticoagulant after R1's lab values were out of range. The failure resulted in a hospital stay for R1, for 1 of 1 residents reviewed for quality of care.
September 7, 2022Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 7, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy and manufacturer's recommendations, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure the proper storage and labeling of blood glucometer calibration solutions on 3 out of 3 medication carts in the facility, which had the potential to affect 4 residents at the facility, who had physician's orders for routine blood glucometer blood sugar tests out of 21 current residents. Improper storage and labeling increases the risk of utilizing expired and ineffective calibration solutions.
  2. D
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 7, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to timely transmit the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident (R) 1) and 2 supplemental residents (R124 and R125) reviewed for missing MDS assessments. This deficient practice increased the potential for missed opportunities of care or services.

Fire safety inspections

6 fire safety citations on file: 2 on August 29, 2024, 2 on September 7, 2022, 2 on July 14, 2021.

Every fire safety citation6 citations
  1. D
    Address subsistence needs for staff and patients.
    E 15 · August 29, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Have horizontal exits used in accordance with safety requirements.
    K 226 · August 29, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · September 7, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · September 7, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · July 14, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · July 14, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
July 30, 2025Fine $14,901
April 9, 2024Fine $4,147
April 9, 2024Fine $8,786
April 9, 2024Payment Denial 27 days from May 7, 2024

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.903.843.86
Registered nurses1.070.630.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.493.333.42
Nurse aides2.76
Licensed practical nurses1.07
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported45.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.74 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.06 on weekdays and 4.49 on weekends, 11% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.16 in April to June 2025 to 4.90 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.901.075.064.49 0.1%0 of 9035
Oct to Dec 20254.930.855.074.57 0.6%0 of 9234
Jul to Sep 20254.601.114.784.14 1.5%0 of 9238
Apr to Jun 20254.160.984.343.70 3.0%0 of 9137
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
South Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.620.533.813.137.2%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.811.913.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.20.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.51.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.93.23.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.61.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.85.14.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
35.524.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
11.213.912.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SNH SC TENANT LLC. CMS links this home to Phoenix Senior Living, a group of 2 nursing homes averaging 2 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Snh Proj Lincoln Trs LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%01/01/2020
Diversified Healthcare Trust5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2020
Silver Point Capital Offshore Fund5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization06/30/2023
Snh Trs Licensee Holdco LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2020
Snh Trs, Inc.5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2020
Abp TrustIndirect ownership interestOrganization12/01/2020
Flat Footed LLCIndirect ownership interestOrganization12/31/2021
H/2 Special Opportunities IV L.P.Indirect ownership interestOrganization12/31/2020
Bilotto, ChristopherManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2024
Brown, MatthewManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/01/2023
Clark, JenniferManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2020
Paula, AnthonyManaging control - governing bodyIndividual12/18/2024
Phoenix Senior Living LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization08/17/2021
Cheek, AllisonOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/01/2021
Marinko, JesseOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/17/2021
Neuman, JenniferOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/28/2023
Schmeizl, ElizabethOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/26/2024
Watson, KarenOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/18/2025
Zakhary, ChristopherOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2021
Diversified Healthcare TrustAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2020
Cheek, AllisonAdp of the SNFIndividual09/01/2021
Neuman, JenniferAdp of the SNFIndividual08/28/2023
Schmeizl, ElizabethAdp of the SNFIndividual08/26/2024
Watson, KarenAdp of the SNFIndividual07/18/2025
Zakhary, ChristopherAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2021

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on November 20, 2025: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on August 29, 2024: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 30, 2025: "Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on November 20, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

South Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in South Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Myrtle Beach Manor's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Myrtle Beach Manor 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Myrtle Beach Manor get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on November 20, 2025. The South Carolina average is 3.7.
Has Myrtle Beach Manor been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 3 fines totaling $27,834 in the last three years.
Does Myrtle Beach Manor accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Myrtle Beach Manor?
CMS lists 25 owners and managers, and links the home to Phoenix Senior Living. Legal business name: SNH SC TENANT LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection